We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (473)
Filter reviews
473 results
Traveller rating
162
228
64
14
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
162
228
64
14
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews edwardian house te papa great location mount victoria courtenay place courtney place city centre within walking distance new world supermarket well equipped kitchen large supermarket beds were very comfortable south island restaurants and bars minute walk stayed for nights quiet location
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 473 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2018

We stayed at the Apollo Lodge for 2 nights and it was the perfect location for our visit to Wellington. The room was a good size and had a kitchenette and seating area so perfect if you wanted to prepare meals and dine in the room. The room was very clean and comfortable. We didn't use our car whilst staying here as everything was within walking distance. I would highly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LadyWillow2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApolloManager, Manager at Apollo Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2018

Thank you for your feed back. It is reassuring to know that all the hard work we do is appreciated.
We do our best to make sure that every guest has a great experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2018

My family and I stayed at this really good hotel for a couple of days. We had no trouble finding it. It was well located in Wellington and we could walk downtown, to the harbor and the Te Papa Museum. The rooms we stayed in were of a good size. The room included a table, a stove and plates and silverware and a coffeemaker. The motel gave us milk to have with our coffee. One of the main reasons we stayed there was they had parking. We had found out, before travelling to Wellington, that parking on the streets of Wellington was tough and expensive--so we were happy to leave our car in the parking lot as we went sightseeing on foot.. We enjoyed our stay at the Apollo Lodge.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the road.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Trip-Review01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApolloManager, Manager at Apollo Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Thanks for the review and mention of parking. Pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2018 via mobile

This hotel was not a good place to stay. To start, parking was terrible, we couldn't even unload our luggage close to the room. We needed to unload in a rush in the middle of the road and had to park the car 2 blocks away on the street. The mattresses on the beds were one of the worse I have slept on, you could feel all the springs on your back. The pillows were equally as bad. There was no toiletries and no hair dryer.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Marlin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApolloManager, General Manager at Apollo Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2018

A little confused here as we cannot understand the reason you could not unload your car. We have additional parking in our other carpark. There is soap, Shampoo/conditioner and hairdryers in all rooms. Cannot comment on the bed as we maintain them very well and replace when needed. Pillows are subjective of course. So sorry this chain of events happened and question weather the guest approached the office with regards to any of these issues as they could have been fixed there and then rather than the guest having a bad experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2018 via mobile

Apollo Lodge enjoys the unique situation of providing motel accommodation in walking distance from Courtney Place. This makes it an ideal venue for family stays in Wellington. Your car is safely parked off the road and there is no need to use it for any activities in the city, all accessible by either walking or the wonderfully frequent and efficient bus service. Our unit was newly refurbished, very clean, large and warm. The beds were very comfortable. We appreciated being able to checkin early as we were attending a matinee performance that afternoon. Once the car was safely housed we enjoyed a great lunch at a cafe no more than 50metres down the road. Tomboy is recommended.
If you want to cook in the unit, check you have all the utensils you need before starting.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank Marnie-kiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApolloManager, Manager at Apollo Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

Thank you for your review. Our central location is appreciated by many of our guests and we are continually working to maintain the quality of our rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018 via mobile

Stayed there on the weekend for a family occasion. We were in the back units. Very quiet and spotlessly clean. Has everything you need if you wanted to cook your own meals but there are so many wonderful eating establishments close by you may not want to. Hairdryer supplied in units (which is something I always ask, so have written here). Owners very nice.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank Flutty63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews