We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location ”
Review of West Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
West Plaza Hotel
Ranked #22 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

Very central to many great Wellington attractions. Walking distance to Te Papa, Dominion Museum, Michael Fowler Centre and the shopping precinct. Comfortable room with nice furnishings. Some of the paintwork was a bit tired but overall felt it was goid value. The staff were very good. Room service food was good quality and quick. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank 757carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2016

Thanks so much for the feedback, it’s good to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Your positive comments about the hotel, the staff and the location are much appreciated. We are a mid-range value for money hotel in the central city and your review will help others to choose West Plaza Hotel when next in Wellington. Thanks again.

Regards,

Julie Wilcock - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (467)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 101 of 467 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

What bugged me most about this hotel is that the photos of the lobby and restaurant are misleading. The walk up to the rooms is like entering a creepy old hospital. The room I had was small, with low worn and damaged ceilings and worn and chipped, uneven tiles in the bathroom and just a curtain in the small shower, so flooded bathroom. It also looked like it needed a good scrub too. I stayed several nights and returned to a room each day that smelled like bug spray had been used and then the room locked up. Not nice to walk into at the end of the day. Food was of reasonable quality. Good location, but definitely not what I expected from the photos and four star rating. If you stay here - do it for the location and keep your expectations low, despite the professionally photographed and recently upgraded lobby!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
Thank Emilie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2016

I was disappointed to read your negative review of the hotel. I am sorry we were not the style of hotel you were looking for. We have a full selection of photographs available on our website and TripAdvisor that show all areas of the hotel, not just the lobby/restaurant areas. It is a shame that during your time at the hotel you did not speak to one of the staff, who would have looked at your concerns and made changes if necessary. If you would like to contact the hotel and give us more information on your room, please do so. We are a mid-range value for money accommodation option situated in the heart of Wellington. Your comments can help us to make improvements.

Regards,

Julie Wilcock - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2016

Food looked nice.. varieties for everyone with beverages to suit. Place was spacious and clean.
Staff were prompt and nice. Some food a little high price for quality(chicken curry). But other food looked amazing (steak, chicken etc)
Central wellington so close to public transport and water front.
Did not stay in the hotel but did see some of the rooms which looked in need of a spruce up.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sierra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2016

Thanks for your comments about City Dining and Bar. It’s always nice to hear when guests enjoy dining with us. I will pass your comments about the meals onto the Kitchen team.

Regards,

Julie Wilcock - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Being on Wakefield and close to Cuba Street makes for a very convenient inner city location. It is also close to the bus route to and from the airport. The hotel is clean and tidy and offers the normal in room facilities expected of a hotel in this category. The staff are always friendly and accommodating. We requested a different type of room to the one we booked and, even though the price would normally be higher, we were accommodated without fuss or extra charge. Buffet breakfast is not wide ranging but what is provided is more than adequate and of a good quality. Restaurant staff were attentive. Reasonably priced and so it is a good mainstay for the occasional short term visit to Wellington.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NZWillco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2016

Thanks so much for your positive comments about the hotel, the location and the staff. It was also nice to hear that your enjoyed the Breakfast Buffet. We are a mid-range value for money accommodation option situated in the heart of Wellington and your feedback is appreciated. We hope to see you again.

Regards,

Julie Wilcock - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016

My work booked rooms for both my colleague and me in one booking but he got upgraded to a suite for free (which looked great) while I was stuck with a dark, little room with a shower that I couldn't fit under without bending my knees (I'm only 5'5"). Bathroom looked a bit unclean and there was no hair conditioner. I asked to be moved but staff stuffed me around so much that I ended up just checking out early. Some staff were great but some were rude and unhelpful. Definitely will not be going near the place again.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ritchyroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2016

Thanks for leaving your comments, I am sorry that you were unhappy with the style of room you received. I was also disappointed to hear about the bathroom as this is certainly not our usual standard. As you can see from the many positive reviews we have received, we are very proud of the standard of cleanliness at the hotel. I do apologise that your experience was not as it should have been. We are a mid-range value for money accommodation option situated in the heart of Wellington city and your comments do help us improve.

Regards,

Julie Wilcock - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.2 km away
Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments
0.4 km away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
775 reviews
0.3 km away
Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#14 of 46 in Wellington
2,757 reviews
0.6 km away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,201 reviews
0.8 km away
Bay Plaza Hotel
Bay Plaza Hotel
#39 of 46 in Wellington
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Plaza Hotel

Address: 110 Wakefield Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: $118 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — West Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Wellington city opposite the Town Hall and Convention Centre; West Plaza Hotel offers a welcoming friendly atmosphere with 102 spacious and comfortable rooms. A short drive from the airport and ferry terminals and just a short walk to the national Museum Te Papa, the waterfront and the best shops, restaurants and entertainment the capital has to offer. Providing everything required to make your stay a comfortable and relaxed experience. Facilities include on-site car parking, 24 hour room service, flat rate wireless broadband access, tea/coffee making facilities, Sky TV and much more. Choose from 102 rooms - a combination of twins and doubles, including 6 suites.With large windows looking out to the hustle and bustle of the city. City Dining & Bar offers fresh New Zealand cuisine and a selection of boutique New Zealand wines.Choose from four versatile conference rooms; full catering, audio- visual equipment and presentation facilities are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your West Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Plaza Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing