We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (332)
Filter reviews
332 results
Traveller rating
141
114
47
21
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
141
114
47
21
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gentleman's club claw foot bath old fashioned charm masonic lodge heritage building chain hotels northern explorer quiet street deluxe room separate shower railway station after hours plunger coffee bed was very comfortable cable car the heart of the city free wifi
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 332 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2018

We have stayed previously, and again very happy. Nice to be in a small well run independent hotel. The bedrooms are huge, large bathrooms. Very comfortable beds, and lovely furnishings. Some of the curtains are a bit tatty but that adds to the old fashioned charm. Breakfast in 1815 good; can recommend the porridge; good coffee.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FertyLiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen E, General Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, it was lovely to have you back with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018

My room was large and I loved the large bathroom. Also appreciated the coffee-making facilities. The lack of a window to the outside world was disappointing as the weather was bad, heavy rain and there was no way of knowing what it was like outside, whether to take an umbrella etc until down on the street level. However, while the room was lovely, my stay was thoroughly spoiled by an overpowering room perfume diffuser with about 6 sticks in it. I have lung issues and even though I put it outside my room immediately I could not get rid of the smell which was through everything, including the bathroom, and through the bedding and pillows. Hence I did not sleep at all well. Have no idea why they would put things like that in a room. I asked for no-smoking but this was just as bad as a smoking room. Such a shame because the hotel and especially the location were great

Date of stay: May 2018
Thank pohutukawa99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen E, General Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review.

I am so sorry you found the perfume diffuser overpowering. I am assuming you were in room 406 as this is the only large room that looks into the light well. The reason that we use the diffuser is that the window does not open in that room so we cannot air the room out.

I feel terrible that it ruined your stay with us, please if you are ever in need of accommodation in Wellington contact me directly and I will get you a great rate and a room with window that opens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2018

amazing room love the crown moulding and the period details the location was amazing right near to the waterfront and right near the train station i would park down the road because there is no parking available

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 71briar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen E, General Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad you appreciated the decor, it is certainly unique.

We look forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018 via mobile

Stayed in the ‘Budd’. I missed a window and light. Heavy curtains shutting out a concrete wall and piping. It was stuffy and dark. Hotel old and an arrange of unused furniture just outside lift. No breakfast included for $186 pn.
Good location to Wellington central and waterfront. Will stay in somewhere with a bit of a daylight view next time.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Tilly704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen E, General Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We are sorry you did not like the single room 'Budd' people generally enjoy the room as it is quieter than the others. Both our single rooms face the back of the building which is why they are cheaper than the others

The building is very old which is something we are proud of

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2018

Nice large room with a comfortable bed. Large bathroom with all amenities. Location 5 minutes walk from the waterfront with a number of dining options. Note: Breakfast is not available on a Saturday, but there is a popular outside option nearby.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lucretius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen E, General Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and if you are ever in Wellington again please contact us directly for a better rate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews