We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large party without a hitch”
Review of The Green Man Pub

The Green Man Pub
Ranked #66 of 1,021 Restaurants in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$24
Cuisines: New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Restaurant, functions and bar right in the heart of Wellington!. Voted Wellington's 'Best Bistro in the Entertainment Book Gold Awards 2012/2013 and 2016/2017', the Green Man Pub is Wellington's busiest CBD restaurant and bar. Where a bit of Irish meets a bit of Kiwi The Green Man Pub is ideal for meeting friends, after work drinks or celebrating the end of the week. Having a dedicated functions & events team, an award winning bistro menu and private spaces The Green Man Pub is the perfect venue for your next corporate meeting or social gathering. With events happening every night and live music on Fridays, there's always something going on. The official restaurant and bar for the Wellington Lions and Hurricanes you'll be mingling with Wellingtons best!
Reviewed 3 March 2018

My work team held our xmas party at the Green Man, around 30 people, and it went off without a hitch. The staff were very amicable and professional in catering for such a large group. The bar’s ambience was a great fit for a large (rather loud) party, and the space was ample; you felt you could have your own space but could also connect easily with the larger pub scene - The floor to ceiling curtains worked well to this effect (and for wrapping people up in!). Thanks Green Man!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KiwiPirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeithyHenny, General Manager at The Green Man Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Hello there!

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review.

I am happy to hear you have had such a great Xmas Party at The Green Man Pub! I'm so glad you had an awesome time and took full advantage of the curtains!

Reviews and feedback are especially great to receive when it is as nice as yours, but they also help us to constantly improve and provide the best food and service we possibly can.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind regards,

Keith
General Manager
The Green Man Pub
Wellington

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 348 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile

Very comfortable atmosphere, relaxing and airy. Friendly staff, and decent food. Not gourmet, but good hearty fare, enjoyable and satisfying.

Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeithyHenny, General Manager at The Green Man Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Hello there,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review.

I am happy to hear you have had such a great experience at The Green Man Pub!

Reviews and feedback are especially great to receive when it is as nice as yours, but they also help us to constantly improve and provide the best food and service we possibly can.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind regards,

Keith
General Manager
The Green Man Pub
Wellington

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2018

The food is always good but I have to single out Michelle (hope I spelt that correctly) for her dedication to service. Always there with a smile and keeps us well looked after, cheers.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gdh23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeithyHenny, General Manager at The Green Man Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Hi there,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review.

I am happy to hear you have had such great experiences at The Green Man Pub! Michelle is one of our best so I'm glad to hear she's been living up to her expectations and providing that solid service she's so good at! Reviews and feedback are especially great to receive when it is as nice as yours, but they also help us to constantly improve and provide the best food and service we possibly can.

We look forward to seeing you again soon! :)

Kind regards,

Keith
General Manager
The Green Man Pub
Wellington

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2018 via mobile

We had lunch there. I cannot say it was not good but there was better choices in the area.
Its probably a perfect place to have afterwork drinks and finger food.

Thank Jeremy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeithyHenny, General Manager at The Green Man Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Hi there,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide this, review. Reviews and feedback are great to receive as they help us to constantly improve and provide the best food and service we possibly can.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,

Keith
General Manager
The Green Man Pub
Wellington

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018

I booked a table online and noted down that we were a big family with lots of kids. When we arrived the staff were absolutely amazing. Knew who we were right away (2 adults with 6 kids under 11), took us through to our table and offered high chairs for the littlies. Our waitress was very friendly and helpful, brought us extra sideplates for the little ones who were sharing a meal. The kids got papers/menus to colour in while we waited for our order. The food was yum, the kids tucked right in. We were in there for less than an hour, finished our meals (and pudding for the kids!) in that time. Staff were very friendly and accommdating, food was good, music was GREAT they played all the good stuff, service was top notch. Would have let the kids have a go at the pool table if it weren't past their bedtime.
Will recommend the Green Man Pub to anyone looking for a good spot with good food. We will definitely be coming back again (hopefully with a few less kids next time!)

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Master C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeithyHenny, General Manager at The Green Man Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Hello there,!

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review.

I am happy to hear you have had such a great experience at The Green Man Pub! I'm so glad you enjoyed Kelly's service!

Reviews and feedback are especially great to receive when it is as nice as yours, but they also help us to constantly improve and provide the best food and service we possibly can.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind regards,

Keith
General Manager
The Green Man Pub
Wellington

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Green Man Pub also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to The Green Man Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing