We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting”

Wairau River Wines Restaurant
Reserve a table
2
Mon, 08/03
20:00
Ranked #5 of 107 Restaurants in Blenheim
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$25
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The menu at Wairau River Wines is built around the fresh produce that is readily available in the Marlborough district.Enjoy matching our superb wines at cellar door prices with lunch in a relaxed informal environment either outside on the sun drenched lawns and verandahs or inside beside the large open fire in winter.The Rose family are pioneer grape growers in Marlborough, today their five children all take an active role in the business.
Reviewed 29 January 2021 via mobile

We enjoyed our lunch and particularly our desserts The kids menu was healthy and platter a hit and good value. Surroundings lovely and well spaced between tables air conditioning appreciated on hot day but also had large outdoor area. Tasting for wine good but only a very small sip in each glass so could not get true flavour. Waitress not knowledgeable on wines, but gave us wine list with description.

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank Y7491MElouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (642)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 12 of 642 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2021 via mobile

We always time our drive to pass here at lunchtime,even if it means a sprint to catch the Ferry. Double Baked Blue Cheese for her. Always the best and duck confit for me.
A bottle of Reserve Chardonnay.
Excellent. Fabulous service.
And we made the ferry, just.

Date of visit: January 2021
1  Thank neilcS1420VQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2021

Once again happy that Trip Advisor reviews actually matched the reality. Not like my first night in Blenheim. See my previous reviews. The restaurant was very well set out and decorated. The food options were great. I had the Burger and my Wife the Salmon Salad. Both top notch.

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank boknaai69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2021

Lovely atmosphere- service excellent. Prawn and salad dish absolutely scrumptious with fat jucy prawns. Burger also most acceptable. The duck leg though was tasteless and not enjoyed.

Date of visit: January 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TheGoodKiwi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2021

This has had a fine reputation for a long time as one of the best winery restaurant in the Blenheim/Marlborough area and we were not disappointed when we came for lunch recently. The restaurant setting is pleasant but lacks the views that other places have. However the food is excellent and so is the service. We had a blue cheese souffle, which was light and delicate, and could even have had a little more cheese in it, and the confit of duck which was just delicious. Each dish has a wine match if wanted carefully chosen from the winery’s own selection, of course. There is space outside with tables to repose and sample if you wish, but it was a bit windy the day we were there for that.

S

Date of visit: January 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank JohnSB3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wairau River Wines Restaurant also viewed

 
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 

Been to Wairau River Wines Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.