We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful welcome to New Zealand”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cranford Oak Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cranford Oak Motel
Ranked #43 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    23
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
30
48
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Parkwood, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

I am doing hotel business. This time my families travelled in New Zealand, Christchurch. We arrived late in the evening but the manager still waiting for us. Escorting us to the room. The room is very clean and comfortable. Since we had contacted each other before we came here, therefore the manager even prepared some snacks for us because we were late check in. So lovely. The couple are very kind and helpful.Thank you very much, Sandy & Greg! Anyway, I am sure that I will be back to see them soon. Lovely place, highly recommend. Thanks.

Room Tip: Whenever you need help, just let them know. They are very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ranaicefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 January 2012

This was our second visit to Christchurch as part of our overall seventeen day holiday in New Zealand. We received a very friendly welcome from Sandy and was pleasantly surprised and grateful to be informed that we had been upgraded to two rooms with connecting doors. It was greatly appreciated by my husband,two daughters and myself. The rooms were very clean, modern and spacious. The free internet was excellent so too the offer of free DVDs for the girls to watch. Would definately stay at the Cranford Oak Motel again.

Room Tip: Easy access to first floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane Queensland
Level Contributor
141 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

The Cranford Oak Motel is one of the most delightful places we stayed in during a short visit to the South Island of NZ in January 2012. The owners of the motel, Sandy and Greg, were so receptive to our needs and welcomed us with absolute courtesy and kindness. Their commitment to assisting us with further travel arrangements and connections with shuttle services during our stay was also very much appreciated.

The standard of our accommodation was excellent for our needs and sufficiently roomy for all of our luggage and other personal items. Most importantly, all amenities were spotless and well furnished. Bathrooms in our rooms were modern and also well appointed with ample hand towels, soaps and shampoo.

This motel is well positioned in the city of Christchurch and is situated a short distance from the main city centre and other essential outlets such as the airport and railway station.

Thank you to Greg and Sandy for a memorable stay. We won't be staying anywhere else if visit Christchurch again.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet and well serviced with amenities
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJS1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 16 January 2012

After looking at quite a few motels we chose to stay at Cranford Oak Motel whilst our home was being repaired after the Christchurch earthquakes so we did not have to travel far to get there. We were made very welcome and after 5 weeks with Sandy & Greg we felt almost like family. Our room was quite spacious and well appointed. We wanted for nothing (not even the morning paper!) Our little kitchen was very easy to use and I made good use of the equipment. The staff were very efficient and friendly and it was such a pleasure to have our room serviced every day. We would recommend this motel to anyone who wanted to stay in the North/West of the city.

Sandy & Lois

Room Tip: Wheelchair access rooms are great for people who don't manage stairs very well. Altho' you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lois B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
2.2 km away
Ashford Motor Lodge
Ashford Motor Lodge
#38 of 144 in Christchurch
124 reviews
3.5 km away
Ashleigh Court Motel
Ashleigh Court Motel
#30 of 144 in Christchurch
261 reviews
2.5 km away
Belmont Motor Inn
Belmont Motor Inn
#34 of 144 in Christchurch
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Garden City Motel
Garden City Motel
#45 of 144 in Christchurch
93 reviews
2.0 km away
Rosewood Court Motel
Rosewood Court Motel
#54 of 144 in Christchurch
63 reviews
4.8 km away
Tower Junction Motor Lodge
Tower Junction Motor Lodge
#18 of 144 in Christchurch
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranford Oak Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranford Oak Motel

Property: Cranford Oak Motel
Address: 116 McFaddens Road | St Albans, Christchurch 8052, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Price range (per night): $119 - $187
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cranford Oak Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Cranford Oak Motel - Superior Accommodation in Christchurch at an Affordable Price. Recently voted the number 2 accommodation provider in Christchurch by the Global Review Index based on cleanliness, location, rooms, service and value! Winner of the TripAdvisor Award in 2013. Christchurch's affordable luxury motel accommodation located in the South Island of New Zealand with free WiFi and now with free Sky TV with 50+ channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Cranford Oak Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing