We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place to stay after a long hour flights.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Airport Birches Motel
Ranked #62 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Reviewed 31 January 2012

It was a nice place to be after a long hour flights. Cozy nice apartment that accomodate all 5adults of my family member. However, it will be even better if they can arrange shuttle pick up after the operation hours as there are still flights reach Christchurch late at night.

Room Tip: If your flights reach after 1am then you better choose other motel that provides 24hrs pick up servi...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustWanaHavFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
There are newer reviews for Airport Birches Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 85 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2012

After a long car trip with two young children it was refreshing to be met with a cheery hello from Dave, he promptly showed us to our rooms, booked a taxi for our flight out the next day, arranged a courtesy bus to take us to a local restaurant and organised a cot for our youngest. The room was very clean and tidy and was perfect for our family. The spa was a welcome relief. To top the experience off, we discovered that upon our return to Australia that we had left some things behind. Within hours of me emailing Dave I had a response to say that it had been handed in and he promptly mailed it back to us. Thank you for your wonderful service :)

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KristelOShane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Owner Dave picked us up at the airport after our 11:30 PM arrival. Very personal, friendly service. Accommodations were everything that we needed. Quiet, good bed, clean.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrannyGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

As per a number of reviewers we arrived at the motel around 11.15pm and the owner was really friendly and showed us to the unit.
Room was a good size and very clean.
Perfect for that airport stopover

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davejlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

The rooms are clean, the furniture is new and the kitchen is well equiped. The heaters work well and the bathroom is spotlessly clean with nice amenities.
We arrived late at night, after a violent earthquake but the owner kindly arranged everything for us and we were able to get the room well after hours with no issue at all.
Different taxi companies charge different rates. The hotel recommends blue taxis to get there from the airport, this will cost you roughly 25NZD - it takes about 15min. If I would go back, I would catch a shuttle there, cost is around 20NZD.
I would definitely recommend this motel if you need accommodation close to the airport.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clauxmoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
3.6 km away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
0.3 km away
Airways Motel
Airways Motel
#15 of 146 in Christchurch
436 reviews
3.1 km away
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
#8 of 146 in Christchurch
1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Airport Delta Motel
Airport Delta Motel
#29 of 146 in Christchurch
240 reviews
3.1 km away
Airport Palms Motel
Airport Palms Motel
#1 of 146 in Christchurch
745 reviews
1.7 km away
Avonhead Garden Motel
Avonhead Garden Motel
#53 of 146 in Christchurch
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Birches Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Birches Motel

Address: 390 Yaldhurst Road, Christchurch 8042, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: $118 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Airport Birches Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Airport Birches Motel, built 2001, is located just 4 kilometres from the Christchurch Airport, but out of the flight plan. All our rooms are GROUND FLOOR with NO additional floors on top. We offer our guests the comfort and convenience of being close to the Christchurch Airport, without the noise and hassle.Our courtesy shuttle service operates between the Christchurch Airport and Railway station between 9:00am - 9:00pm everyday, except, Xmas Eve, Day, Boxing Day & New Years Eve, Day. In addition to this we offer a park and fly option for those wishing to leave their cars behind whilst they travel overseas, conditions apply.We are close to both Hornby Shopping mall (2 minute drive, 10 minute walk) and Westfield Riccarton (5 minute drive). We are also one of the closest motels to Riccarton Racecourse & Riccarton Park Convention Centre, we offer a shuttle them during normal shuttle hours. Though it is only a few minutes walk. We are also only 5 minutes walk from a nearby minigolf and driving range, for those interested in Golfing. If you are heading into the city there is a local bus service that is a mere 400m down the road.We are ideally positioned for incoming travellers as we are on the crossroads of both the North and South bypasses. As well as on the main road off to the West Coast. Making us a perfect base to start your holiday. If you are looking closer a field, then Akaroa and Hanmer Springs as well as Arthur's pass are all within around 2 hours drive of us. Along with all the Ski Fields, such as Porters Heights and Mt Hutt.For those hungry travellers a large number of local eateries will deliver to our motel, as well as free transfers to the popular Avonhead Tavern. There is also a 24 hour service station down the road for snacks and goodies.So for a relaxing experience stay, stay with us at the Airport Birches Motel.Kind regards ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Airport Birches Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airport Birches Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing