We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Meal”

Castro's Tapas & Bar
Reserve a table
Ranked #619 of 1,213 Restaurants in Christchurch
Description: Bringing a little part of Spain to Christchurch. Castro’s is a family owned business that offers an authentic and unique Spanish experience. Located at the heart of the city in the new and beautiful riverside market, Castro’s beautiful food, craft beers, cocktails, live music, and decor will take guests on a unique journey. This is a place like you have never seen before. Whether you are looking for a drink after work, listening to live music while chilling with your mates or to have delicious dinner with your family or partner, Castro’s is the place for you. With inside and outside sitting options, Castro’s terrace is the place to be during hot days. Sit out and enjoy a cold and refreshing drink while eating delicious tapas. When it comes to food, we sure deliver the goods, bringing the Spanish culture of sharing to the Kiwi dining experience, Castro’s offers anything from small tapas to an extravagant meat board from the Josper grill and can cater for all dietary requirements.
Restaurant details
Description: Bringing a little part of Spain to Christchurch. Castro’s is a family owned business that offers an authentic and unique Spanish experience. Located at the heart of the city in the new and beautiful riverside market, Castro’s beautiful food, craft beers, cocktails, live music, and decor will take guests on a unique journey. This is a place like you have never seen before. Whether you are looking for a drink after work, listening to live music while chilling with your mates or to have delicious dinner with your family or partner, Castro’s is the place for you. With inside and outside sitting options, Castro’s terrace is the place to be during hot days. Sit out and enjoy a cold and refreshing drink while eating delicious tapas. When it comes to food, we sure deliver the goods, bringing the Spanish culture of sharing to the Kiwi dining experience, Castro’s offers anything from small tapas to an extravagant meat board from the Josper grill and can cater for all dietary requirements.
Reviewed 27 July 2021

Four of us dined here, sharing 8 tapas and a paella.

2x mushroom croquettes (so we could each have one)
2x chicken (we each had three boneless pieces)
Chorizo (we each had one piece)
Fennel salad
Garlic mushrooms
Patatas Bravas
Chicken and chorizo paella

The waitress had first suggested we each order two tapas and then suggested we may have ordered too much, but we got it just right. Service on the night was very good; we had two staff looking after us and both were the right level of attentiveness.

Each dish was served as it was finished in the kitchen, but we basically got all of the tapas (minus the chorizo) close to the same time. None of us had a complaint about any of the dishes; every single dish had its own flavour profile and was prepared perfectly. The fennel salad was perhaps the biggest surprise as we didn't know what to expect and all of us enjoyed it.

The paella came just as we finished off the tapas, and it didn't disappoint. I can't say I was a huge fan of the chicken pieces sitting on top - I would have preferred the chicken to be 'in' the rice, but then again I wasn't really fussed on chicken at all. I was more than happy with the rice itself. We didn't leave so much as a bite behind.

I've already booked a return visit.

Date of visit: July 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank beth2nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adventure36485394619, Marketing at Castro's Tapas & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2021

Hi Beth,

Our paella and chorizo are two of the most popular tapas! We are so glad you got to try such a variety and as you mentioned each tapa has it's own flavour and freshness. Thank you very much for sharing such a detailed experience, the more we know the better for us. This means we are doing things right and making our customers happy which is what we love to do. Now, it is time to try the rest of the menu and tell us what your favourite dishes are! I'll be waiting for your new review! Thanks again. Muchas gracias :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2021 via mobile

Pulpo and fried chicken were fantastic, great atmosphere, nice Spanish style music. Good service, pleasant people.

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank juleshlavac
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adventure36485394619, Marketing at Castro's Tapas & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2021

Hi Jules,

Muchas gracias for your kind review. We work hard to provide the best possible experience through our service and food. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2021

Exquisite! Delicious! Cooked by a very “Youngz Chef”. One of the best seafood paellas in Aotearoa. Wish he could open up a restaurant in Auckland. Well done Adrian! And his dad! Al though you’re only 7 yrs old, you showed how clever you are with your culinary skills. Can’t wait to go back to CHCH and try more tapas too! The patatas fritas plus other tapas and the whole dining experience was great!

Gracias! Fue’ un verdadero placer!

Hasta pronto!
Grace

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank zazagrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adventure36485394619, Marketing at Castro's Tapas & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2021

Thank you so much for such a kind and awesome review. Adrian has been cooking paellas since he was 6! so you can totally see his skills only continue to develop. We are so happy to hear you had such a pleasant experience with us and you never know, perhaps one day we will expand to the North Island. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2021 via mobile

Ok, we came to have a lunch today, the restaurant was not even half-full. The manager (bearded man) said we can sit on a terrace. Went on the terrace, spent like few minutes trying to find dry stools; no attention from wait staff, no one offered to wipe stools. Then sat there for 15 minutes with no attention whatsoever. At the same time staff were going in and out of the terrace, attending to other customers. After 20 minutes we have had enough and left. When leaving, I told the bearded man why we are leaving and he was not even apologetic. So disgusting and rude! We have been loyal customers dining and lunching here quite a few times, but I do not believe we will be back again. ¡No estamos feliz! I hope the owner will read this.

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank PaulM13204
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adventure36485394619, Marketing at Castro's Tapas & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2021

Hi Paul,

I am glad we were able to fix this. I believe our conversation was proactive and insightful. We hope to see you again soon. Thanks!

Rodrigo.
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2021 via mobile

I will definitely be coming back on my next visit to Christchurch! Fantastic range of tapas. The food was absolutely delicious. I can highly recommend the mushroom croquettes, prawns and fried chicken. Definitely one of the best prawns dishes I’ve ever had. The decor and vibe were also great. This would be a fantastic place in summer to have a sangria on the balcony. Lovely waitstaff as well!

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank michi1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Castro's Tapas & Bar also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Castro's Tapas & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.