We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,300)
Filter reviews
1,300 results
Traveller rating
414
511
269
75
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
414
511
269
75
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hagley park double tree city centre botanical gardens new zealand pleasant hotel beautiful park duty manager pleasant walk bit dated buffet breakfast lovely garden hotel restaurant very pleasant stay free shuttle room was spacious stayed here for one night
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 1,300 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2018 via mobile

Overall great hotel. The location is awesome for a walk in the park or a quick taxi to the city. The rooms are a little old but clean and tidy. The grounds of the hotel are very nice would love to see them in Spring. Would stay again.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank BonnieJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2018

Thank you BonnieJames for sharing a review of Chateau on the Park Christchurch a DoubleTree by Hilton on TripAdvisor following your recent stay. We are delighted to read your feedback and glad you enjoyed your time with us.

It was our pleasure to ensure that you had a great time whilst in Christchurch and we hope to see you back on future travels.

Regards,
David Wain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

Four of us arrived for lunch two of us had the scallops light lunch option the flavours were amazing the only complaint was they were just a bit to small in size. I had the pork belly and my husband had battered blue cod and it was fantastic plenty on the plate and the batter on the blue cod was light and delicious the service was excellent we had a lovely Asian lady who looked after our table and she was so much fun. On the whole was a truly amazing experience

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
Thank marggeoff2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2018

Dear marggeoff2015,

Thank you for choosing to dine at Chateau on the Park Christchurch a DoubleTree by Hilton. It is wonderful to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your lunch experience at the GCB restaurant.

We receive many positive comments about our amazing food quality, value for money and friendly service. You must also look out for our monthly seasonal ingredient specials and roast of the day options. The Chateau Club Sandwich and chef'a special chicken and coconut curry will not disappoint!

I do hope that we will see you back again shortly to indulge in some further exciting meal options.

Regards,
David Wain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2018 via mobile

We had a nice stay, just a few hick ups, 1st when we went to check in at 3 like we were told, our room wasn’t ready & we had to go away for an hour, went down & dined for dinner, we both had the roast, was very nice BUT very small for the price but what really made our stay nice was the loverly lady that served us for breakfast the next morning as we had payed for breakfast with our room but it wasn’t noted down that we had, but Amanda Fisher made sure it worked out all good for us...Staff were excellent

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank NorthStar782668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Chateau on the Park Christchurch a DoubleTree by Hilton. It is disappointing to read that you have mixed reviews from your recent time with us.

Firstly, please accept my apologies that your room was not ready upon arrival. We make every effort to have rooms available at the dedicated time and I am sorry we could not achieve this on your last stay.

I am delighted to receive feedback about our friendly team and in particular Amanda for ensuring your breakfast experience was exceptional.

Thank you again for taking the time to post and we shall look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back on a future visit to Christchurch.

Regards,
David Wain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2018

Its an amazing hotel, it has a good view along with nice amenities. The hotels rooms are very good and spacious for families. The breakfast of hotel is also excellent. Also the sleep quality for hotel is very nice.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BansalSagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2018

Dear BansalSagar,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Chateau on the Park Christchurch a DoubleTree by Hilton. It is wonderful to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us, in particular our buffet breakfast.

We shall look forward to your next visit with us.

Regards,
David Wain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2018

Great location near Hagley park and store -- and extremely friendly and helpful staff. In my room the A/C was malfunctioning and as a result the room got very cold in the middle of the night - on the second day they changed the room for me which was nice. Beds are mostly comfortable -- but the rooms have a somewhat outdated television with 10 channels - no CNN or BBC, no FIFA world cup coverage - I mean how much would it cost to add basic cable? Also the room does not have a dresser so I have had to live out of the suitcase where I have to store all the things you cannot hang! Finally the gym is a tiny gym worse than a basic motel. Both the television, gym and lack of a dresser in the room leads me to the average rating. Also a bit overpriced.

Room Tip: Make sure the A/C is working properly - change rooms if needed.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank astrokartik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2018

Dear astrokartik,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Chateau on the Park Christchurch a DoubleTree by Hilton. It is disappointing to read that you have mixed reviews from your recent time with us.

Firstly, please accept my apologies for the heating not working effectively in your room. I am sorry we were not able to rectify this for you and would have been happy to offer a room move or even an additional heater if that was a preference. We are upgrading our room Televisions and HD/Sky channel selection later this year to ensure we have best in class viewing content for our guests.

Thank you again for taking the time to post and we shall look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back on a future visit to Christchurch.

Regards,
David Wain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews