We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveller rating
26
23
5
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
23
5
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews large double bed spa bath friendly owners kitchen facilities next morning hagley park ants unit hosts motel microwave city supermarket chch accommodation furniture nz
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 58 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2016

Conveniently located, it's short walk from the compact Merivale mall & shops. In the other direction close to Victoria St for nightlife, restaurants & the casino. We arrived via bus 29 from the airport & it was a 5min walk from the stop just after Bealey Ave. Or we could have changed for a 'B' line bus which stops right outside the motel. It's on busy Papanui Rd with motel after motel, so if you like the location & Casino Court is full, there's plenty of neighbouring motels to check out too.

Initial impressions were good as Matt is very welcoming & friendly. He and Reetah were efficient, always friendly & helpful all throughout our stay.

Our room was more dated than we'd expected, though it was fine. It's seems to be an old motel that's had some modernisations here and there. The walls are rather thin which meant we could hear cars throughout the night even though we weren't facing the road. Luckily we never heard our neighbours though, although we did see them a lot (not much privacy in the living room). There's some thin & steep stairs to get to apartments on the first level up, potentially dangerous for some. If concerned request a ground floor room. Matt was more than happy to help with all our luggage though. The free Wifi was great. We had a separate bedroom from the living room however it was quite small, no room for much. The living room was a more decent size though. Our bathroom had a slightly awkward layout & shower only had two settings: off or full blast (and it's very strong). It seems like each of their rooms are quite different from each other so some of these comments may not be relevant across all.

All in all we enjoyed our stay here. The convenient location, nice vibe of Merivale & great staff made it worthwhile, though our room only justified a budget price tag.

Room Tip: If thin steep stairs are a concern, request a ground floor room. If you're a light sleeper a room furthest away from the road would be best.
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank laguida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2015

Very good location to the middle of chch. Older style motel but very roomy and clean. Nice and warm on arrival. We asked for a quiet unit and it certainly was quiet.
Would have been nice to have fresh milk rather than the milk pods but otherwise couldn't fault it for the price.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room like no. 10
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annie61NewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2015

Calling from NZ to organise, the staff member so helpful on the phone. We were arriving at 0100hrs and then checking out the next morning. They gave us the first room and said they would leave it unlocked to just walk in when the taxi delivered us. True to their word it was open and ready to go. Heaters on (1 degree.. Brrr) electric blankets and a really hot shower. We chose it because it was only roughly a $30 taxi drive and in the morning we could walk to the Merivale Mall or catch a bus to Northlands mall which we did. Easy to do and filled in until our next flight. But you need to watch your taxi driver, the return one $40 and we worried if we would arrive. He was so fragile I lifted the suitcases myself. As he drove out he said "I can't see anything with this roadworks" then proceeded to cut someone off and drive through two red lights. I am not ageist but hmm he really needed a review. On the contrary our midnight taxi, driver from Iran couldn't have been more friendly. Love chch will come again.

Room Tip: Both upstairs and downstairs but choose ground for late arrivals.
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank lynleyb2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2015

Stayed one night in unit 12. Unit was beautiful, clean, new carpet, spacious. Close to shops and town. Got in quite late but lady owner was lovely and friendly. Only downside was the road noise (unit 12 right at the front) but I guess that is to be expected when you are on a busy road. Also heard neighbours getting home late at night/early hours of morning? Opening and closing drawers, running water, talking. Walls not too thick. Would recommend but as has been said in other reviews ask for a rear unit if worried about road noise.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2015 via mobile

Booked in today, my partner and I have just got engaged and together wanting a night to ourselves and with the rare offer of a sitter decided to book a room with spa here, after my arrival, (dropped off I might add to wow my new fiancé) only to be told to leave because he didnt like the look of me, im deeply hurt and appalled by such disrespect and to have my engagement ruined and now no where to suit at such short notice!!! Would not recommend if ur over weight..or without superstar looks! Thanks casino court for an excellent stay of five minutes and throwing me onto the street with such judgment.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank kingMuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mattchch, Owner at Casino Court Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2015

As a general rule we do not respond to guest reviews. We are content to let our guests do the talking - happily accepting positive comments and working hard to correct any issues that have not met guest expectations. We do however feel we need to respond to this particular review.

Whilst we regret the guest was unhappy at being refused accommodation, this was for no other reason than the credit card she provided as security for her on-line booking was declined. It is standard international hotel/motel procedure to require a valid credit card number to secure bookings in the event of damage and/or theft from the room. This and only this was the reason for her being refused accommodation with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews