We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very handy to city, value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casino Court Motor Lodge
Ranked #76 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Reviewed 24 January 2016

The studio room is well appointed, bed, couch tv etc, spa bath, kitchen with enough equipment to be self catering. Good off street parking, close to cafes, restaurants and amenities. Friendly accomodating hosts make this a good place to stay. Competitive rates provide value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neville S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2016

Conveniently located, it's short walk from the compact Merivale mall & shops. In the other direction close to Victoria St for nightlife, restaurants & the casino. We arrived via bus 29 from the airport & it was a 5min walk from the stop just after Bealey Ave. Or we could have changed for a 'B' line bus which stops right outside the motel. It's on busy Papanui Rd with motel after motel, so if you like the location & Casino Court is full, there's plenty of neighbouring motels to check out too.

Initial impressions were good as Matt is very welcoming & friendly. He and Reetah were efficient, always friendly & helpful all throughout our stay.

Our room was more dated than we'd expected, though it was fine. It's seems to be an old motel that's had some modernisations here and there. The walls are rather thin which meant we could hear cars throughout the night even though we weren't facing the road. Luckily we never heard our neighbours though, although we did see them a lot (not much privacy in the living room). There's some thin & steep stairs to get to apartments on the first level up, potentially dangerous for some. If concerned request a ground floor room. Matt was more than happy to help with all our luggage though. The free Wifi was great. We had a separate bedroom from the living room however it was quite small, no room for much. The living room was a more decent size though. Our bathroom had a slightly awkward layout & shower only had two settings: off or full blast (and it's very strong). It seems like each of their rooms are quite different from each other so some of these comments may not be relevant across all.

All in all we enjoyed our stay here. The convenient location, nice vibe of Merivale & great staff made it worthwhile, though our room only justified a budget price tag.

Room Tip: If thin steep stairs are a concern, request a ground floor room. If you're a light sleeper a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank laguida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2015

Very good location to the middle of chch. Older style motel but very roomy and clean. Nice and warm on arrival. We asked for a quiet unit and it certainly was quiet.
Would have been nice to have fresh milk rather than the milk pods but otherwise couldn't fault it for the price.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room like no. 10
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annie61NewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2015

Calling from NZ to organise, the staff member so helpful on the phone. We were arriving at 0100hrs and then checking out the next morning. They gave us the first room and said they would leave it unlocked to just walk in when the taxi delivered us. True to their word it was open and ready to go. Heaters on (1 degree.. Brrr) electric blankets and a really hot shower. We chose it because it was only roughly a $30 taxi drive and in the morning we could walk to the Merivale Mall or catch a bus to Northlands mall which we did. Easy to do and filled in until our next flight. But you need to watch your taxi driver, the return one $40 and we worried if we would arrive. He was so fragile I lifted the suitcases myself. As he drove out he said "I can't see anything with this roadworks" then proceeded to cut someone off and drive through two red lights. I am not ageist but hmm he really needed a review. On the contrary our midnight taxi, driver from Iran couldn't have been more friendly. Love chch will come again.

Room Tip: Both upstairs and downstairs but choose ground for late arrivals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank lynleyb2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2015

Stayed one night in unit 12. Unit was beautiful, clean, new carpet, spacious. Close to shops and town. Got in quite late but lady owner was lovely and friendly. Only downside was the road noise (unit 12 right at the front) but I guess that is to be expected when you are on a busy road. Also heard neighbours getting home late at night/early hours of morning? Opening and closing drawers, running water, talking. Walls not too thick. Would recommend but as has been said in other reviews ask for a rear unit if worried about road noise.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.8 km away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
2,116 reviews
1.6 km away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
0.5 km away
At The Right Place
At The Right Place
#133 of 146 in Christchurch
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
2 km away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#26 of 146 in Christchurch
2,281 reviews
1.8 km away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casino Court Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casino Court Motor Lodge

Address: 76 Papanui Road, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range: $120 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casino Court Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casino Court Motor Lodge offers Modern, Spacious, affordable accommodation in central Christchurch. Park the car up and walk to all that the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Casino Court Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing