We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$109
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amross Court Motor Lodge(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$77
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Christchurch(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$99
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$150
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$90
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Argyle on the Park(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$76
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
City Centre Motel(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$59
US$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel 115 Christchurch(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$77
US$74
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$84/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 03/08
US$194
US$190
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveller rating
60
12
5
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
60
12
5
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssafe parkingstayed here for four nightshighly recommend this b bcontinental breakfastyogurtbeautiful roomsouth islandcomfortable bedsgreat place to staycomfortable stayenjoyed our stayfree wifihostsbalconybnbcitypros
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 79 reviews
Reviewed 21 December 2015 via mobile

We booked this room based on reviews, so was extremely surprised to find out it was nothing like the website or reviews.

*Our complimentary toiletries, which are expected anywhere not the least somewhere advertised as luxurious, was wall mounted pump soap/shampoo. Just like public toilets.

*Slippers were old, used and dirty. I also found hair in them. See pics.

**There was hair in the beach towels too!

*Bathroom bin rusty, ash tray had previous guest's butts, fountain green, dusty lounge (not inviting at all).

As it was our last destination in NZ we decided to leave, but was confronted by a lot of lies over canceling. The lies went further as they went back on their word.

I STRONGLY recommend you DON'T waste your money here. There are a lot more nicer and cheaper places in the area. With much more helpful and trustworthy people.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
Thank 1StarrTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelley S, Owner at At The Beach B & B Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2015

We are very sad you did not enjoy your stay but are very comforted by the many top reviews that we have received. We are very trusting. honest, genuine people and have been invited to stay at many guests places over the world. We take pride in our reviews. We know that when you arrive you were very angry and confrontational, you upset my staff and husband who many people love. The little things you mention like the pond, the pump has broken and we have had to order another one. This particular feature was for my mother who died 15 year ago and I would not let that get stagnant. The ash tray was being used by the guest next door and we only empty during service omg he must of had as smoke after that, we do not encourage smoking in the rooms. The hair in the towel what a plant that was so angry you had nothing else to show only reason I say that is because the towels do not display how our the towels are presented in our rooms. The other complaints no pictures please. You did not mention about the lovely breakfast my husband cooked on demand for you and his amazing advice on where to visit and we did give you are a refund which we did not have to. wishing you both a merry Christmas and many more to come

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2015

This is the third time we've stayed in this luxurious B&B almost on the beach at New Brighton, Christchurch. In a two-storey modern building, it is all quiet elegance and privacy. There is also a great breakfast room downstairs, with all types of cereals, fruit salad, meusli, yoghurts, toast, and hot food if required, as well as coffee and several types of tea. We've stayed both upstairs and downstairs, and all rooms are beautifully appointed with large showers and wide, comfortable beds. There is free parking, but sometimes it may get a little crowded - but the street immediately outside is perfectly safe. Again, the Beach Cafe right next door was a great stop-in point to meet friends. Craig is an excellent and informative host, and we will definitely stay here again.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank GlynnF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2015 via mobile

Stayed here in March for a few nights after driving up from a family wedding in Clyde before flying back home to Scotland. Craig was extremely friendly and helpful, took some time to sit and get to know us and also recommended us a number of places to visit and gave us tips on where to go to eat out in the evenings, could not recommend this place more. The rooms were clean and well kept. Lovely wee beach a stones throw away and the cafe next door was fab too. Will be back.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Euan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2015

Great B & B - very very smart, neat, tidy and clean. In the cold weather when we arrived they had switched the heater and electric blanket on so the room was warm and toasty! Awesome shower and great bathroom and all you need in a room. The owners are lovely they moved us from the upstairs room we booked to a downstairs room due the wind blowing and sun shade rattling and they didnt want it to keep us awake! such thoughtfulness. Also the cooked breakfast was a great start to a day out in the mountains sledging and making snowmen! oh and wifi!

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MissFloopy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2015

This was our last stop of our tour before flying home. It was the perfect end to our holiday. The room was very comfortable and breakfast was just right. Craig was a friendly and generous host. Advised us about travelling to the city by bus and also arranged a taxi to drive us to the airport. We would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone. The beach was a short walk away and next door to At the Beach was a café/restaurant with an extensive menu.

Room Tip: Could not rate above -Service,Location,Cleanliness as it would only let me mark them 'Average' when in fact, they were all excellent.
Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Masons88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews