We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Party hostel, beware”
Review of Chalet Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chalet Backpackers
Reviewed 23 November 2017 via mobile

The main thing that annoyed me about this place was that our room was right next to the kitchen and dining room. This was never quiet, whether it was 5am or 5pm. We had several rude guests when we were staying and it turned into a party hostel. I'm always up for meeting people and having fun, but this was people shouting etc. It pissed me off that reception did nothing about this after we spoke to said guests twice. Very cold rooms too.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank fiona k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

Located in prime location - walking distance to the center. The bedroom was nice. The heater worked fine. The decor made me feel like home. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Clean toilet and shower room. Wifi worked well sometimes. The parking lots were easy, if you couldn't get one nearby, there's always some that's a little far apart.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank theboyd_th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017

Good location and decent beds, especially for the price. Would stay here again. Staff are friendly too. A nice old building in reasonable condition. WiFi seemed a bit slow . Kitchen was fine and good atmosphere.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
Thank JuliaWarburton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017

I spent two nights at Chalet Backpackers. It is located on a steep road only a few minutes’ walk from the city centre. The historic brick building was nicely restored in great parts but has still kept some of the atmosphere of “the old days”. From the common rooms there are great views over the city and the harbour. I had a single room on the top floor. Even though it was located next to a bathroom with a very old flushing system the nights were fairly quiet. However, the mattress slats seemed quite old and need replacing. Also, the carpet on the floor of my room was a bit smelly. Staff was very helpful and friendly. For a short stay a good place to stay for all young people and for all those who are still young at heart.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sondra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights. The rooms were spacious with high ceilings which was very nice but made them cold even in December. Our heater didn't work, but we managed with layers and the blankets. The wifi worked well and the staff was so friendly; one girl even let me use her cellphone to call my next hostel. I would recommend staying here!

Stayed: December 2016
Thank Eliana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
1 km away
On Top Backpackers
On Top Backpackers
#5 of 47 in Dunedin
165 reviews
2 km away
Kiwis Nest
Kiwis Nest
#8 of 61 in Dunedin
472 reviews
0.3 km away
Manor House Backpackers
Manor House Backpackers
#7 of 47 in Dunedin
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Central Backpackers Dunedin
3.3 km away
Dunedin Holiday Park
Dunedin Holiday Park
#6 of 47 in Dunedin
267 reviews
13.8 km away
Longbourne Lodge Country Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Backpackers

Address: 296 High Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Dunedin
Price Range: $39 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chalet Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing