We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B&B with wonderful garden on Otago Peninsula”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
McAuley Glen Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 62 Dunedin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 March 2017

Friendly hosts, Mary and Pat, went out of their way to make our stay a really special experience. Our room (furnished perhaps rather ostentatiously) was clean and comfortable with choice of pillows and there was underfloor heating in the spacious en-suite bathroom. We were welcomed with tea and freshly baked scones. Mary takes great pride in her beautiful garden, which involves a lot of hard work and is a haven for the local birdlife. We particularly enjoyed the birdsong in the mornings. Cooked breakfasts were sumptuous and included fresh juice from real oranges. There were a couple of places for dinner within easy walking distance. We were grateful for Mary's help in booking visits to the nearby yellow-eyed penguin sanctuary and royal albatross colony. The B&B, accessed via twisting scenic route along sea front from Dunedin, was ideally situated for visiting these and Larnach Castle.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2016

We stayed two nights with Mary & Pat in the big double room that suits a family (4 persons). Everything is perfect: the room, the hospitality, the garden full of roses and birds, the sauna and jaccuzi. The breakfast is outstanding. We had a great experience.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeanet N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2016

We only stayed one night here. This hidden B&B is great with plenty of space for three adults. We were greeted with fresh baked pastries upon our arrival and could relax in the hot tub. Breakfast was served upstairs and more than we could eat.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank on4bam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile

Wonderful hosts Mary and Pat showed us what an amazing B&B experience can be. From detailed tips and five star breakfasts to wine and good conversations, this was one of the best lodging experiences we've had!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2016

We Stayed two nights at Mary's B&B and absolutly enjoyed our stay! A Part from the Room being very comfortable and the breakfast being Amazing (Mary's Pancakes are extraordinary!), it was always a pleasure talking to Mary as she is very helpful and has a good sense of humor! We really recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Enno731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
13.2 km away
The Argoed Bed & Breakfast
5.3 km away
Kaimata Retreat
Kaimata Retreat
#19 of 62 in Dunedin
104 reviews
14.5 km away
Hazel House Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 km away
Bella Vista Mosgiel Motel
0.4 km away
Portobello Motel Cottages
Portobello Motel Cottages
#1 of 2 in Portobello
473 reviews
11 km away
Kiwis Nest
Kiwis Nest
#7 of 61 in Dunedin
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McAuley Glen Boutique Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McAuley Glen Boutique Bed & Breakfast

Address: 13 McAuley Road | Portobello, Dunedin 9014, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Dunedin
Price Range: $182 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllic harbor-side location in Portobello on the Otago Peninsula, 20 minutes from Dunedin city. Set amongst a tapestry of rolling hills, sandy ocean beaches, picturesque bays and inlets. Central to Albatross, Penguin and Seal colonies. Nestled in secluded, tranquil gardens, filled with color, fragrance and birdsong. McAuley Glen Boutique B&B, offers luxury accommodation, private rooms with modern comforts, Jacuzzi spa, sauna, wireless broadband, home style gourmet breakfast/baking, welcome refreshments, and warm relaxed kiwi hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your McAuley Glen Boutique Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing