We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great visit in Dunedin!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
McAuley Glen Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 62 Dunedin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 July 2017

We had a fantastic visit to Dunedin. The B & B worked great for our family of four. Mary's breakfast was amazing! And, the visit to Dunedin and the surrounding Otago Peninsula was one of the highlights of our trip. Weather was good (despite it being "winter" in NZ) and we enjoyed the quiet. Our trip to see the penguins was just the four of us...peak summer time has almost 100 visitors. NZ in winter is the best time to go.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank msanchez12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

When you have a wanderlust in you and need a break from your life, have a staycation! Spent the weekend at McAuley Glen Boutique B&B in the Peninsula Otago. Weird to think that a 30mins drive away from home it could be just like another holiday! Best part of the B&B? They have jacuzzi hot tub, sauna, bbq, and amazing afternoon tea as well as three course breakfast homemade by sweet lovely Mary. Simply Paradise!
The three course breakfast will surely boost your energy for the day (or actually send you back to bed because its alot of yummy food to digest!).
Mary is the perfect kind of host for bed and breakfast, she's so flexible, sweet and make tons of jokes that light up a person day, making my staycation so much more relaxable and cozy!
I was lucky to have two full days of sunshines that weekend.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Angelachai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2017

My family of 4 had an excellent and memorable 3-days stay, at this B&B wonderfully hosted by Mary and Patrick. The breakfast was excellent, something different and special to start each of our 3-days during our stay. The Lauralie Suite in which we stayed, was comfortable for 4 persons. The suite was nicely done up, so as the garden. The Suite, bed, bathroom were so cozy. Though autumn weather turned a little chilly at Otago Peninsula, it was comfortably warm inside the house. We slept well during the 3 days. The location in Otago Peninsula also suited many of our activities. Great choice for anyone / family who wants to tour Dunedin and Otago Peninsula.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Fam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

Mary and Patrick's bnb is simply one of the best places we've stayed at in NZ. Their garden is a wonderland, the breakfast was extraordinary and their kindness unforgettable. Thank you so much! Highly recommended!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Jean-Baptiste T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2017

Friendly hosts, Mary and Pat, went out of their way to make our stay a really special experience. Our room (furnished perhaps rather ostentatiously) was clean and comfortable with choice of pillows and there was underfloor heating in the spacious en-suite bathroom. We were welcomed with tea and freshly baked scones. Mary takes great pride in her beautiful garden, which involves a lot of hard work and is a haven for the local birdlife. We particularly enjoyed the birdsong in the mornings. Cooked breakfasts were sumptuous and included fresh juice from real oranges. There were a couple of places for dinner within easy walking distance. We were grateful for Mary's help in booking visits to the nearby yellow-eyed penguin sanctuary and royal albatross colony. The B&B, accessed via twisting scenic route along sea front from Dunedin, was ideally situated for visiting these and Larnach Castle.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
13.2 km away
The Argoed Bed & Breakfast
5.3 km away
Kaimata Retreat
Kaimata Retreat
#21 of 62 in Dunedin
104 reviews
14.5 km away
Hazel House Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 km away
Bella Vista Mosgiel Motel
0.4 km away
Portobello Motel Cottages
Portobello Motel Cottages
#1 of 2 in Portobello
473 reviews
11 km away
Kiwis Nest
Kiwis Nest
#8 of 61 in Dunedin
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McAuley Glen Boutique Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McAuley Glen Boutique Bed & Breakfast

Address: 13 McAuley Road | Portobello, Dunedin 9014, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Dunedin
Price Range: $184 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllic harbor-side location in Portobello on the Otago Peninsula, 20 minutes from Dunedin city. Set amongst a tapestry of rolling hills, sandy ocean beaches, picturesque bays and inlets. Central to Albatross, Penguin and Seal colonies. Nestled in secluded, tranquil gardens, filled with color, fragrance and birdsong. McAuley Glen Boutique B&B, offers luxury accommodation, private rooms with modern comforts, Jacuzzi spa, sauna, wireless broadband, home style gourmet breakfast/baking, welcome refreshments, and warm relaxed kiwi hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your McAuley Glen Boutique Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing