We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PricelineUS$220
eDreamsUS$220
Agoda.comUS$220
StayForLong
ZenHotels.com
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveller rating
62
2
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
62
2
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gas fire nespresso machine boiling water luxurious accommodation linen sheets across the road amazing accommodation br apartment mod cons fixtures and fittings thought of everything little touches transport museum night stay living room south island full kitchen
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 66 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2021

This was an unexpected treasure to find in Invercargill. Down a quiet street, Transport World is right over the road with its fabulous restaurant The Grille.

Far superior to any other accommodation options I could find, this place was in a league of its own. The pictures looked nice, but when we arrived we realised they really didn't do it justice. Everything has been done to a high standard - comfortable beds, luxurious linen bedding, fluffy cloud feather duvets and pillows, impeccably curated decor that looked like I wish my house could look. The kitchen is high end and the living room was so inviting we just wanted to sink into the sofa with the luxurious throw blankets and enjoy the fire.

Housekeeping was immaculate. It looked brand new inside, as though we were the first guests to every stay.

We ended up in Invercargill after an accident in Te Anau landed one of us in hospital. I was stuck in Invercargill at 9:00am looking for somewhere to park the injured party, who could not travel, while I returned to Te Anau to retrieve our luggage and bikes which had to be removed from our accommodation immediately as new guests were arriving. The Lodges hosts allowed me to check in at 10:00am and park up the injured, so I could make the five-hour round trip to Te Anau. This kindness made an extremely difficult situation manageable, and will always be remembered.

Room tip: Each apartment has a unique theme and is beautifully decorated accordingly. View website for more details.
Date of stay: April 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fifi0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Transport World, General Manager at The Lodges At Transport World, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2021

We are so pleased to have been able to host you, and that your unexpected stay here in Invercargill turned into a comfortable one - despite very trying circumstances! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. We hope to welcome you back to our city, and to The Lodges, again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2021

We could not fault anything about our stay at this luxurious accommodation.

Upon the excellent, friendly and accommodating welcome to the top of the line amenities offered we could not have wanted for anything more.

The unit we stayed in was tastefully decorated, very modern, and had a Hampton feel about it.

The king size bed was heavenly comfortable and it was a treat to sleep in linen sheets and duvet covers.

We chose to get takeaways, although there was a full kitchen, because we couldn’t resist a night in front of the fire watching a movie catching our breath from a busy road trip around the South Island.

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Transport World, General Manager at The Lodges At Transport World, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2021

Thank you so much for the lovely review. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay here at The Lodges, and hope to see you again sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2021

Thoughtfully designed lodge rooms. We had a 2 bedroom room which came with luxurious and special touches, heavenly beds, Nespresso machines, beautiful electric fire. Warm & toasty and lovely outside private sitting area.

Room tip: Our room was toys room which has 2 separate bedrooms each with king size beds. Great for 2 couples travelling.
Date of stay: March 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leigh36
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Transport World, General Manager at The Lodges At Transport World, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2021

Kia ora Leigh. Thank you very much for taking a moment to write us such a glowing review - we really appreciate it. We're pleased to hear you appreciated the little touches that make a stay at The Lodges so special. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2020 via mobile

We loved this place it was great. We combined a 2 night stay here with another deal to Stewart Island but because of timing we had to book an extra night on the other side of the Stewart island which was really lucky because it meant we got to stay in two different units! There were about 8 altogether I think and each had a different theme. We stayed in Oyster & later Hunting and fishing. Well appointed, clean and tidy, beautifully comfortable beds, deliciously scented toiletries, yummy continental breakfast as part of package we really enjoyed our stay. Would love to visit again just to stay in one of the other rooms

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Pauapatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Transport World, General Manager at The Lodges At Transport World, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2021

Thank you so much for the very kind words! We always love to hear that our guests enjoy their stay with us - next time you visit please make sure to let us know which of the rooms takes your fancy this time around!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2020 via mobile

Great 5 star accommodation has to be the best in town- style - comfort - unbeatable ! So pleased we made the decision to stay here- we were gobsmacked- could not fault what they offered a great package

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Flyingkiwi100
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Transport World, General Manager at The Lodges At Transport World, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2021

Wow, thank you so much for such a wonderful review. We're pleased you enjoyed your stay with us - hopefully we see you again sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews