We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
US$86
View deal
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (241)
Filter reviews
241 results
Traveller rating
57
98
51
27
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
57
98
51
27
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews valet parking room was spacious cooked breakfast across the road stayed here for one night stewart island spa bath would stay again bluff
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 241 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2020

We dined at Invercargills Kelvin Hotel Restaurant last night we enjoyed a Wonderful meal I highly recommend the pork cheek entree which is seriously good Emma looked after us so well also Great dining

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 June 2020 via mobile

Another enjoyable Invercargill weekend and our stay at the kelvin never fails to please . Super friendly staff at reception and the editors cut. The level one bar is great to relax in. The rooms are always well presented and typically large by modern standards. This is our 21st year of staying here... and we look forward to each of our next returns
... also suggest you join the vip club if you become regulars yourselves

Date of stay: June 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Red S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 June 2020

We really enjoyed our stay here. Our room was typical Southland size (large!) and well modernised, with all the facilities we needed. The nearby parking was excellent and easy. It was quite interesting to look out and see the building site around us, as the entire block is being demolished for a shopping complex. We weren't trouble by any construction noise though. We visited the Level One bar one evening and the atmosphere and service was excellent. The price for our room was $120 per night, which we felt was good value for money. We would definitely stay there again.

Date of stay: June 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maddy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 March 2020

This is a beautifully appointed Hotel in the centre, within easy walking distance of everything. Staff are very friendly and accommodating. Be aware there is some building renovation underway nearby but we did not hear any noise in our lovely 7th floor spacious well equipped modern room, with large bathroom. Don't miss the world's largest collection of renovated retro cars, trucks and tractors exhibited in 15,000sqm at Bill Richardson's Transport Museum when you visit. This was the highlight of our stay!

Room tip: book one of the higher floors as we did
Date of stay: March 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron M, General Manager at Kelvin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2020

This post has said it all. there are many great things to see and do in Invercargill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2020

While this property is certainly located in the CBD, the entire block around it is presently being demolished to make way for a shopping and hotel complex. Despite the noisy construction and roadworks we had a comfortable stay. Our room at $171 p/n was adequate but could do with some upgrading. There was no air cond. so it was very stuffy. Our room overlooked Dee Street which during the day was very busy, but at night was deserted. We visited the bar which was pretty ordinary and then dined at the restaurant. Our meals were enjoyable and service inpeccable. There was parking available nearby and easy check in. We would have appreciated a couple of wine glasses in the room; drinking lovely NZ wine from glass beakers is just not right. I would stay there again, but only after the development was completed.

Date of stay: February 2020
Thank Carole K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron M, General Manager at Kelvin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2020

Hello Carole,
Thank you for the feedback. All rooms should have wine glasses, they are located in the desk draw along with the kettle, bottle opener etc. When you next stay if you ever need anything extra please call us. We want to make your stay as enjoyable as possible and will be very happy to help with any additional assistance .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews