We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Highview Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We searcched many places and settled on the Highview Apartments. Unlike others, when they say "full kitchen" they mean everything, not just a microwave and hotplates. The views and service are great. We are made to feel at home.

Room Tip: We went the extra and had a 1 bedroom apartment. Great lake and mountain views. All 3 levels seem to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank X_Perth-Kiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

248 - 252 of 335 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2012

We stayed for a week in a two bed apartment and found this to be wonderful value for money. While up a reasonably steep hill from the town centre, the apartments are still within ten minutes walk of the attractions and the benefit of the hill is a wonderful view from the apartments. While the two bedroom configuration is spacious, the studio one bed studio would provide limited space and MIT not be to everyone's liking.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
Thank Balmain74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Only a short walk from the centre of town these apartments are modern, very well equipped and many have great lake views. All we were looking for in a short stay of three nights. Great value.The one thing to be aware of is that the walk back from town involves one short but quite steep hill. The trick is to get the staff to tell you about the "short cut" which will make life VERY easy. If not, a taxi ride is very short.

Room Tip: Book a lake view apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OZtraveller08_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Stayed here for four nights with my now fiancé and found this to be the perfect spot for not only our stay in Queenstown but the perfect location to propose to my girlfriend.
The room, the amazing view, friendly staff and owners made our time in Queenstown very enjoyable.
Contacting Julie prior to arriving, she was very helpful in recommending places to eat and even wanting to help me prep the room for the big morning. Although the proposal was a spur of the moment thing, i'm still thankful in the excitement that Julie shown in wanting to help me out plan the day.
The one bedroom room was great and walking in to a fired up gas heater was perfect after a day in town or day up at the Remarkables.
Its a nice 10 minute or so walk into town and the walk back to the room although up the hill was exactly what was needed after a big dinner and few drinks every night.
Finally the view from the room was one of the best i've come across, the amazing snow capped Remarkables, the lights of Queenstown at night and the view of the lake in the morning capped off a great stay in Queenstown.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rockn_out
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

My family (2 adults, 2 kids of 8 and 4 yrs) decided to go to Queenstown for my 40th birthday and found the Clarion Suites Highview Apartments on TripAdvisor. After reading the reviews, the general consensus was that the management were friendly, helpful and caring and that the quality of the accommodation was top notch specifically the views. It was purely due to these factors that we decided to book and stay at Clarion Suites Highview Apartments during late July, early August 2012.

Julie (Concierge, Manager) was wonderful and always so helpful with advice and handling our requests. The apartment was beautiful and clean and I cannot say enough about the view!!! Oh man, the view was just astounding as you can see from our photos. The view of The Remarkables and adjoining ranges are visible from the master bed (in the 1 bedroom section of our 2 bedroom apartment).

Julie mentioned that they take heating very seriously at Clarion Suites Highview Apartments and she was not wrong. Heating under the floors, heated towel rails, electric blankets, gas fireplace... we were always toasty and comfortable in our home away from home.

This is not a resort, so if you are looking for a destination where you have a multitude of in-house facilities like restaurants, pools, games rooms, foyers etc then the Clarion Suites Highview Apartments will not appeal to you. However, if you want a beautifully appointed, self contained apartment with a humble and gracious host and breathtaking views, then the Clarion Suites Highview Apartments are a perfect choice!

The final point to note is that the Clarion Suites Highview Apartments are not in the centre of Queenstown. They are a good 10 minute walk away. Some reviewers have talked about this as being a negative but I assure you the peace, quiet and privacy you get from being set as far back from the view facing road is so worth it and quite frankly necessary to achieve the perfect getaway. I believe that the position this little apartment block has is most likely the envy of many other bigger chain hotels and complexes in Queenstown.

Cannot rave about this fantastic place enough. Our room was serviced once in 7 days and that was adequate. The clean was professional and replenished all consumables as expected. If I was to be super-picky about anything it would be the bed and lounge not being as comfortable as I both expected and have experienced elsewhere, however, it did not detract from our experience and to be 100% clear, it was easily comfortable enough. I only mention this as the comfort of these two things just seem to slightly mismatch in comparison with the rest of the apartment! The property is so amazing that you expect EVERYTHING to reflect the great aspects.

I'll be coming back to Clarion Suites Highview Apartments on our next trip to Queenstownand look forward to that amazing vista. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: The 1 bedroom apartments on the top floor with the lake facing views are the pick of the bunch. We s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Abzloot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
2 km away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
3.3 km away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
0.7 km away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 59 in Queenstown
1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
1.1 km away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#19 of 59 in Queenstown
3,232 reviews
0.8 km away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 59 in Queenstown
1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highview Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highview Apartments

Address: 66 - 70 Thompson Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand (Formerly Clarion Suites Highview Apartments)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 93 Speciality Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range: $239 - $504 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Highview Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury One & Two Bedroom Apartments overlooking Lake Wakatipu, from Queenstown Bay across the Remarkables to Walter and Cecil Peaks, watch the TSS Earnslaw steam her way across your view. A short walk from the CBD, Cafes, Restaurants and many of the local activities (or collection points) but away from the busy roads and noise. Self contained to allow that home away from home feel. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Highview Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing