We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Onsen Hot Pools Retreat & Day Spa
Open today: 9:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Ways to Experience Onsen Hot Pools Retreat & Day Spa
from US$53.25
More Info
Reviews (1,758)
Filter reviews
1,758 results
Traveller rating
1,293
318
83
38
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,293
318
83
38
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shotover river private pool ultimate relaxation my partner time slot staff were lovely amazing views amazing experience visiting queenstown new zealand tub indulgent session jets mountains dusk slopes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 1,758 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2021

We went twice! The first night we done the inside original pool - amazing and so relaxing! The second evening we came and done the serenity soak & massage which included myself getting a half body massage and a facial and my partner got the mens facial. My partner has never done anything like this before and he felt refreshed, relaxed and absolutely loved it. My massage was incredible and the facial was amazing too, apparently I was glowing haha. Can’t thank the Onsen team enough, they looked after us so much and are very helpful and love what they do. Definitely recommending to everyone I know

Date of experience: March 2021
Thank Kimmy8789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing U, General Manager at Onsen Hot Pools Retreat & Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2021

Hi Kimmy,

Wow your review really makes us smile,

We are beaming with pride knowing that we hit the mark and delivered on everything that we promised, our team work so hard to ensure leaves with a memorable experience. We will be sure to share you review with the rest of the team.

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind words.

We hope to see you back at Onsen soon!

Sincerely,

The Onsen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2021

Enjoyed the view but we were rushed through, actually in the hot tub for 45 mins, we didn't realize there weren't showers in the changing rooms and so got dressed afterwards without a shower, we wanted a relaxing experience but it wasn't really like that at all, we came away feeling disappointed especially as it's quite expensive for 45 minutes. It wasn't explained to us that when they tell you over the intercom that you have 10 minutes left that's when you need to use the shower in the room and then get dressed in the changing room. I wouldn't go again or recommend it.

Date of experience: February 2021
Thank V4536GAkaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing U, General Manager at Onsen Hot Pools Retreat & Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2021

Hi V4536GAkaren,

Thank you for taking the time to review us,

Sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your recent visit,

To ensure all our guests have the same experience we time each pool individually, your time starts from when you are taking down to your pool room. If you arrive early and your pool is ready, you will be shown to your room and your hour will start, sorry if this was not communicated clearly to you during your visit.

Our 10 minute announcement is to make you aware that your time to coming to an end, you can then decide if you would like to shower in the pool room itself before you time is up or use the shower and changing facilities in the corridor once your session is over.

As explained by our guest service representative on your way to the pool room, we have two sets of changing rooms, one is for communal changing and the other with showers and changing facilities that guests can use before and after their session. Again we can only apologise if this was not clearly communicated, we will make sure we raise it at our next staff meeting.

We are glad to hear your enjoyed your soak and our amazing views,

Thank you for visiting,

Sincerely,

The Onsen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2021

The views were my favourite part. The whole experience was great, all you needed wasyour swimming costume. It was nice to have the shuttle from town.

Date of experience: March 2021
Thank Newvenue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing U, General Manager at Onsen Hot Pools Retreat & Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2021

Hi Newvenue,

We consider ourselves very lucky to work here amongst that beautiful outlook every day.

The relaxation and pampering on offer here is second to none in the region and we are delighted that you enjoyed your experience.

Thank you for your review,

Sincerely,

The Onsen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2021 via mobile

We had the best time at the Onsen spa. It’s such a serene beautiful place. We loved every minute of I

Date of experience: March 2021
Thank TravelPreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing U, General Manager at Onsen Hot Pools Retreat & Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2021

Hi TravelPreet,

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed every minute of your experience,

Thank you so much for supporting Onsen,

We hope to see you again soon,

Sincerely,

The Onsen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2021 via mobile

My husband and I loved our Onsen Original experience!! The pools were so relaxing and the view was stunning. We can't wait to return in winter when the mountains are covered in snow. Thanks so much for such an amazing experience!!

Thank paziamoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing U, General Manager at Onsen Hot Pools Retreat & Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2021

Hi paziamoore,

Thank you so much for visiting,

We look forward to seeing you in Winter,

Sincerely,

The Onsen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews