We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Bucket list experience!

We recently had THE BEST experience on the nighttime kiwi spotting tour! This was a bucket list... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Nz_shez
,
Auckland, New Zealand
Kiwis on tour

WOW! Im still buzzing from an incredible time kiwi spotting. Our group headed off on the 1.5 hr... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Dreamfuladventurer
Read all 103 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Stewart Island
from US$36.49
More Info
from US$148.20
More Info
from US$73.73
More Info
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveller rating
97
1
2
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
97
1
2
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kiwi spotting guided walk personal tour ulva island small group red light don t hesitate an unforgettable experience real privilege night tour baby kiwi new zealand knowledgeable guide great tour knew his stuff bird life beautiful scenery
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 103 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2021 via mobile

Popped in to the gift shop

You have some nice stuff in the shop but wow it’s priced high. Even then we contemplated buying a couple of things until you told us that you were going to add 3% more on to the price for paying with Visa.

We ended up buying nothing

Date of experience: March 2021
Thank nostrebor_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela K, Front Office Manager at Beaks and Feathers, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2021

Hi there,

All of our items in our gift shop are sourced by New Zealand artists. We are very passionate about supporting local artists and other small businesses. Most of the pieces/products are unquie and hand-made. Many of the artists themselves price the items and for some things we barely make profit on.

Unfortunately, being a small business, the banks add a 3% surcharge to our Eftpos machine (for credit card purchases only), that is something we can not help, sorry. And just to clarify, if you pay with a debit card, or use a Savings/Chq account, the surrchange will not be applied.

Thanks, Bec

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2021

21/3/2021
My friends and I were booked on this tour, we felt it was poorly organised, not informative, was definitely not suitable for people with any type of walking disability three of our group had to return to the van as They found it too difficult on the uneven terrain. The tour guide did not check if we are all back if we were all safe. The information given was sparse we were given a red light torch between two
The guy did not check at any time that we were all still behind him he just walked on in front flip his light on the low when he spotted a Kiwi. Three of our group decided not to follow them down the runway and head back to the van which had been moved and wasn’t quite in the place where we had expected it to be, but then again the tour guide did not know we were not with him he never even asked or cheat when we left. Having been on many similar tours to this we were underwhelmed and would not recommend this tour to others

Date of experience: March 2021
Thank noelenet2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela K, Owner at Beaks and Feathers, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2021

Good morning,
I’m sorry to hear about your disappointment with our tour. As the other guide on the tour that evening, I would be more than happy to address the concerns you mentioned.

When we book guests on our tours, we make sure to let people know that they are in for a 1.5 hour guided walking tour. The only uneven terrain is on the grass, but anyone is allowed to walk alongside us on the tarmac if they prefer to have more even footing. We were not told about any walking disabilities that your group may have had, but I personally make sure to let people know that they are free to walk at their own pace. Sometimes this separates them from the rest of the group, but the area we walk in is small enough that it’s almost impossible to get lost.

At the beginning of the tour we mention quite clearly that we only hand out one torch per two people so as not to overwhelm the kiwi birds, who are quite sensitive to light. This is also why your tour guide turned his lights on low when he found the bird.
Additionally, we give you more than a few facts about the birds before we go on the tour so that we can keep our voices low when we do find the birds. This helps ensure that they do not run off.

Lastly, I can assure you that no one moved the vans. We leave them right where we park them every single night so that if anyone wants to go back they can feel comfortable doing so. It would not have been possible for either myself or the other guide to move the van as we were quite busy finding kiwi birds and answering questions for the other guests. It is my understanding that the other guide not only did check in on you, but he offered you a ride back to your accommodation in the middle of the tour.

We have received nothing but positive feedback from the other guests on the tour. I do apologise that you found your experience to be unsatisfactory, despite the several kiwi we managed to find that evening.

Best wishes,
Mel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2021

Fabulous experience. Didn't have too go far so only about 90 minutes all-up, but that was plenty of time for excellent kiwi viewings in their natural environment. Knowledgable friendly guides.

Date of experience: March 2021
Thank 964francess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela K, Front Office Manager at Beaks and Feathers, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2021

Hi Francess,

Thank you so much for your review :)

It is always so special to see wild kiwi, and we are glad you got to experience this with our very passionate and knowledgeable guides.

Thanks again - Kind Regards,
Bec

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2021 via mobile

Wow what an amazing experience. We came to Stewart Island for 21 hours for the sole purpose of seeing a kiwi. Matt was our guide for the evening. A great introduction without boring us to death. Then we were off and a way.
We wandered around on a beautiful evening and eventually we did come across a kiwi right outside our van on our way home, after admitting defeat!
I was ecstatic, there she was the beautiful wee bird. We watched for what seemed like ages. Matt was so mindful of our experience and wanted us to see her go about her business even though it was 1am!!!!
Matt even dropped everyone home afterwards! How’s that for service.
I would highly recommend Beaks and Feathers.

Date of experience: March 2021
Thank wendyoleary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela K, Front Office Manager at Beaks and Feathers, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2021

Hi Wendy,

Thank you so much for you review. As a small business, we really appreciate it :)

Some nights can be harder than others when it comes to finding wild kiwi, but our guides are very passionate and are always wanting a great experience for our customers.

I am glad you got to finally experience seeing Kiwi in the wild with our awesome guide Matt.

Thanks so much for recommending us. All the best.

Kind Regards,
Bec

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2021

I was fortunate to go on a nighttime kiwi spotting tour with Beaks & Feathers because not only did we see 2 adult kiwi, but we also saw a chick! The adults were mostly oblivious to us, busily tapping the ground with their long beaks trying to locate their dinner by vibration. The chick was less than 2 months old and not yet accustomed to humans, so it raced around in zigzags trying to escape the torch light. It was so super cute! We also heard the piercing call of a kiwi in the forest. The kiwi like to sleep in forest at the top of hills during the day and eat on grassy areas at night, so Beaks & Feathers have a great success rate spotting kiwi because they have access to the hilltop airstrip. Our guides Ollie and Mike were very informative and excellent at spotting kiwi from a distance - we’d only been at the airstrip about a minute when we found our first one. As an added bonus we had a tremendous view of the night sky - Stewart Island is a Dark Sky Sanctuary and the stars looked spectacular late at night from the airstrip.

Date of experience: February 2021
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela K, Front Office Manager at Beaks and Feathers, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2021

Hi Julie,

Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad you had a nice time with our awesome guides Ollie & Mike.

It is very special that you got to see a chick. And like you said, they can be quite unaccustomed to the red-light torches, which is why we try to be quiet and as still as possible around them, while also giving them a great amount of space.

Our guides are very passinate and respectful towards the Kiwi, and have done it enough times now to spot them easily from a distance :)

Thanks again for your great review. As a small business, we really appreciate it.

Kind Regards,
Bec

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews