We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Knobs Flat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Te Anau
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Knobs Flat
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
121 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

We thought this was a compromise place when we couldn't get into Milford but on reflection think it was a much better location as we didn't have the hassle of the tunnel when we wanted to get to hike points. The place is clean & well equipped & the staff are very helpful

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cabra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    30
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
25
80
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
montauk
Level Contributor
79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

While it may be perfect for some - the allegedly beautifully renovated rooms at Knob's Flat were disappointing to us. While the view to the mountains just outside of the window is terrific and the scenery is lovely - and the kitchen is totally serviceable - the rooms aren't uber comfortable - a small table with two small chairs - no couch to sit on when we wanted to read our books, sheets and comforters that looked like they came from a preteen's department at sears... and yes the sandflies are epic. The owner was kind, welcoming and helpful (ish) but we couldn't wait to leave. We bought food in TeAnu (great supermarket) but not being able to sit outdoors because of sandflies was upsetting.

Room Tip: We were in room 5 which if you're traveling with a kid is probably great - as a couple with no k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MontaukTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

We had a large unit probably intended for a family and it suited us perfectly. We bought a few days' worth of supplies near Queenstown and cooked all our own meals. The location is great as it cuts out a lot of the trip from Te Anau to Milford Sound. Maddie gave us helpful advice about Milford Sound cruises (go in the morning and try to get on a small boat), which worked out perfectly for us, as well as tips about good walks in the surrounding area.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrugalTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

This was a great location to break up a long drive to Milford Sounds. If you are an outdoorsy, camping type of person, you will love this accommodation. It has about eight cabins overlooking the mountains. It is very quiet, there was only one other person staying there the night we arrived. It is very simple, though. In no way can this be accurately described as luxurious. Our kids slept on a futon next to our bed. The room itself is extremely small and packs in a kitchen, table, futon, queen bed, two closets. It is not ideal for families unless you bought more than one room.
I personally am not a cabin-y type of person and wasn't thrilled with this place but my husband is and he loved it here. I would say that it was a great way to break up the drive out to Milford Sounds. We arrived late in the afternoon and the owner gave us a great hike to a nearby waterfall that was the perfect length (and difficulty) for our children. Make sure you stop by a grocery store before you go, there is nothing (and I mean nothing) nearby.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kfheller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

After reading all the raving reviews of Knob's Flat on Tripadvisor, we decided to book two nights there. Perhaps because the reviews were so positive complete with adjectives like "luxurious", "brilliant" and reviewers saying they "can't wait to go back", we had really high expectations for Knob's Flat and they weren't exactly met.

Knob's Flat boasts a great location if you're wanting to visit Milford Sound. PC, the owner, was also super helpful when it came to recommending hikes for the day. Our room was clean, and also had two chairs on our private balcony so you can sip your morning coffee on the porch while admiring the view.

However, the studio unit we stayed in offered just basic accommodation and facilities. The room had a smell of oldness to it which we both noticed right away. And we definitely would not describe it as luxurious. One cold water tap and one hot water tap shared one sink in the washroom, so you'd get either cold water or hot - not warm. The website said there was a coffee plunger, but there were no coffee grinds supplied - just instant coffee packs. The website states clearly that Knob's Flat is 64km away from Te Anau, so you really need to be prepared to either stock up on groceries at Te Anau or be prepared to drive all the way to Te Anau (a 2-hour drive) to have dinner, and then drive 45 minutes back to Knob's Flat. If we could go back in time, we would've stayed at Knob's Flat for one night, and the second night in Te Anau.

Also we stayed at a hotel in Christchurch for the same price, which had all new facilities including towel warmer, nice complimentary toiletries, new cooking facilities, hot chocolate packets (on top of tea and coffee grinds) and balcony, so not sure if Knob's Flat is exactly value for money. To be fair though, we stayed at nicer and pricier places throughout our two-week trip. Perhaps if we were staying at hostels or campervans, we would've found Knob's Flat luxurious and brilliant.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank millie_expat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
55.1 km away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
54.7 km away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
54.6 km away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
54.3 km away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
54.5 km away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#6 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
54.3 km away
Te Anau Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knobs Flat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knobs Flat

Property: Knobs Flat
Address: SH 94 Te Anau Milford Highway | Te Anau, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Te Anau
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Knobs Flat Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing