We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Book now, pay at stay
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lakefront Lodge(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$101
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$106
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arran Motel(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$68
US$61
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$141
US$137
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Explorer Motel Te Anau(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 24/07
US$68
US$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$75/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

ASURE Amber Court Motel(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$38
US$33
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Te Anau Top 10 Holiday Park(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$201
US$47
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aden Motel(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$75
US$65
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (242)
Filter reviews
242 results
Traveller rating
85
119
32
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
85
119
32
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe kitchendrying roombean bagsgreat selection of dvdsthe main areassingle rooms aremilford soundfree herbscommunal areascosy loungebed dormbus stopbook toursreal journeys officelight sleeperfree wifireception staff are
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 242 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2018 via mobile

There is a minimum standard with this chain of hostels, which is good. Others in the chain manage to provide excellent service. This one falls a little short.

They have lots of positives: clean; close to town centre; well equipped kitchen etc etc.

The few negatives are: single rooms are a little small; no en-suit; not enough showers or toilets and wi-fi weak in bedrooms.

This is still a lot better than any other hostel in the area.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Te Anau, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Kia Ora Paul, It sounds like you have experienced quite a few YHAs in your travels around New Zealand! I am sorry to hear you thought the room was too small and although we do not have any Single Ensuite rooms we do have Double Ensuite rooms available, however it is highly recommended to book these in advance. Our free WiFi will work best in the communal areas of the hostel. We love living right in the centre of Te Anau, just a short walk to all of the cafes, restaurants, supermarkets and beautiful lake front. Kind Regards, Joel Ali, Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2018

New Zealand has some great hostels, and this one is among them. The place was clean, has a nice kitchen and comfortable common areas, and the room was comfortable. If you are sensitive to light, wear an eye mask to bed. Any time someone entered the hall the light shone under the door.

The kitchen is well equipped and is large enough to handle a small horde of tourists. There are also nearby options for dining out that we enjoyed.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Trevor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Te Anau, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2018

Kia Ora Trevor,

Thank you for the exceptional review!

We work hard to keep all communal areas clean and tidy, so thank you for noticing :) We love being located just a short walk to all of Te Anau’s restaurants, cafes, supermarkets and the beautiful lake front.

Kind Regards, Joel Ali, Assistant Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018

Descent YHA with good kitchen and bathroom facilities. There are washing machines that you can use, and also a drying room. We stayed here only one night when it was very hot. It would be nice if the rooms had fans!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank beckatej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Te Anau, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2018

Kia Ora,

It sounds like you made great use of all our facilities! Unfortunately the whole of New Zealand was experiencing an unusually hot summer and we were unprepared, but something will be done so we are ready for another heat wave in the future.

Kind Regards, Joel Ali, Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2018

I was really impressed with my stay here. The dorm rooms were of a decent size, they had huge lockers you could store your backpack in, the communal dining area was large with plenty of cooking and seating space. I loved the cinema room, the only hostel I've stayed in that had one so a few of us spent the evening watching Lord of the Rings (of course!)

It was in a great location, just a short stroll to the town and the lake.

There were just a couple of things that would have made it better- each locker comes with a plug socket which is great, but when you are using a plug adaptor it doesn't actually fit as the shelf above the socket blocks the adaptor so I couldn't use it. This was also the only YHA I stayed in where the door didn't lock behind you as you left the room which meant most of the time it was unlocked. It felt safe enough but would have preferred a locked door.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rachael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Te Anau, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2018

Kia Ora Rachael, thank you for the awesome review!

The Lord of the Rings films are probably the most popular DVDs at our hostel, and our comfy TV lounge is a great place to watch them. Watch out for the scenes filmed right here in our beautiful Fiordland!

I'm sorry to hear your adaptor didn't fit the plug in the lockers. Clearly they did not think about this when designing these :) . And although not all our doors are self-locking, they can still be locked by simply turning the knob on the inside of the door to ensure the safety of all our guests.

I hope you enjoy the rest of your travels.

Kind regards, Esther, Hostel Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2018

My wife and I stayed in a double ensuite. The room and bathroom were nice and clean. The location of the hostel is perfect, you can walk everywhere. The only complaint we had is the walls were pretty thin, we could hear everything in the room next to us. Otherwise we had a good stay and the staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Robert912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Te Anau, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2018

Hi Robert,

It is great to hear everything else was good for you. We have to agree with you, we love our location too :) just a stones throw away from all of Te Anau's shops, restaurants, supermarkets and beautiful lakefront.

I am sorry to hear that your neighbors were too loud, we do ask guests to keep the noise down after 10pm.

Kind Regards, Joel Ali, Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews