We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great modern, clean suites”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Radfords on the Lake
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2017

We had one suite and one studio for our overnight stay in Te Anau. Both rooms were bright, clean, modern, warm and very comfortable - what more could you want? The welcome was friendly and helpful and the rooms were ready for us on arrival. Parking is out the front of the motel and you are right on the lakeside. Breakfast is fruit, cereal, yogurt, eggs and bread for toast supplied in your room. Plentiful and tasty. Really pleased we chose this motel - not the cheapest in the area but certainly one of the very nicest.

Room Tip: I think most rooms have a lake view, but check.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank quin-i-bog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Hi quin-I-bog,

Thank you for your lovely feedback, we are always pleased to hear how our guests have enjoyed their stay. We take great pride in presenting our complex to a high standard and ensuring our guests feel welcome and comfortable.

We hope you have had a memorable trip around NZ.

Kind regards,
Kerri & Steve James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (626)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

22 - 26 of 626 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed three nights and it was lovely. The room had a king and twin bed room plus a fully equipped kitchen/living room! Te Anau is a perfect launch spot for seeing Milford Sound and Doubtful Sound. We walked downtown easily. The owners are onsite and very helpful with planning your visit. Do not hesitate to ask for their insight on your time in Te Anau! We will be back!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank kidsalongtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Hi kidsalongtraveler,

Thank you for your very valued feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and our location close to the town centre. We are always very happy to share our knowledge to ensure our guests make the most of their time here.

We hope the remainder of your trip went well and hope to welcome you back one day.
Kind regards,
Kerri & Steve James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017 via mobile

Everything was clean, new and worked well. The lady at reception is very knowledgable about sights, restaurants and tips for Te Anau.



We had a top floor unit but all the units have a great view of the lake.

We really enjoyed our stay and we'd love to come back :)

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Muffin1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Thank you for your review.
We do love hearing back from our guests and are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.
Wishing you safe & happy travelling!
Kerri & Steve James
Radfords on the Lake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017 via mobile

Bed was so good I loved the heating and really friendly venue ! Massive king bed was so soft which I loved !! Room was very modern and I'm sure through the daylight has an amazing view of the lake!!!! Unfortunately due to commitments we got their late and left early so didn't get to enjoy the lake as much as I would have liked to !!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Hello there Robert,
It is a shame that you did not get to spend more daylight hours with us - the views of the Mountains and Lake Te Anau are wonderful!
Great to hear that our beds were comfortable though and that your short time with us was enjoyable.
We hope that the rest of your holiday went smoothly and that we might see you again some day!
Best Regards
Kerri & Steve James
Radfords on the Lake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017

I stayed here with a group of friends and did a trip to Milford Sound for the day. The accommodations were very nice. Rooms are clean and modern and nicely furnished, including teas and coffees and such. Rooms are very pleasant. Staff was quite helpful with booking tours, restaurant recommendations, etc. Enjoyed the stay. Even though it was cold and rainy.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kathryn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radfords56, Manager at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2017

Thanks Kathryn
It is great to get positive feedback. Our staff take great pride in there work!
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor

Kind regards
Kerri & Steve James
Radfords on the Lake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.8 km away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.2 km away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.1 km away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#2 of 22 in Te Anau
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#9 of 22 in Te Anau
513 reviews
0.4 km away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.2 km away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radfords on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radfords on the Lake

Address: 56 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand (Formerly Radfords Lakeview Motel)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#1 Business Hotel in Te Anau
#1 Family Hotel in Te Anau
#1 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range: $224 - $562 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Radfords on the Lake 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in style at Radfords on the Lake. Our well equipped units have a warm and luxurious feel. With attention to detail and complete commitment to your stay, our service is sure to make you feel welcome. Lake and mountain views from every suite and conveniently located close to the town centre. Look out for those little extras like candles, flowers, 50+ channel SKY TV and a great selection of DVDs for guests enjoyment. With guest laundry, continental breakfasts, kitchenette, off road parking, free wireless internet for use in your room, our aim is to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Winners of the NZ AA Supreme host of the year award 2013 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radfords on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radfords Lakeview Hotel Te Anau
Radfords Lakeview Te Anau
Radfords On The Lake Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing