We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Book now, pay at stay
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lakefront Lodge(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$101
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$141
US$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$108
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arran Motel(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$68
US$61
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Explorer Motel Te Anau(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 24/07
US$68
US$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$75/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$38
US$33
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Te Anau Top 10 Holiday Park(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$201
US$47
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aden Motel(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$75
US$65
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ASURE Amber Court Motel(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$75
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (197)
Filter reviews
197 results
Traveller rating
139
41
13
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
139
41
13
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbedroom cottagefiordland toursmilford sound tourawesome stayaffordable accommodationthe kitchensmaller boatphoto stopsgreat informationhome away from homewashing machinelast minute bookingelectric blanketsmitre peakgreat heatingfree wifinew zealand
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 197 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2018

Cottage was an older building but clean, well-equipped and centrally located - easy walking distance to shops, restaurants, lake etc. It had everything we needed. We had a fun day tour with Ray to Milford Sound via their tour company (discounted for guests at the cottages) who is extremely knowledgeable and who accommodated us with a couple of requests. Thanks for a very nice and welcoming visit.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank Kevyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiordlandtours, Manager at Birchwood Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2018



Thank you for your glowing review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, and the amenities we supply in our cottages and had a wonderful day out on our discounted tour for our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards Dee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018

Really friendly welcome from Dee the Manageress. Our cabin was spacious and had everything we needed for our 3 night stay. The cabin was within a short flat walking distance to Te Anua town centre with its shops and restaurants.
Good free wifi.
An added bonus was that the owners also operated one of a number of the trips to Milford Sound (Fiordland) and gives a discount to guests. The lady in the tourist office was pointing us towards one of the competitors but Ray (the owner) took time to explain his tour and while it was a little more expensive we opted for it and didn’t regret it.
We had a truly memorable trip on one of their comfortable 17 seater buses about which I’ve also submitted a review.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank anturiaethwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birchTeAnau, Manager at Birchwood Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Thank you for your glowing review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, and the amenities we supply in our cottages and had a wonderful day out on our discounted tour for our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards Dee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018

Great roomy 3 bedroom house with comfortable beds and lounge, all the facilities we needed and space for the kids to play outside. We appreciated the 1L of milk in the fridge. It was a little out of the way but we had a vehicle so there was no issue.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiordlandtours, Manager at Birchwood Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2018

Thank you for your glowing review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, and the amenities we supply in our cottages. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Regards Dee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

We stayed in both the one bedroom cottage and the 3 bedroom cottage. The one bedroom is excellent and new. The 3 room cottage is aged and so were the furnishings. One problem was the cottage can sleep 8 but with only one bathroom. The shower pressure was very low so if you have many ladies with long hair, you need to schedule your shower times. Beds are soft. Fortunately we were just 5 so we didnt need to share beds.

All in the 3 bedded cottage was very good value for money despite shortcomings. Great for families but if you're looking for view, this is not the location.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank ChinNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birchTeAnau, Owner at Birchwood Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Thank you for your review of our accommodation in Te Anau and the time spent to write it.
The three bedroom cabin that you stayed in is advertised as one bathroom, but the two toilets would have surely been a bonus for you. We apologize for the poor shower pressure and can assure future guests that the problem has been rectified. We do have some units with the same comfort and age as the one bedroom place but you chose to save some money and stay in the place you referred to as aged. I invite readers of this review to have a look at the "Awesome Location" review on the 16th March as it was the same place as the one you have given us a 3 star rating for.

Regards Ray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2017

We stayed 3 nights in a one bedroom cottage which was spotlessly clean and well appointed. The bed was very comfortable and we all the facilities we required. The staff were exceptionally helpful and were quick to respond to any minor problems we had. The cottage was situated close to the Milford Sound road but the traffic is almost non-existent during the night so were weren’t bothered with traffic noise.
The location was close to town giving easy access to shops and cafes within 5 minutes walking. distance.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dadder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiordlandtours, Owner at Birchwood Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2017

Thank you for your wonderful review of our accommodation.
The population here is just 2000 so all roads are quiet at night, and we are pleased you experienced that as well
Hope you enjoyed your holiday here in NZ and can return one day and stay with us again

Cheers Ray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews