We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Armidale Motel(Armidale)(Great Value!)
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
US$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Deer Park Motor Inn Armidale(Armidale)(Great Value!)
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Moore Park Inn(Armidale)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveller rating
9
20
10
13
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
9
20
10
13
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvan parkclean cabinspa bathelectric blanketson arrivallong driveair confree wifisuesightseelaundrycottagekitchenette
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 58 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2018

From 13 May to 17 May 2018 my wife and I stayed in cabin 6, a Standard cabin at BIG4 Armidale Highlander Van Village. On entering the cabin we noted the overall appearance was one of poor maintenance and of old facilities. Cupboards were damaged and marked as was the floor. The walls and floors appeared to have not been cleaned properly for some time. When we booked the web site stated it was a two bedroom cabin but there was no floor plan available to confirm this. The main bed was in the kitchen area and the three bunks shared the same area as the hand basin. In addition, the following items claimed on their web site at that time to be provided were missing: an oven, ceiling fan, lounge and clock radio. The air-conditioner was old and noisy and had no variable fan speed control. The bed was on rollers and moved when we were sitting up reading. There was no key to the security screen door. (We note now that the web site description of the Standard Cabin has been updated but it still claims a lounge and ceiling fan are provided.)
When the above matters were raised with the male manager and female receptionist their attitude was to “lump it or piss off” (my words based on their almost belligerent attitude). They were not interested in resolving the issues raised. They did offer a feedback sheet but these are a waste of time when handled by the facility the complaint is about so we declined opting to refer the matter to Big 4 and Trip Advisor.
Shortly after, the female manager approached us and listened to our complaint and confirmed the items missing but was unaware that the web site stated they were provided. She also advised that the park was full and no other cabins were available. She did offer a full refund if we wished to leave but we explained that we were there with 33 friends of our Probus group. So we opted to stay.
The overall condition of the park is poor with roadways broken up and little effort to maintain grass and plants. With the current poor state of the park and with the village being constructed behind the park (we understand by the park owners) a reasonable question is, does the owner have a long term plan to close the park?

Room Tip: To get a good cabin go elsewhere
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2018

Most country based Big 4 parks are nothing like the resort-style that are seen on the coastal region so I think it is unfair to try to compare them. However we have found country Big 4s are usually clean, comfortable and well run. This park appears to be just ok. We stayed in a cabin so I can't comment on the camping amenities, but the sites were tidy and well set out. Unfortunately though we stayed in a designated disability cabin and it was far from adequate and I doubt it would really pass as a real disability cabin. It had a ramp (instead of stairs) and the shower was not over the bath BUT there are no railings next to the shower or near the toilet. The toilet (although high) was not anchored to the floor and "rocked" when in use. The water pooled all over the floor and flooded before it finally drained. This has obviously been a problem for sometime as there was mildew on the door and mould on the tiles and grime around the base of the toilet. Before we left we spoke with the manager who said he was unaware of the problems and would look into getting a plumber coming out to have a look. It was disappointing as we had particularly asked for this cabin, so my advice to anyone looking to travel with a family member requiring a disabled bathroom it so to ring and ask if the cabin is suitable for your needs.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bristravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2018 via mobile

Stopped in a cabin for an overnighter. Cabin very dated but sufficient for our needs. Chairs in the cabin were stained and last guest didn’t clean the cutlery properly. It all felt grubby. They had removed curtain room separators but left the sashes that used to tie them back. Very lazy attitude in my opinion. The shower had old stickers on the base. The light on the range hood didn’t work. Clearly Big 4 don’t care who they use anymore. I wouldn’t have thought this was big 4 standard. They advertise free WiFi but good luck to you if you get it. Frustratingly we didn’t have any. Our cabin was apparently right next to the hotspot so they didn’t understand why we had issues and this was the only answer given. To open Facebook we had leave the cabin and walk over to the barby area. Not something you want to do on a cold night. This is always a deal breaker for us as we are always researching our next destination. This was the worst WiFi we had in one and a half months of travel. We are fed up with being fed lies that accommodation has WiFi when its rubbish.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Mezdavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018

Booked in for 2 nights but left after one night. The amenities block was dirty with dead insects, spiders webs and bird droppings in the showers and on the vanity basin area. The caravan sites were large but our site had lots of ants. Overall the condition of the park could be described as run down.

Not the standard we have come to expect from Big4 parks.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
Thank Allan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Very disappointed in this Big 4. Poor camp kitchen. Games room consisted of a pool table with no net to catch the ball. Cobwebs in the toilets. Pool was green. Park is very tired and obviously so are staff. In need of refurbishment-looks like half the park has been allocated as over 50’s lifestyle village.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Zoe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark R, Owner at BIG4 Armidale Highland Van Village, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Hello Zoe
Thank you for your review . Although our park is not a resort park we do keep it clean tidy and comfortable for our guests. I have spoken to our managers who had relieving staff in and they had let the pool chlorine get a little low, did your children still enjoy their swim? The pool table and table tennis table had been all checked and nets renewed the week before, they will go through the amenities again and rectify any cobwebs.
Our over 50's lifestyle development is an addition to the park having purchased the land next door, it is fenced off and will not affect the function of the caravan park.
You are welcome anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews