We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Newcastle Backpackers
Reviewed 6 April 2016

i found this place to bed one of the best places i have stayed yet, can't express how wonderful the staff and the grounds are, Stephen the manager was amazing with the night tours around newcastle and taking us all shopping when it was raining so we didn't get wet, the atmosphere was just great...a big thanks to you for making the last of my trip the most memorable..will be back for shore

Room Tip: the main rooms at the front of the houses are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stuart942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2016 via mobile

Booked a double room here, on arrival we were told there wasn't one available so we could either leave or take the 4 bed shared dorm, everywhere else in Newcastle was fully booked as it was surf fest so we had no choice but to stay! Didn't get to have a proper view of the room until night time as we didn't want to wake the guy sleeping in the corner. When we came back we entered the room to find out the light did not work, when we asked staff we were told to ask Stephen but not to wake him as he gets angry! Staff seemed scared of him. We were tired and decided to just sleep in the dirty dark room but when we got into bed and turned our touches on we realised the walls had great big holes in with cobwebs everywhere and the sheets absolutely stunk! We ended up leaving and was told refund was available as we weren't allowed to wake Stephen yet again. Avoid at all costs! Absolutely disgusting!

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ross9108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2015 via mobile

We stayed in Newcastle as a stop off, ahead of Sydney to break up the journey. Upon check in, there was an issue with our payment (which we had paid) however this was down to hostelworld I believe, rather than the hostel itself. Whilst checking in, the guy dealing with us started a discussion with his colleague regarding what they were having for dinner that evening, and other subsequent plans. We had just driven for around seven hours plus, and wanted to our room and found this very frustrating and extremely rude. I didn't find the toilet and shower facilities to be the cleanest, and would have to say it was my worst hostel experience during my time in Australia.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Craig A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2015 via mobile

This is the first backpackers my friend and I have stayed at. Everyone was super friendly and the staff are amazing. Its in a good loccation and have a beautiful outside area with a pool and hammocks. If im in the area again ill definitely return. Its a really fun place to stay.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
2  Thank Abbey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2015 via mobile

We had a room with 4 beds. It's quiet big and got everything you need. A nice living room with a kitchen.. Enough space for everyones food.. A supermarket is near the hostel. Some pubs are around. There is a nice walking area along the coast with a great view.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank PhilippOrdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
3.2 km away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
1.6 km away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 24 in Newcastle
395 reviews
2.9 km away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 24 in Newcastle
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
The Premier Hotel
The Premier Hotel
#16 of 24 in Newcastle
45 reviews
1.1 km away
Quest Newcastle Apartments
Quest Newcastle Apartments
#5 of 24 in Newcastle
271 reviews
2.9 km away
Newcastle Beach YHA
Newcastle Beach YHA
#3 of 28 in Newcastle
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newcastle Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newcastle Backpackers

Address: 42 Denison St, Newcastle, New South Wales 2303, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Newcastle
Price Range: $35 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Newcastle Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Newcastle Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newcastle Backpackers Hotel Newcastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing