We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy going and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Newcastle Backpackers
Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

These guys were great! Friendly, helpful and really easy to talk to. Appreciated the advice on what and where to go for my first night in Newcastle. Kitchen was good, room's have fan's but no aircon. While quite when I was there the people were friendly as well

Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
Thank Theo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2016 via mobile

came to Newcastle to watch wellington Phoenix play Newcastle jets at the stadium (football). stayed here on recommendation of friends and family who have stayed here.
the pool is definitely a bonus when weather was like today.

will come back next time I am in Newcastle

Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
Thank Sy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2016

It suited my needs perfectly, as it gave me a quiet comfortable dorm bed and access to a well organised kitchen and sometimes access to a bicycle. The hostel consists of a newish purpose built communal area, with kitchen, pool, hammock space, bbq area etc at the back of two older houses which contain the dorms/bathrooms etc. The hostel is well staffed, with plenty of attention to cleaning, making sure the kitchen works (labelled stuff in fridge and shelves and ensuring washing up gets done) and responding to anti-social behaviour.
The houses particularly could do with some more skilled maintenance than they get, things look superficially a bit run down, but the beds in my dorm were new with good firm mattresses, and I didn't sneeze at all, even though I am very sensitive to dust.
There are some friendly helpful longer term residents who are staying while they work, along with the usual stream of short stay backpackers, lots of Germans while I was there.
I stayed for six nights to be in Newcastle for an event that stretched over three days so I had plenty of opportunity to explore the area. It is located on the boundary between a residential area, and a dreary commercial zone of car sales yards and similar. A 24 hour supermarket (Coles at least, and possibly the Woolworths is as well) is about half a km away, and there is that arrangement where all bus trips to and from downtown are free before 6pm.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2016

I visited on the weekend, for a conference. My initial impression was that the facilities were a bit run down, but I was blown over by the friendly people that I met while staying there. The location was convenient, being walking distance from Beaumont street too. I have to mention James, one of the long-term residents especially, who struck up a conversation with me and made sure that I felt at home. He invited me to join them for drinks and made me a part of their conversation. Thank you to Dave and also Matt at reception.

Room Tip: Nearest to the reception had quieter rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tjaart V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2016

Picked up from station ,awesome start. Clean facilities. Great showers Staff friendly. 24 hour supermarket near bye. Coastal walk with beautiful beaches Merewether ocean baths the best and the largest pool in oz. Free public transport up and down the Main Street.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reeoo57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
2.9 km away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#3 of 24 in Newcastle
885 reviews
1.1 km away
Quest Newcastle Apartments
Quest Newcastle Apartments
#6 of 24 in Newcastle
286 reviews
1.6 km away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#4 of 24 in Newcastle
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Ibis Newcastle
Ibis Newcastle
#12 of 24 in Newcastle
716 reviews
0.9 km away
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
#14 of 24 in Newcastle
1,620 reviews
3.2 km away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newcastle Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newcastle Backpackers

Address: 42 Denison St, Newcastle, New South Wales 2303, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Newcastle
Price Range: $36 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Newcastle Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Newcastle Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newcastle Backpackers Hotel Newcastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing