We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Newcastle Backpackers
Reviewed 6 May 2017

We (my friend and me), stayed for one night in the backpackers.
The owner and the manager where nice and friendly. They gave us some information about the area and what we could do.
In the evening we where just hanging around in the hostel, chatted with people and played some games. Exactly what you need to do in a hostel.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuulvdOever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2017

Intended to stay only for a night but It was so easy going and nice there, that I decided to stay little bit longer. Easy to park also, right in front of the house, by the streetside. There are some simple house-rules to follow, but they are essential to keep the kitchen and lounging area clean, organised and pleasant to use for everyone. Outdoor barbecue area, Pool table, darts, swimming pool, pingpong table, surfboards, bicycles, big LCD with lot of series and movies to watch. Definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Joonas U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

These guys were great! Friendly, helpful and really easy to talk to. Appreciated the advice on what and where to go for my first night in Newcastle. Kitchen was good, room's have fan's but no aircon. While quite when I was there the people were friendly as well

Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
Thank Theo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2016 via mobile

came to Newcastle to watch wellington Phoenix play Newcastle jets at the stadium (football). stayed here on recommendation of friends and family who have stayed here.
the pool is definitely a bonus when weather was like today.

will come back next time I am in Newcastle

Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
Thank Sy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2016

It suited my needs perfectly, as it gave me a quiet comfortable dorm bed and access to a well organised kitchen and sometimes access to a bicycle. The hostel consists of a newish purpose built communal area, with kitchen, pool, hammock space, bbq area etc at the back of two older houses which contain the dorms/bathrooms etc. The hostel is well staffed, with plenty of attention to cleaning, making sure the kitchen works (labelled stuff in fridge and shelves and ensuring washing up gets done) and responding to anti-social behaviour.
The houses particularly could do with some more skilled maintenance than they get, things look superficially a bit run down, but the beds in my dorm were new with good firm mattresses, and I didn't sneeze at all, even though I am very sensitive to dust.
There are some friendly helpful longer term residents who are staying while they work, along with the usual stream of short stay backpackers, lots of Germans while I was there.
I stayed for six nights to be in Newcastle for an event that stretched over three days so I had plenty of opportunity to explore the area. It is located on the boundary between a residential area, and a dreary commercial zone of car sales yards and similar. A 24 hour supermarket (Coles at least, and possibly the Woolworths is as well) is about half a km away, and there is that arrangement where all bus trips to and from downtown are free before 6pm.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
1.1 km away
Quest Newcastle Apartments
Quest Newcastle Apartments
#6 of 25 in Newcastle
296 reviews
0.9 km away
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
#13 of 25 in Newcastle
1,640 reviews
2.9 km away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#3 of 25 in Newcastle
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
0.9 km away
Ibis Newcastle
Ibis Newcastle
#11 of 25 in Newcastle
724 reviews
1.6 km away
The Premier Hotel
The Premier Hotel
#16 of 25 in Newcastle
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newcastle Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newcastle Backpackers

Address: 42 Denison St, Newcastle, New South Wales 2303, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Newcastle
Price Range: S$34 - S$117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Newcastle Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Newcastle Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newcastle Backpackers Hotel Newcastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing