We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach(Newcastle)(Great Value!)
US$108
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Everton Apartments(Newcastle)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$77
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crown On Darby Newcastle(Newcastle)(Great Value!)
US$126
US$104
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
The Gateway Inn(Newcastle)(Great Value!)
US$155
US$150
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Merewether Motel(Newcastle)(Great Value!)
US$70
US$68
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Grand Hotel Newcastle(Newcastle)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$81
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$163
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Fitness centre
US$144
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Clarendon Hotel(Newcastle)(Great Value!)
US$103
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Junction Hotel(Newcastle)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (72)
Filter reviews
72 results
Traveller rating
36
12
4
11
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
36
12
4
11
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolping ponghour supermarketoutdoor barbecue areaanti social behaviourone nightgreat place to stayshort walkfree wifistay there againhosteldormlcdtvsurfboardaccommodation
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 72 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2017

Intended to stay only for a night but It was so easy going and nice there, that I decided to stay little bit longer. Easy to park also, right in front of the house, by the streetside. There are some simple house-rules to follow, but they are essential to keep the kitchen and lounging area clean, organised and pleasant to use for everyone. Outdoor barbecue area, Pool table, darts, swimming pool, pingpong table, surfboards, bicycles, big LCD with lot of series and movies to watch. Definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Joonas U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

These guys were great! Friendly, helpful and really easy to talk to. Appreciated the advice on what and where to go for my first night in Newcastle. Kitchen was good, room's have fan's but no aircon. While quite when I was there the people were friendly as well

Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
Thank Theo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2016 via mobile

came to Newcastle to watch wellington Phoenix play Newcastle jets at the stadium (football). stayed here on recommendation of friends and family who have stayed here.
the pool is definitely a bonus when weather was like today.

will come back next time I am in Newcastle

Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
Thank Sy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2016

It suited my needs perfectly, as it gave me a quiet comfortable dorm bed and access to a well organised kitchen and sometimes access to a bicycle. The hostel consists of a newish purpose built communal area, with kitchen, pool, hammock space, bbq area etc at the back of two older houses which contain the dorms/bathrooms etc. The hostel is well staffed, with plenty of attention to cleaning, making sure the kitchen works (labelled stuff in fridge and shelves and ensuring washing up gets done) and responding to anti-social behaviour.
The houses particularly could do with some more skilled maintenance than they get, things look superficially a bit run down, but the beds in my dorm were new with good firm mattresses, and I didn't sneeze at all, even though I am very sensitive to dust.
There are some friendly helpful longer term residents who are staying while they work, along with the usual stream of short stay backpackers, lots of Germans while I was there.
I stayed for six nights to be in Newcastle for an event that stretched over three days so I had plenty of opportunity to explore the area. It is located on the boundary between a residential area, and a dreary commercial zone of car sales yards and similar. A 24 hour supermarket (Coles at least, and possibly the Woolworths is as well) is about half a km away, and there is that arrangement where all bus trips to and from downtown are free before 6pm.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2016

I visited on the weekend, for a conference. My initial impression was that the facilities were a bit run down, but I was blown over by the friendly people that I met while staying there. The location was convenient, being walking distance from Beaumont street too. I have to mention James, one of the long-term residents especially, who struck up a conversation with me and made sure that I felt at home. He invited me to join them for drinks and made me a part of their conversation. Thank you to Dave and also Matt at reception.

Room Tip: Nearest to the reception had quieter rooms.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tjaart V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews