We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh produce”

Bills Fishhouse + Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$17
Description: A casual, modern dining space that embraces locally sourced, seasonal and sustainable ingredients to produce simple, uncomplicated food. A space that boasts a buzzing vibe. A place for a casual evening drink, a shared feast with friends or a light bite after a beach day. Aimed to bring people together over a mutual love of good food, good wine and good times.... this is BILLS Fishhouse.
Restaurant details
Description: A casual, modern dining space that embraces locally sourced, seasonal and sustainable ingredients to produce simple, uncomplicated food. A space that boasts a buzzing vibe. A place for a casual evening drink, a shared feast with friends or a light bite after a beach day. Aimed to bring people together over a mutual love of good food, good wine and good times.... this is BILLS Fishhouse.
Reviewed 29 June 2018 via mobile

Despite being a cool Friday night with not too many people around, Bills was buzzing and because I didn't have a booking I was fortunate to be allocated a spot at the bar. The staff were friendly and knowledgeable, the menu was full of locally sourced seafood and the wine list featured some excellent regional varietals. I struggled to decide but went with the Tuna Tartare for starters which was light, fresh and full of flavour, washed down with a Clonakilla Viognier (expertly recommended by my waiter) - a perfect match. I then went with the Leather Jacket in a Singapore Chilli sauce. I would have liked a livelier (or, spicier) sauce but it was delicious, and I washed it down with a Hunter Semillon.
The atmosphere was lively, in a modern, casual setting. Highly recommended.

Thank majortom961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leasa H, Owner at Bills Fishhouse + Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2018

Thank you majortom961 ! We're so pleased you enjoyed the vibe, menu and team's service. Thanks so much for the recommendation too.

Best,
Leasa, Chris and team Bills Fishhouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (351)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 41 of 351 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2018

Hip decor, staff friendly, blackboard menu creative.
Scallops were delicious, just which it could have been BYO wine.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank laurenp659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leasa H, Owner at Bills Fishhouse + Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2018

Thanks so much Laurenp659 ! We appreciate the 5 star rating and lovely comments. We hope to host you again soon.

Best,
Leasa, Chris and team Bills Fishhouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018

The staff there are well drilled, professional and yet warm. They seem happy to serve without interaction, or answer questions knowledgeably, quickly, and in a friendly way. The food was outstanding from the starter to the mains and then dessert. The wine list is suitable for the type of venue and food, though the beer list was a bit limited and needed a dark ale or a porter (or two!). My wife, the vegetarian, was very satisfied with her options with the slippery jack mushrooms in polenta so good she would not share :). I have recommended this place to visitors to the region before, and if anything it has gotten better. I should also mention they do great cocktails.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Innesfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leasa H, Owner at Bills Fishhouse + Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2018

Fantastic Innesfree ! Thanks so much for the kind review and comments.

Good news we're currently reviewing our beer selection to ensure we have more of a boutique selection to match our boutique Wine List, we really appreciate this feedback.

Thanks for the recommendation too. We're thrilled by this review.

Warmest regards,
Leasa, Chris and team Bills Fishhouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018

we recently enjoyed a lovely dinner at Bills , love the open style kitchen and we very much enjoyed our food , service was excellent ,

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 238Aussies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leasa H, Owner at Bills Fishhouse + Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2018

Great to hear 238 Aussies. Thanks for taking the time to share you lovely review.

We hope to see you again soon.

Warmest regards,
Leasa, Chris and team Bills Fishhouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018 via mobile

Had dinner here and the food was good. Unfortunately our cooked prawns were still slightly raw but these were replaced with no fuss. The dessert was delicious and the sticky wine good. Because of our raw prawn experience our dessert wine was on the house. The service was attentive and nothing too much trouble. Would eat here again

Thank Valerie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leasa H, Owner at Bills Fishhouse + Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Thank you Valerie P for your kind review. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed the team's service. We appreciate the recommendation too.

Apologies about the prawns, the dessert wine was our pleasure and we're glad you enjoyed.

We hope to welcome you back to Bills again soon.

Warmest regards,
Leasa, Chris and team Bills Fishhouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bills Fishhouse + Bar also viewed

Port Macquarie, New South Wales
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
 
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
 
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
 

Been to Bills Fishhouse + Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing