We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands(Wollongong)(Great Value!)
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$105/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Adina Apartment Hotel Wollongong(Wollongong)(Great Value!)
US$124
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Fitness centre
US$111
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$135/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Sage Hotel Wollongong(Wollongong)(Great Value!)
US$141
US$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$103/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$90
US$82
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belmore All Suite Hotel(Wollongong)(Great Value!)
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$68
US$63
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Park Motel(Wollongong)
US$109
US$83
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (278)
Filter reviews
278 results
Traveller rating
113
121
24
12
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
113
121
24
12
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf clubgolf coursewin stadiumround of golfocean viewsofa bedair conbedroom suiteguest laundrya great place to staysmall kitchenettedefinitely stay here againmini barcar parkan overnight staybeach frontrooms are spacious
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 278 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2018

We had an ocean view room and the view was great. The room itself was comfortable and roomy and had all the amenities you’d expect. On the downside the outside signage promoted the golf club which is attached but the fact that there is a hotel isn’t that clear. The staff were bemused by the fact that we were confused. Be aware that because the hotel is attached to a golf club and it also has function room that it could be potentially busy. We had to cope with 2 wedding functions and the staff appeared undermanned in the restaurant because of it. On the plus side, there are plenty of other excellent eateries nearby. The party noise abated by midnight so you won’t be kept awake all night

Room Tip: Go for the ocean view
Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Gwen U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael Z, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western City Sands, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2018

Dear Gwen,

Thank you for your review.

We have only recently had our main signage replaced. We assumed our primary sign on the Club House would have sufficed, however we realize this is not enough and will be making changes.

We apologize for any inconvenience caused.

Kind regards,

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for a 'coming to visit friends' weekend. The view from the Ocean View room was just lovely.
Had a few hiccups with the the room itself.
Thankful to Michael the Manager, who took my concerns seriously and made good on his word.
This made all of the difference to us.
Thank you again. Wollongong is just gorgeous. So many places to eat and such spectacular views.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael Z, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western City Sands, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Dear Linda,

Thank you for your positive review.

Thank you for taking the time in talking to me to resolve the few hiccups. I would like the opportunity to have you back at BW City Sands and do something special for you.

Let me know it would be a pleasure.

Kind regards,

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2018 via mobile

Possibly the best location, this beach hotel is a fantastic escape from the city grind. Extremely peaceful surrounding, the beach itself is scarcely crowded offering almost a 'Just you and beach' experience. The beach is very well maintained, the beach is not too steep at the shores, there is dog designated area, walking trail that extends up to the nearby lighthouse. The trees that dot the beach and the skyline view makes it a memorable beach. Lots of privacy for the romantics too.
The hotel has all the basic amneties, the golf course offers a breathtaking view. The rooms are large sized, the service is great, the staff is very courteous. The only challenge i had was the limited food menu in the hotel restaurant. This is a bigger challenge as there aren't too many food outlets surrounding the vicinity. This was the reason for one star less for this hotel.
Recommended to anyone who is looking for a quick, relaxing gateway around Sydney.
The road trip from Sydney is extremely gorgeous (don't take the M1 if you want to enjoy the beautiful drive to the hotel from Sydney).

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Devendra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael Z, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western City Sands, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Dear Devendra,

Thank you for your positive review and great feedback! We are currently changing the Restaurant menu to offer a greater variety of options for our guests.

Please ,look us up on your next visit to Wollongong.

Kind regards,

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for one night when visiting family in Wollongong and had an Ocean view room. Great view over the golf course to the beach and ocean and pretty close to Wollongong centre. Food options from restaurant also pretty good. Recommend if in town, particularly if you want to combine with a round or two.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael Z, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western City Sands, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Dear Simon,

Thank you for your positive review. Maybe we can set up a great deal for your to Stay and Play on your next visit.

looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Stayed for one night in a queen suite. Room was spacious and clean, 1 bedroom with a queen bed, lounge with a sofa bed, kitchenette and large bathroom. Amazing views over the golf course and ocean. Free parking and free WiFi. Front desk staff friendly and helpful. Minutes walk to the stadium and a number of restaurants and bars. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael Z, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western City Sands, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Dear Natalie,

Thank you for your positive review. We concur with your comments - thank you.

We look forward to welcoming back to Wollongong on your next visit.

Kind regards,

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews