We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (956)
Filter reviews
956 results
Traveller rating
320
369
171
59
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
320
369
171
59
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water slides across the road lifeguard on duty great location pool area great pool high rise bedroom apartment washing machine and dryer school holidays the gold coast self catering full kitchen living area park the car ocean view restaurants and cafes
Filter
Updating list...
277 - 282 of 956 reviews
Reviewed 11 December 2017 via mobile

I like this place and would return. Some comments:

Pros
- great location across the road from the beach
- walk to many restaurants and supermarkets
- great super large pool that kids love
- self catering accommodation
- quiet rooms
- good air conditioning for the summer heat
- friendly check-in staff
- includes washer / dryer in unit

Cons
- bathrooms are tired with old fittings. Our shower head leaked continuously.
- kitchen is tiny and the half sized dishwasher was frustrating to use and did not wash properly
- old tile flooring, but carpeted area has been renovated
- no free WiFi
- no food or drink service available including at the pool
- the jacuzzi gets taken over by kids...

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Jetski_Jon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCalypso, General Manager at Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Dear Jetski_Jon,

Thank you for providing a comprehensive review of your recent stay with us.

I'm pleased you enjoyed our convenient location, expansive pool facilities, private and well-appointed apartments. Thank you for your kind feedback regarding our exceptional team of staff - I will convey this to them.

It's disappointing to read about the maintenance issues you experienced during your stay. Please accept my sincerest apologies for this and do not hesitate to contact reception should you encounter any issue, large or small, throughout your stay so that we can rectify it immediately.

We are currently exploring options for the introduction of free WiFi and hope to have this implemented in the very near future. We are also looking to re-open the bar and restaurant in 2018!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017

We have stayed at Oaks Calypso a few times over the last few years and it never disappoints. The pool is great for the kids and the short walk across esplanade to the beach is so convenient. Easy & free parking for the car is also great. We had an ocean view room which had a little bit of street noise at night.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank julianb201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCalypso, General Manager at Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Dear julianb201,

Thank you for choosing to stay with Oaks Calypso Plaza again and providing your highly-valued feedback.

I appreciate your comments regarding our convenient location within the heart of Coolangatta, free car parking and fantastic pool facilities.

I hope to see you return to stay with us in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017

Coolangatta is always a great place to get away for a break. The Calypso offers a great location right in the heart of Coolangatta, with magnificent swimming pool and a three minute walk to the surf. Rooms are well appointed, clean and surprisingly quiet.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank philj288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCalypso, General Manager at Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Dear philj288,

Thank you for providing feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

I'm pleased you found your apartment to be well-appointed, clean and relaxing in addition to our excellent location and leisurely swimming facilities.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Oaks Calypso Plaza in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2017

Great location and comfortable bed and efficient and friendly staff. But it is a bit tired and the resources in the kitchen are vey basic. The bed was very comfortable and the place was quiet and close to services and restaurants.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lawrencesM1491YS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCalypso, General Manager at Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Dear lawrencesM1491YS,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at Oaks Calypso Plaza.

I'm pleased you found our conveniently located resort offered exceptional customer service and a comfortable sleep experience. It's disappointing to read of your comments regarding your allocated room being tired as we have recently refurbished our apartments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2017 via mobile

From reservation to check out, this Resort is still the best in Coolangatta. Large refirbished rooms, comfy beds, cooking, refrigeration, aircon, roomy bath & laundry combined. Located beach front in Cooly, very close to restaurants, cafes, surfclubs x 2. Across the road from twin towns club. Gorgeous walks along the promenade Sth to Rainbow or Kirra 2 the Nth. The pool is expansive with 2 slides supervised by lifeguards 10am til 3pm. Buses out front will take you anywhere on the coast. Kids will Love it!!!. Adults will love it! We were in Room 443 2 bedroom 2 story 2 balconies.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Pottsvilleprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCalypso, General Manager at Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Dear Pottsvilleprincess,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Oaks Calypso Plaza.

I was thrilled to read of your excellent experience from reservation to check-out. I appreciate your positive feedback regarding our spacious and well-appointed apartments in addition to our fantastic pool, location and local amenities.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews