We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Catholic Week”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Coolangatta
Reviewed 17 December 2017

Service was pretty good at reception. Rooms were excellent. Pool was fantastic. Location across from the beach is awesome. Location in being able to access the shops, restaurants, pub, surf clubs is outstanding. Been there the past 3 years and will definitely be going back again.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bernie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (740)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 61 of 740 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2017

Oaks Calypso is handy to all the things we need in the Coolangatta area. We can park the car in the carpark and walk to everywhere we need to go. We find it is good value for money. We can spend time around the pool or cross the road to the beach.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 339annmariel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2017

Situated in a good location but old and tired with a semi makeover. Look to close and the dirt and dust will hit you in the face. Make sure you don't have a bad back as the beds are shocking. This once beautiful property needs a little bit more of a fix up than what has been given. Unfortunately the showers are over the bath and somewhat hard to get in and out of plus they are dirty. the tiles could do with a good clean. Broken appliances in the kitchen and not all working properly.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank sallymK8642KM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2017

Stayed in 1bed unit with ocean views. Very well appointed and spacious rooms. One slight downside was the cleanliness of the rooms. Pool area is fantastic. Very close to beach, shops and numerous local restaurants.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCalypso, General Manager at Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Dear Michelle G,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at Oaks Calypso Plaza.

I'm thrilled you enjoyed your time with us in your spacious, well-appointed and clean apartment and took the opportunity to relax around our beautiful pool area.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017 via mobile

I like this place and would return. Some comments:

Pros
- great location across the road from the beach
- walk to many restaurants and supermarkets
- great super large pool that kids love
- self catering accommodation
- quiet rooms
- good air conditioning for the summer heat
- friendly check-in staff
- includes washer / dryer in unit

Cons
- bathrooms are tired with old fittings. Our shower head leaked continuously.
- kitchen is tiny and the half sized dishwasher was frustrating to use and did not wash properly
- old tile flooring, but carpeted area has been renovated
- no free WiFi
- no food or drink service available including at the pool
- the jacuzzi gets taken over by kids...


Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Jetski_Jon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCalypso, General Manager at Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Dear Jetski_Jon,

Thank you for providing a comprehensive review of your recent stay with us.

I'm pleased you enjoyed our convenient location, expansive pool facilities, private and well-appointed apartments. Thank you for your kind feedback regarding our exceptional team of staff - I will convey this to them.

It's disappointing to read about the maintenance issues you experienced during your stay. Please accept my sincerest apologies for this and do not hesitate to contact reception should you encounter any issue, large or small, throughout your stay so that we can rectify it immediately.

We are currently exploring options for the introduction of free WiFi and hope to have this implemented in the very near future. We are also looking to re-open the bar and restaurant in 2018!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coolangatta
0.1 km away
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
#5 of 12 in Coolangatta
1,271 reviews
0.5 km away
Greenmount Beach Resort
Greenmount Beach Resort
#10 of 12 in Coolangatta
145 reviews
1.3 km away
Nirvana By The Sea
Nirvana By The Sea
#3 of 12 in Coolangatta
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 km away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 7 in Broadbeach
3,348 reviews
18.6 km away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
0.2 km away
Mantra Twin Towns
Mantra Twin Towns
#2 of 12 in Coolangatta
4,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort

Address: 99 Griffith Street, Coolangatta, Gold Coast, Queensland 4225, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Coolangatta
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Coolangatta
#3 Luxury Hotel in Coolangatta
Price Range: S$170 - S$347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks Calypso Plaza is a 4.5 star resort centrally located in the heart of Coolangatta, minutes from the airport and a variety of Gold Coast attractions and is located opposite the beautiful Coolangatta Beach. The resort features one and two bedroom self-contained apartments with full kitchen and laundry facilities, most with sheltered balconies that provide ocean or hinterland views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Oaks Hotels and Resorts and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Calypso Plaza Hotel Coolangatta
Oaks Calypso Plaza Coolangatta
Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort Coolangatta, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing