We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveller rating
40
25
14
12
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
40
25
14
12
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsabsolute beachfrontoil heaterunder groundthe managersfirst floorsurf life saving clubground floor unitbbq areaoverlooking the beachliving areathe sofa bedsuperior roomopened the doortugun beachroad noisewell equipped kitchenwithin walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 95 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2016

It pains me to say this as I have stayed at San Simeon 4 times and love this place as it is one of the rare absolute beachfront places on the Coast.

Cons:
The new management have no clue !!! and seem lazy and disorganised
The prices have now become at least $200-250 over what this place should be at
The "managers" seem to work office hours
We checked in on a Saturday and had no contact for two days and no internet access.
The wi-fi is capped and the cap is a measly 1 gig for a week ... c'mon guys it's the year 2016!!!

My suggestion - wait for change in management and in the meantime look elsewhere

Views and facilities = 5 stars
Management minus 5 stars
Price = 1 star

Room Tip: look elsewhere until managers have changed
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Eric K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanSimeonApart, Manager at San Simeon, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2016

Hi Eric

Thank you for your feedback. I could not find a record of you staying prior to your visit in April so I assume it was booked under another name. I could not determine from your feedback why you have assumed we have no clue and seemed lazy and disorganised. This not a true reflection of our work ethics and we have had many guests complement us on the great job we are doing. Holiday Resorts review tariffs on a yearly basis and the tariff you paid was aligned to 2015 tariffs and you would have been advised of the tariff when booking. The Wi Fi is free and limits do apply however you have the option to purchase additional Wi Fi if needed. Your booking confirmation and reconfirmation advises the Office Hours and to contact us if you have an queries. Our apartments are self contained and our check in hours align with other resorts providing self contained apartments. There is a always a contact number on the Reception door for guests to call if they require assistance out of office hours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2016 via mobile

I just returned from a 5 day break with my husband, 3 month old son and parents and found San Simeon absolutely perfect. We usually stay in hotels so found the apartments great for a longer stay. The views are stunning and the pool is a good size. The BBQ area seems to have been renovated over the last few years, we used it multiple times.
I have previously only stayed in hotels in surfers (pre baby) and can honestly say that I will never go back to Surfers for a family holiday, Tugun has everything you need!!
If you have older kids I recommend the ground floor rooms, overall the decor definitely isn't luxury and we slept in single beds as we only booked a 2 bdr apartment and gave my parents the main room but it served it purposed really well!!
We will be back next year!

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Shell86aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanSimeonApart, Manager at San Simeon, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2016

Thanks for taking the time to review us and provide feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed stay at San Simeon and all there is on offer in this great part of the world. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2016

We have stayed at San Simeon for a number of years, only missing out last year. We were always given a great apartment, always clean, fresh, and amazing views. We were unable to travel to the area last year, and about to make reservations now to visit in April, but we are concerned to say the least about a number of negative comments, since the new management took over. Here's hoping things are looking up management wise. The previous management were great, .... a hard act to follow.

Room Tip: not a hotel but apartments run under mgmt rights.
Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
Thank Barb K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2016

5* location
Unfortunately part of the new management is terrible, the gentleman is hard working and keeps the grounds clean. However, the lady in the office is well never there. The office was closed on five occasions when we needed to speak to someone when it should have been open. She is unorganised, rude and is constantly walking round the property with a glass of wine in her hand rather than working.
The unit was unclean the bathrooms were dirty and unhygienic.
The kitchen was filthy, we were lacking in plates and cutlery.
We didn't have correct linen and struggled to get some for three days.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank CCA2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2016

Really pleasant stay in June 2015. 2 Bedroom unit, main bedroom with lovely ocean views. Nice balcony overlooking the pool and with a view of the ocean. Unit was clean and well maintained. Within walking distance of local restaurants and direct access to the beach.

Room Tip: All room will have an ocean view, the ones at the rear of the property have the best views.
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chilli C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanSimeonApart, Manager at San Simeon, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review us and provide feedback.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and apartment at San Simeon and hope to
welcome you back to San Simeon in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews