We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Commodore Regent
Nearby Hotels
Mantra Charles Hotel(Launceston)(Great Value!)
US$105
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Peppers Seaport Hotel(Launceston)(Great Value!)
US$167
US$129
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Village Family Motor Inn(Launceston)(Great Value!)
US$84
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand(Launceston)(Great Value!)
US$106
US$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Balmoral on York(Launceston)(Great Value!)
US$96
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sebel Launceston(Launceston)(Great Value!)
US$137
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Best Western Plus Launceston(Launceston)(Great Value!)
US$102
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston(Launceston)(Great Value!)
US$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Country Club Tasmania(Launceston)(Great Value!)
US$124
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quest Launceston(Launceston)(Great Value!)
US$117
US$112
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (229)
Filter reviews
229 results
Traveller rating
33
114
47
25
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
33
114
47
25
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity parkbeautiful parkfree wifibrisbane streetconvenient locationeasy walkthe ground floorcomfortable bedplenty of parkingshort walkroad noisebit datedcontinental breakfastroom was largeelectric blanketscentre of townstayed for one night
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 229 reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2017

On arrival we discovered a dirty toilet, linen not clean and had been used by previous person. Proof was curly dark hair on pillows while I am fair haired and my husband has grey hair. Two lamps were not working and after leaving notes one was working but another still did not work. Only toiletries was soap/shampoo on wall in bathroom and shower. Cutlery in kitchenette was bare minimum. We were not game to eat there and ate out on the two days we were there. Lots of workmen around while we were there. No lift so luggage had to be lifted up stairs. This hotel - and it is not a hotel, it is an old-fashioned motel - was a great disappointment and we expected a better standard in a major city.

Stayed: November 2017
Thank Marion B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Commodore R, Manager at Commodore Regent, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Hi Marion
I am disappointed to read about your experience and haven't heard of this experience through any of our reception staff.
Kindly forward your booking information to me via email, along with the details of which staff member you spoke to for rectification.
manager@commodoreregent.com.au so that I can look into your booking.
These errors sound really unusual and I can investigate.
Simon Peavey
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017

Absolutely disgusting customer service. We went in to help a friend who was travelling from the US and she contacted the hotel with over a weeks notice in peak season to cancel some of the booking - had no luck via email so we went in as we live in Launceston and we didn't want to know the details of her booking we were just asking how someone would go about canceling some of their booking and the manager, Simon was incredible smug and delighted in NOT being able to help. Absolutely appalling service and embarrassing to have our international guests subjected to this type of service.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank Kristy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Commodore R, Manager at Commodore Regent, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Good morning Kristy W,
We are sorry that you haven't had your desired outcome dealing with the hotel.
Regrettably in this case, Australian Privacy laws are highly restrictive and we are unable to disclose any details of a guest booking. I'm sorry I didn't get to meet you in person although we did provide your partner with the documentation to pass on the guest which could have facilitated a conversation. Written authorisation from the future guest would have enabled a better outcome.
Guest privacy and booking information must remain paramount in all cases and although this may have felt challenging, is entirely there for the protection of travellers.
Safe travels and all the best for the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017 via mobile

Was due to go to the hotel to stay whilst i was attending a conference .
The conference was cancelled today so i contacted booking.com they tried to help with no avail. So i emailed the hotel correct they advised thst will not refund anything back , as i had no control over the cancellation i feel i sm entitled to at least 1 day back but thay wont do anything , to try to help just said no snd thst is it , so if you book here dont cancel

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Gregg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Commodore R, Manager at Commodore Regent, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Good afternoon Gregg,
As per our email conversations prior to this review, we are sorry that you will be unable to travel to Launceston for your conference.
As an airline does with discounted flight tickets, we release a number of rooms through Booking.com with a discounted tariff option, although along with the 30% discount you chose are strict booking conditions that Booking.com makes you aware of. Sadly in your case, taking advantage of the non-flexible nature of this booking has caught you short and will refer you again to your travel insurer.
If you ever have the opportunity to travel to Launceston again, call us to make your booking we would be happy to provide you with a complimentary upgrade to the same 1 Bedroom Spa Apartment (subject to availability) that you had chosen for your work trip to Launceston.
Safe travels and we hope to see you in the future,
Simon Peavey
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

Arrived 15 minutes before closing.
Nothing was too much trouble - our meal arrived quickly and was probably the best meal we have experienced so far on our Tassie holiday. Trout and Eye fillet were cooked to perfection.
Compliments to Chef


Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sydney098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Commodore R, Manager at Commodore Regent, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Hello Sydney098 and thanks for taking the time to pass on your thanks,
We are so lucky to have a great kitchen team, who will rise to meet the customer demands and produce a great meal every time.
Safe travels always and we can't wait to give you another great meal on your next stay.
Simon Peavey
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

We had a 5 night stay at this Hotel. A fantastic location just opposite the City Park.
A 10 minute walk into Launceston city centre, very important as there are parking meters in town.
The hotel was very good, we had the breakfast included, the views each morning across the park are fantastic, the room was excellent as was the WiFi.
The staff were staff so helpful, nothing was a trouble, they want you to have a good stay.
Thoroughly recommenced for a stay in Launceston.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BuddyPeter24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Commodore R, Manager at Commodore Regent, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Hello BuddyPeter24
It sounds like you had a really great stay in Launceston.
It is 26 degrees here - October as a Spring month makes this small city a delight.
Safe travels and we hope to have you back again soon
Simon Peavey
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews