We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Sebel Launceston(Launceston)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Country Club Tasmania(Launceston)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$110
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quest Launceston(Launceston)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$126
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand(Launceston)(Great Value!)
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Balmoral on York(Launceston)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$74
US$72
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Launceston(Launceston)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston(Launceston)(Great Value!)
US$66
US$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Batman Fawkner Inn(Launceston)
US$50
US$45
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Mantra Charles Hotel(Launceston)(Great Value!)
US$107
US$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Country Club Villas(Launceston)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$103
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (192)
Filter reviews
192 results
Traveller rating
51
73
36
17
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
51
73
36
17
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfemale dormsleeping bagcoles supermarketan en suite roomlarge kitchenshort or long stayroom keyclean tidygreat place to stayquiet at nightfree wifiliving areaoverland trackcity centreold buildingreception staffhostel
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 192 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2017

I stayed here only one night.Because need to continue to the other places in Tasmania.It's close the town.I just walked everywhere to other tourist attraction,restaurant and convenience store.And it's very easy to find.The room was quite old also the bed.You need to pay for linen and no free wi-fi.The share bathroom and toilet wasn't really clean.Maybe because it's share.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nenycute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2017 via mobile

This place has everything you need but isn't very homely. WiFi is expensive. You have to hire out linen. Location is good. Rooms are large but I imagine they would be freezing in winter - it wasn't that warm even in February. Plenty of car parking spaces.
I wouldn't be in a rush to return but there's not many options in Launceston. It's fine for a few nights.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
Thank Eleanor108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2017

Hello Elenor108, thank you for staying at Launceston Backpackers. Our winters are quite cold in Tasmania and each room has a heater that keeps the room warm. We did have a cold spell in February and our heaters were not on for those days. Safe travelling.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2017

This is a back packers, though they do have en-suite rooms at very good rates. Stayed in an en-suite - ROOM 8. The good points... at the back of the hostel not much traffic and windows that can be opened wide for fresh air. The bad points ... the bed .. only a double.. uncomfortable. The fan in the bathroom sounded like a jumbo taking off... the shower nozzle sticks about 5cms out of the wall and can not be adjusted.. . the water temperature varies from freezing cold to scalding hot (no matter what time of the day)... it is near the self serve laundry .. very noisy .. though they are cut off at 9pm.

The kitchen is well equipped but can get busy.. I suggest you wash anything before you use it.

Parking is tight.. at least it there is no charge.

Staff are brilliant ... a special thanks to Fred. Knowledgeable and always prepared to help out.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DDSWM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

Hello DDSWM, thank you for staying at Launceston Backpackers. We will have a look at the bed you mentioned to see if it is getting too old now. Thank you for telling us about the water temperature, we had this problem about a year ago and we were able to sort it out. We will contact our plumber today to come and fix it. Our plumbing contractor is a fully credited GREEN plumber and he has installed the shower nozzles we use because they are the most environmentally friendly. All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2017

It's an easy place to find, I had a private room which had twin beds in it. The room was clean and bed was comfy you pay for linen for your room.The kitchen area was good. The bathroom (shared) was clean.It was close to the city for sight seeing. overall a positive experience

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

Hello mike c, thank you for taking time to review Launceston Backpackers. We are glad you had an enjoyable stay with us. Our cleaner does a great job and he keeps the whole place very clean as you noticed. Safe travelling.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

I spent three nights there. For the price you do not get a good benefit: the rooms are very old, not nicely furnished and my second one was moldy.

The bathrooms are a katastrophy and toilet paper rarely available. The kitchen even worse; the oven really dirty and the fridge, too. Fresh towels do not exist.

The best area there -outside- is a parking lot. For everything you have to pay, e.g. For the linnens- which means, people do not take them which makes things worse. Even for a key or a hairdryer you have to pay a deposit. I would like to be treated as a guest and not as a non-trustworthy individual.

Launceston does not have a lot of competition and therefore it is still full. Some travelers and some people who work there are really nice and helpful. But nevertheless I will try to avoid this place- sorry.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank BettyZie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2017

Hello Betty Zie, we are sorry you had a disappointing stay with us. Safe traveling.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews