We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Peppers Seaport Hotel(Launceston)(Great Value!)
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Country Club Tasmania(Launceston)(Great Value!)
US$109
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sebel Launceston(Launceston)(Great Value!)
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand(Launceston)(Great Value!)
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Launceston(Launceston)(Great Value!)
US$102
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Mantra Charles Hotel(Launceston)(Great Value!)
US$85
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Batman Fawkner Inn(Launceston)
US$50
US$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Quest Launceston(Launceston)(Great Value!)
US$106
US$88
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Country Club Villas(Launceston)(Great Value!)
US$104
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$67
US$61
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (195)
Filter reviews
195 results
Traveller rating
53
73
36
17
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
53
73
36
17
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfemale dormsleeping bagcoles supermarketan en suite roomshared kitchenroom keyclean tidygreat place to stayquiet at nightfree wifioverland trackcity centreliving areahostelclosetaudventilation
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 195 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2017

Room has bed and closet. $1 for bath towel, i got a hair dryer for free.
Staff was very nice, calm, easygoing. Bathroom is clean.
Very noisy from the kitchen, people would talk and laugh and run outside your room even pass 10pm, could here the tv room as well.

Room Tip: You need to rent out Blanket and linen for $3.5 as bed is not made
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Fuu Đ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2017

Hello, thank you for taking time to write a review. Noise is not usually a problem here as our bedrooms are quite a distance from the communal areas. We also have doors which we close to separate the 2 areas. Sorry we had some noisy guests. We do have 2 night managers who live on site. They will tell anyone who is excessively noisy to consider other guests. Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2017 via mobile

Decent hostel with comfy beds and decent facilities except for the showers. When it wasn't scolding hot or freezing cold, the shower just wouldn't work at all and the water would simply switch off. Showering takes 3 times as long as it should due to this.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank nattyemily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2017

Hello, thank you for your review. Thank you for letting us know about the shower. We have 14 showers within the building. We will try and find the shower you are referring to and get that fixed. Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2017

I had read both good and bad reviews about this hostel and wasn't quite sure what to expect when I booked it for two nights late March. However, I was pleasantly surprised. The staff was really nice and everything was clean, including the bedrooms, bathrooms and the shared kitchen. I didn't have a sleeping bag and had to rent bedlinen and blankets, but I knew they would cost extra already beforehand, so I was prepared for it. For 3.50 AUD, I got the bedlinen and two blankets, which was perfectly enough for the cool autumn nights. You also have pay a key deposit of 10 AUD, which you get back when you leave. I stayed in a 6-person female dorm. The room was really big but only had four power sockets, which was a bit too little since the room was full. The showers only had a couple of hooks hanging from the wall but nothing to put your things on to, which was a bit inconvenient. It was nice that the hostel had its own free car park since I had a rental car.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veera K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2017

Hello Veera K thank you for staying at Launceston Backpackers. I will pass on your compliment about our staff professionalism. Enjoy the rest of your trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2017

I stayed here only one night.Because need to continue to the other places in Tasmania.It's close the town.I just walked everywhere to other tourist attraction,restaurant and convenience store.And it's very easy to find.The room was quite old also the bed.You need to pay for linen and no free wi-fi.The share bathroom and toilet wasn't really clean.Maybe because it's share.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nenycute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2017 via mobile

This place has everything you need but isn't very homely. WiFi is expensive. You have to hire out linen. Location is good. Rooms are large but I imagine they would be freezing in winter - it wasn't that warm even in February. Plenty of car parking spaces.
I wouldn't be in a rush to return but there's not many options in Launceston. It's fine for a few nights.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
Thank Eleanor108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2017

Hello Elenor108, thank you for staying at Launceston Backpackers. Our winters are quite cold in Tasmania and each room has a heater that keeps the room warm. We did have a cold spell in February and our heaters were not on for those days. Safe travelling.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews