We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (195)
Filter reviews
195 results
Traveller rating
53
73
36
18
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
53
73
36
18
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coles supermarket bed room large kitchen clean tidy great place to stay quiet at night free wifi overland track city centre living area hostel ventilation
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 195 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2018

Big rooms, MASSIVE kitchen, really nice TV area, close to Woolworths and a few pubs and restaurants, the location is really nice. This is likely the LARGEST backpackers in terms of how much room I had in the bedroom, hallway and just in general. Really well divided but the bathrooms could be a bit bigger. All around great place to stay

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MsAutumnRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Hello Autumn D thank you for taking time to review Launceston Backpackers. We are glad you liked our facilities. Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2018

We stayed in January and was very hot. Rooms have no insect screens or fans.Plenty of insects including mosquitoes. Has air conditioners that don't work. Staff appeared vage and unhelpful. Was clean enough. We stayed in a four bedroom dorm. Was a large enough room. No toilet paper in female toilets and no staff available afterhours.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Thank anniestravelreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2018

Hello annietravelreviews, thank you for your review. Yes we are now aware that the air conditioner is not working in room 28. We did have them serviced just prior to Christmas.We are now waiting for tradesman to come and fix. There are two night managers on site and their number is always put on the office door and they are available anytime. Take care and safe travelling.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2018 via mobile

Stayed here twice, both before & after doing the overland track. Stayed in private 3 bed room, which was spacious, clean & tidy. Plenty of room for us to get organised for our trek.

Kitchen facilities were great.

Bathroom was very clean for a hostel.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Sightsee173972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

We are glad you enjoyed staying at Launceston Backpackers. Also hope you enjoyed the overland track.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

We stayed in a twin room with shared bathrooms. The room was simple but spacious. However, I couldn't find a power point in the room, so I had to charge my phone in the living area.

They have a large kitchen with all essentials, and Coles is just around the corner. So if you want to cook your own food, this is a good choice. It also has a nice park outside of the property. The city centre is a few blocks away.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Veans C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

Hello Veans, thank you for your review. There are two power points in the twin rooms just at the bottom of the bed. We are glad you enjoyed our large kitchen. Safe travelling.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017 via mobile

I am glad in this tour we only stay in this hostel for one night. The entrance of the hostel looks nice. However the rest, needs improvement.

We have booked to have a double room. The room and bed is ok. However it does look a bit run down.

In our floor there is at least 4 to 5 rooms and several rooms can sleep 4 people. The woman toilets / bathroom there is only 2 toilets and 2 showers. This is not adequate.

They claimed to provide free wifi. What they did not mention is there is quota on data usage. The code is suppose to last for 7 days. We get to the hostel by 6pm. We went out for a few hours. By the time we come back to use the wifi, less than hour, our quota is fully utilised.

They also do not tell u that there is no towels in the room. So if u want to rent one and the reception is closed (which I think is 7pm) in the evening , you are out of luck. As there will be call out charge for receptionist for after hours.

Definitely one to avoid.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank EastmeetsWestAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

Hello EastmeetsWestAB, yes the backpackers is located in a one hundred year old Federation building. We just spent a lot of time renovating parts of the building over winter. We have two different floors one has 7 rooms and the other and the other two has 9 rooms, it is fairly standard in almost every hotel/backpacker that there are numerous rooms on each floor. We do provide free WiFi, please just come and ask for another voucher if it runs out. Our reception is usually open till 8pm in the evening during summer.
We hope you enjoy the rest of your Tasmanian trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews