We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hire new cleaners!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bridgefield Guest House
Ranked #12 of 20 Margaret River B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 March 2017

Firstly the pros...the reception staff are all very friendly and the general old world feel of the place was lovely.The 2 Jaguars are simply stunning.
Sadly there are many cons...the cleaning staff need training...my husband placed his oh-so precious guitar case under the bed as the room is quite small.The next morning (our first) he pulled it out along with huge piles of dust.I said that at least the piles of dust will ensure they vacuum under the bed. We got back late in the afternoon and couldn't believe our eyes.The "dust bunnies"....nay "dust T-Rexes" were everywhere and had obviously been ignored by the so-called cleaner.So the next morning I put a note on our bed for the room to be vacuumed as I suffer badly with sinusitis aggravated by dust.Yes that was done but our cups and glasses were not washed. Then we noticed that every horizontal surface was dust coated.
The next day was a public holiday....no room servicing....but they had not left extra towels nor extra toilet paper.I had to go to reception 3 times to get supplies because the office was closed with a notice gone for 20 minutes but with no time on the note.Hence I had to keep going back as we were going out and then the office would have been closed for the evening.
Our room had a claw foot bath but the plug hole had someone's else very dark hair...I am blonde and my husband is grey in it.Yuk!
The bathroom opened onto a courtyard which we couldn't use for 2 reasons...firstly it had a common fence with the Shell service station and the petrol and diesel fumes were overpowering to say the least.The cars park right on the fence line.Shell should have been made to build an attractive tall brick fence as safety measure in case a driver selects the wrong gear!
And the second reason..the mossies/blowflies ...there are no flyscreens on the either the door or the window so they both had to stay closed even if we could have coped with the fumes.
We used the TV in the lounge but the noise from the on site restaurant was so loud that we didn't feel comfortable turning up the volume just in case the guests who were in the room closest to the TV were disturbed.And this leads to my final point...the restaurant has applied for a small bar licence.That will change the whole ambience from a dining venue to a drinking venue and the volume will be even louder.
So after anticipating a pleasurable stay in a iconic building it was far from that.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheryld16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2017

Really enjoyed our stay at Bridgefield Guest House....Very easy to find and location was excellent....We were lucky to stay in the old home itself...have accommodation on other side of the road (modern) glad we were not put there.. Individual rooms with separate outside sitting area and bathroom... Restaurant attached..{very expensive} didn't like staff.......but plenty of places to eat minutes away

Room Tip: we stayed in the old home....great big comfy bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank karenmcc2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2017 via mobile

Room is old worldly but comfortable. We were surprised by no TV, but there was one in the cozy sitting area. The wifi is spotty and only one of us could get on at a time. Clean and bed comfy. There was a kettle, tea and coffee and real milk for the tea and coffee.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank caron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2016

Just spent two lovely nights in the Champagne Room and really enjoyed it. It has a very large spa bath in the en-suite as well as a separate shower. Good sized room with a private balcony which was great for the breeze. We slept with the doors open one night and it was lovely. There is a bit of noise as it is closeish to the road but not enough to really impact at all on the stay.
There is a sitting room and small kitchen downstairs - lovely just now with a nice Christmas tree and is very inviting in the evenings with its leather sofas and old-world style décor. Would love to come back with friends and have the whole place to ourselves.

Only things I'd like to see different are better wine glasses - those tiny ones are a particular insult when in Margaret River with all that nice wine - and the inclusion of a full length mirror would be good.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BlaneyMundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2016

Looked the part
Receptionist cranky
Rooms uncomfortable
Noisy and bed hard
TV didn't work
The Spa was nice but thats all
won't stay again...
No real customer service or nice welcome.
On main road and wooden stairs so you can hear people moving around.

Room Tip: Not near the wooden star case
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TeeTee311967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretRiverside, Front Office Manager at Bridgefield Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2016

We're so sorry to read that you felt you didn't receive a warm welcome and that you were disappointed with your stay. We pride ourselves on our friendly helpful staff so it is a pity that your memory of us is not so. Granted there is an abundance of wood, especially the handcrafted jarrah staircase, re-salvaged - using local timber, looks stunning but can make for a bit of noise. Thank you for your contribution I will bring it to the attention of our staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
0.8 km away
Grange on Farrelly
Grange on Farrelly
#7 of 10 in Margaret River
255 reviews
0.5 km away
Margaret River Hotel
Margaret River Hotel
#8 of 10 in Margaret River
272 reviews
0.5 km away
Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
724 reviews
1.6 km away
Quality Inn Margaret River
Quality Inn Margaret River
#4 of 10 in Margaret River
1,010 reviews
5.3 km away
Margaret River Bed & Breakfast
Margaret River Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 20 in Margaret River
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridgefield Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridgefield Guest House

Address: 73 Bussell Hwy, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Margaret River
Price Range: $124 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bridgefield Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bridgefield Guest House Margaret River is a National Trust listed property and is a great place for travellers. Bridgefield is centrally located, close to the river walk trails, shops and restaurants. All tour operators pick up from our carpark. All rooms are ensuite. There are tea and coffee facilities. Log fire in winter. Reverse cycle aircon in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bridgefield Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridgefield Guest House Hotel Margaret River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing