We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience a step back in time in this beautiful grand old homestead.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bridgefield Guest House
Ranked #12 of 20 Margaret River B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 March 2011

This guest house was recommended by a friend and upon checking TA I booked it without hesitation. On our early arrival we were checked into our room. Our host kindly explained the facilities and then left us alone. I was enchanted by the room with it's lovely olde worlde decor, separate ante rooms. We walked firstly into the bedroom through to a small sitting area and at the rear was a small private courtyard with table and chairs plus a small fridge and tea making facilities. Adjacent to the sitting area was another alcove which lead to a separate loo and generous sized bathroom (shower but no bathtub) The bed in our room was rather uncomfortable but probably the only complaint I had. There was no TV in the suite however there is a common lounge area for guests with a TV. In the hallway was a tea/coffee making station complete with biscuits. The room was nice and clean with lovely soft towels and little extra touches like chocolates on the bed and quality toiletries. Our breakfast was included in our tariff of $150 per night which I thought was very good value. Breakfast, which is taken in the onsite annexed verandah restaurant, although only continental was substantial with plenty of choice including fresh fruit. There is an option to buy a cooked breakfast but unfortunately for my husband it wasn't available on Monday's or Tuesdays (both days we were there). Our first evening happened to coincide with the only evening that a roast dinner is served at the onsite restaurant, at $28AUD pp we thought it very good value. It was three course, soup, roast main, dessert and cheese platter plus tea and coffee. For our second evening meal we went to the Settler's Tavern (easy walking distance), there was live music, upmarket pub atmosphere and hearty sized, tasty meals. All in all we really enjoyed our stay at Bridgefield a beautifully restored homestead with lovely gardens and a comfortable relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oztripperz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 113 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2011

Bridgefield is right on the main road into town -- handy for a late-night wobble home from the town's local dining/drinking spots, but maybe not so great if you're looking for a peaceful, quiet stay in the bush or near the coast. Noise from the road and the nearby petrol station is early and often. (And late, too.)
The views from the Champagne Room's balcony are pleasantly screened by foliage and the room is easily darkened, day or night. Overall, we decided this guesthouse was quite a masculine place, from the style of housecleaning (dust bunnies! atchoo!) to the rather lovelier gentlemen's club–style wood panelling and coloured walls. It was a bit stuffy as well, despite our leaving balcony doors and windows open at every waking opportunity -- we were forced to close them at night and run the aircon to keep out the noise.
In short: a comfortable room within walking distance to excellent dining/drinking, a good continental breakfast included (a cafe latte is extra but worthwhile) but seems in need of a good clean, a very good airing out, and a serious set of earplugs.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lttlrdhn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2011

We stayed in the Admiral Stirling quarters - an excellent room with kitchen facilities. Place was very friendly with excellent staff.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noni5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2010

My husband and I spent 2 nights in Margaret River at Bridgefield Guest House. We found our stay absoultely relaxing and wonderful. Bridgefield House is charming and decorated very well with old world furniture, especially the old lounges from parliment house. Nathalie's cusine served a fantastic complimentary breakfast. Being on the main the street the location is also great. It's also not far from the main wineries, if you want to catch a taxi.We have nothing but strong reccomendations for this place. We would not hestaite to stay there again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonash07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2010

Stayed two nights in the Merlot room. Old world charm comfortable, clean with modern amenities. The manager and staff went out of their way to make our experience a positive one. The furnishings are unbelievable some much nicer than the usual modern tack. We had breakfast both days at Natalies, great food, excellent value and service. I have no hesitation in recommending both Bridgefieldfield and Natalies Cuisine to anyone who is seeking something out of the usual. Thank you both for enhancing our stay Peter & Denise Peterson, Strathfieldsaye Victoria

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pppinot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
0.8 km away
Grange on Farrelly
Grange on Farrelly
#7 of 10 in Margaret River
255 reviews
0.5 km away
Margaret River Hotel
Margaret River Hotel
#8 of 10 in Margaret River
272 reviews
0.5 km away
Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
724 reviews
1.6 km away
Quality Inn Margaret River
Quality Inn Margaret River
#4 of 10 in Margaret River
1,010 reviews
5.3 km away
Margaret River Bed & Breakfast
Margaret River Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 20 in Margaret River
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridgefield Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridgefield Guest House

Address: 73 Bussell Hwy, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Margaret River
Price Range: $124 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bridgefield Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bridgefield Guest House Margaret River is a National Trust listed property and is a great place for travellers. Bridgefield is centrally located, close to the river walk trails, shops and restaurants. All tour operators pick up from our carpark. All rooms are ensuite. There are tea and coffee facilities. Log fire in winter. Reverse cycle aircon in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bridgefield Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridgefield Guest House Hotel Margaret River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing