We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Roerdalen(Posterholt)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (9)
Filter reviews
9 results
Traveller rating
0
7
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
0
7
1
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 9 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We booked 9 nights in 3 bed rooms bungalow using booking.com. Despite booking.com reservation stated that ” 50% of the total amount will be charged on the day of booking”, the park sent me an email with the invoice and informed me that I have to pay the whole amount by cheque within a specified date. I could not send them a cheque so I made a bank transfer with the whole amount. Later they sent me an email to inform me how to get the bungalow key from the reception safe because the reception will be closed at the time of arrival. Everything was fine till we get into bungalow No. 126. Bad furniture, they use chairs as nightstands,dirty, stock of beer and old shoes in the store. The worst thing was cobwebs and spiders everywhere. My daughters were terrified, they refused to sleep in the upper level and preferred to spend the night on the dated sofa in the living room. Next morning I went to the reception and explained the situation to a nice blond lady who apologized and offered me to change the bungalow. We moved to bungalow 131 which was in a much better condition and the cobwebs where only in the store room. We paid 22.5 euros for 7 days internet, in the first day the connection was to slow (almost dead)and in the second day I spent the whole night trying to connect but I couldn’t. I went to the reception the next day to complain about the connection and there was another nice blond lady who apologized and returned my money back. The booking.com confirmation email stated that “a security deposit of EUR 80 is obligatory upon check-in. This amount will be refunded upon check-out provided that no damages are made” so on check out date I went to the reception to get my deposit back. There was the manager “Monique Swelsen”, she said that she has to check the bungalow first. I waited for her in the reception till she come back and the shock was that she refused to return my money because I did not clean the dishes!!! WHAT!! She said that we are not your SLAVES to clean after you (she repeated “slaves” that 3 times during our conversation which gave me a strong feeling that she has some racism issues). I replied to her “I did not say that you are my slaves. But I already paid cleaning fees. Why did you charge me for cleaning if I have to clean the bungalow for you?!?!”. She said ” The cleaning fees you paid was for bangalow 126, you have to pay for the other one also”. I replied “ WHAT!!! Why do I have to pay for your mistake? and even if you want to charge me twice why did you charge me 80 euros while the cleaning fee is 50 ?”. She replied that the cleaning fee is only for mopping and dusting and your bungalow needs extra work”. I did not have more time to waste and I knew that she will keep making excuses to keep my deposit so I left.
Instead of making it up for us for ruining our first night and wasting our first morning move from bungalow to another, they stole our deposit. What a bad management !!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank NuNu_Q8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We decided to go away for a week during the 1st week of January. As there were going to be 2 kids (6 and 8) tagging along, we wanted something were there was plenty to do for kids as well. We ended up in ´t Posterbos.
The holiday homes are privately owned and rented out via ´t Posterbos by the owners.
Some of them are up for sale, but have a chat with some owners as to why, long story which I´m not going to bore you with.
The houses are comfortable with everything you need. (apart from a washing machine which could be handy). They are placed in a way, that your neighbours are close, but not so close that you feel invaded in your privacy. The people at the reception are friendly, hospitable and helpfull and are more than willing to help you with your needs/questions.
The area surrounding ´t Posterbos, is a back to nature kind of thing, lots of open land and forrests. Good for hiking and cycling (I´ve been told). It´s close to Roermond (huge outlet) about 15 minutes away and a cute town and germany (we visited Monchengladbach) which is about 45 minutes, depending if you take advantage of the Autobahn "speedlimits". There is a small town called Echt, which has plenty of shops and is about 10 minutes away. Posterbos itself is pretty small, does have a supermarket, but other than that, not really worthwhile visiting.
If you do bring kids, there´s an indoor playground 5 minutes away called Peewee, which is excellent for kids to burn of some excess energy. There´s plenty to do in the area (valkenburg and such) but we didn´t have the time to visit ´m all. but i´m sure you won´t get bored, even with kids.
At ´t Posterbos itself is a small pool which can be used, it´s actually part of the neighbouring park, Landal, but visitors of ´t Posterbos are allowed to use it to. In the same building they have a small bowling thing as well and the oppurtunity to eat. We haven´t done so, so I can judge it, but by the looks of the menu, they´ll serve a decent meal.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alex_Heikens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We have just returned from a week long half-term trip to Vakantiepark 't Posterbos which is conveniently located between the towns of Roermond (Holland) and Heinsberg (Germany) -

Booking/Pre-arrival - We used Booking.com to book and found their website very easy to use. Vakantiepark 't Posterbos' website is also available in English which proved useful. Despite the Booking.com website stating that Posterbos are happy to receive cash on arrival, our booking confirmation came with a demand that the balance be paid by a set date by cheque (as Credit cards are not accepted) If you do use this method to book, please disregard this as they do not in fact take cheques either! So my phone calls to my bank and subsequent visit were in vain as a phone call to the park sorted the cash/cheque issue. It also saved me £25 which my bank wanted to charge for raising a cheque in Euros....

I contacted Posterbos by email the day prior to our trip to enquire about linen/towels and the arrival procedure. A quick response was received to say that we could bring our own linen/towels or hire from the Park. We elected to take our own so cannot comment on the quality of those provided. With regards to the arrival and collection of the key / site access card, as our planned arrival time of 3pm on a Saturday afternoon fell outside of normal reception hours we were given a code for a safe and clear instructions.

Arrival - We arrived just after 3.30pm and duly located the safes as per the emailled instructions. In the safe were a set of keys, a map of the park and a entry card for the vehicle barriers. The map was easy to follow and very soon we were parked on the driveway of our two-storey bungalow!

The Bungalow - We found the bungalow to be very clean. It had a well-equipped kitchen/diner - fridge (no freezer compartment), microwave, gas hob, combination microwave/grill oven, coffee machine, a dishwasher, a plentiful array of cutlery/pans/crockery and a dining table/chairs. The lounge was spacious with a leather 3-piece suite, sideboard, unit and a large flat-screen TV (which was able to receive BBC1) Also downstairs was a double bedroom (2 x Twins pushed together/2 x single duvets/2 x pillows) with bedisde units and a wardrobe, a toilet and a bathroom which had a shower over the bath. In addition was a storeroom, where there was a iron, ironing board and airer. This room was ideal for storing our roofbox for the week too. Up the steep stairs found two sparsely decorated/furnished large bedrooms each with two single beds in them, a wardrobe and bedside tables. Lighting was not briliiant in the bungalow with low-wattage bulbs appearing to be the order of the day.

The cost of the rental included the gas and electric. The first night at Posterbos saw the temperatures reach -5c but the heating made light work of keeping us warm and cosy.

The Park - October/November is probably not the peak period for Posterbos but there were still plenty of people around. The neighbouring complex, Landal, is happy to welcome guests to their bowling alley and restaurant bar. We did not frequent this but the menu looked appealing and the alley/bar looked good. There is an outdoor swimming pool that will be open dependent upon the season visited in. WIFI is available for 15 Euros per week.

We visited the reception on the Monday morning and spoke to the very friendly staff there. They took our cash and an 80 Euro deposit, which was returned at the end of our breakage-free visit. Whilst at the reception we mentioned that the kitchen light was not working - it was fixed by our return later in the day.

Location - Roermond is a fifteen minute drive away and its Designer Outlet Village too. Heinsberg is a twenty minute drive over the border into Germany. In nearby Posterholt and St Odilienberg and in Karken (Germany) there are numerous supermarkets, restaurants, pharmacies and bars. These are all within a 5-10 minute drive from Posterbos.

Whilst staying at Posterbos, we also visited Amsterdam (2 hour drive to the Amsterdam Arena Park and Ride which was only 8 Euros for up to five people), Koln (70 minute drive to the Haus Vort Park and Ride which was only 11.10 Euros for up to five people), Phantasialand Theme Park (1 hour drive), The Ardennes (75 minute drive) and Monchengladbach which was a 35 minute drive.

Verdict - We had a fantastic week using Posterbos as a base for visiting nearby towns, cities, areas, shops, restaurants and attractions. In summer, I can imagine a bustling, busy park with an outdoor swimming pool and fantastic walking/cycling opportunities. The bungalow we stayed in was perfectly fit for purpose albeit a touch dated. The bottom line is that we would not hesitate to use Vakantiepark 't Posterbos again in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KENT_Gang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineMarketing, Public Relations Manager at Vakantiepark 't Posterbos, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineMarketing, Public Relations Manager at Vakantiepark 't Posterbos, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews