We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveller rating
46
35
9
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
46
35
9
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfastceiling fansirloin steakhigh ceilingshomemade mueslienglish pubperiod furnitureoff street parkingno lifthistoric buildingspur of the momentdelicious mealgreat roomroom servicespa bathstay there againthe main street
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 95 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2018

Highlight of my trip. Room and amenities were excellent. Had meal at the hotel which was fantastic. Only down side was carrying bags upstairs and find parking in the rear. Noise wasn't an issue and staff were great. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Reserve table for dinner as it can get busy.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavoQJ999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2018

Very good restaurant and was recommended by the Motel we stayed at. Atmosphere was good with numerous artifacts and historic pictures adorning the place. I had the sirloin steak which was very good and my wife had the steak sandwich, likewise very good.Word of mouth tells me the lamb shanks were to die for but I wanted to live and could only eat so much! Recommended eatery.

Room Tip: We only ate there, did not use the accommodation.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

Recommended from Motel owner and taxi driver and not disappointed. Visiting from New Plymouth for boys golf trip and the beers and dinner were very good. I had the two entrees, the smoked venison and pear, and the mussels. Both were fantastic. Boys mostly had steak, one blue, a couple medium rare. Everyone very happy

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2018 via mobile

Just had the most wonderful salad! Beautiful and fresh, chicken, bacon and roast potatoe, what a delicious meal, I will definitely be back! Great that this is set in the main street so you can still get the shopping in.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank dimarshall63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

Wasn’t sure what to expect from this fairly old hotel in the middle of Whanganui but was very pleasantly surprised. The room was very nice and comfortable, was concerned about noise but all became quiet relatively early in the evening. The restaurant was busy and rightly so, food was good and very well priced, but a bit surprised to find a selection of UK drinks at the bar alongside NZ varieties. Wi-fi very fast and free

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Tekyinblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews