We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Anndion Lodge Motel & Function Centre
Nearby Hotels
Riverview Motel(Whanganui)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
151 on London(Whanganui)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (83)
Filter reviews
83 results
Traveller rating
53
18
7
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
53
18
7
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool tablehosts were lovelynice quiet locationvery nice place to staythe riverprivate bathroomtidy roomsense of humourliving areacomfy bedkowhai parklast minute bookingenjoyed our stayplenty of parkingacross the roadswimming poolother guests
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 83 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2017

Excellent service by the 2 hosts, went out of their way to make our short stay as enjoyable as possible. great value for money and would go again if we had to stopover on the way to Wellington.Close to everything in Whakatane and close to river and walkway across road. We had a back room and was not worried by road noise at all.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank T7513LDjonh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 August 2017

Nice one, thank you for the feedback, we work very hard to ensure that everybody has a comfortable stay and we are well pleased to hear we got this one right. Whanganui - Whakatane - tomato - tomaato (curse that auto correct huh) ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

Gary & Cathy are excellent Hosts.
We stayed in the 2bdrm Cove Unit - very comfortable. Nice'n'clean. Staff really polite & helpful. Although we didn't spend a lot if time at the Lodge it's a place you can pass time at quite easily & comfortably.
Recommend this Lodge with confidence. You won't be disappointed quite the contrary.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Cantabperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 July 2017

How typically Cantabrian to be so nice, thanks a lot for the comments and good luck to the crusaders next week in the final, shame its not the canes ... sigh. So pleased to hear you had a good break :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

I stayed here for 5 days on a trip to Whanganui. The lodge is excellent and facilities are great. The hosts went out of their way to make sure I was comfortable and had everything I needed. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend this lodge to anyone looking for a tidy, quiet place to stay.

Room Tip: Very Fast Wifi !
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henry1234567594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 July 2017

thanx Henry, glad you enjoyed yr stay and we wish you all the best with your upcoming top gun audition :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017

Was easy when my family decided to use Anndion to accommodate and cater for a special family event two weeks ago. The hospitality was generous, the rooms were comfortable and inviting and the catering was scrumptious. Despite the poor weather conditions the indoor facilities were accommodating and met our requirements.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Averysatisfiedcustom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 July 2017

I am very pleased you were happy with the event and thank you for the positive feedback. Your group was a delight to host btw :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017

Friendly, welcoming owner. We have stayed in lodge accommodation in Australia so knew what to expect. We couldn't get a room in our usual motel so took a room in the Lodge for one night. Good facilities - TV lounge, kitchen, but only two showers and two working toilets for quite a lot of rooms with couples and (road?) workers, very nice, friendly guys. Lovely grounds and pool for summer.
Our room was smelly, like dirty socks under the bed smelly. It was clean but unpleasant, maybe a winter damp smell or stale cigarette breath. We didn't spend a lot of time there as we had a family dinner to attend and returned late, luckily finding one door unlocked, relief as we hadn't expected to be so late. But it was so cold in our small room. Bed was comfortable and with socks on we warmed up but the air was cold at midnight and cold in the morning. Heater in the hallway was not on when we got back at about 11:30pm.
Cleaning lady was lovely. Owner was again very nice next day, as we left car for another 30 mins to have a fresh walk before visiting a elderly, unwell relative.
Its an okay place, just not for us unless we could choose a different area or room type; only the lodge was available through our booking agent on this trip.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HolidayVibes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 July 2017

Hi guys, I remember you well and you seemed happy enough when you were here so it is a shame and a surprise to get such a low score. You were in the lodge and yes we do offer ensuite units which are self contained, these are popular so it pays to get in quick. To quickly address some of your points, yes the lounge gas heater does get turned off last thing at night, normally i do lock up around midnight, obviously someone else had turned off the heater or the front door would have been locked if I had been through. There are 4 showers and 4 toilets in the lodge - not 2 as you mentioned. Your room key will unlock the front door if it is locked. The damp smell, I have not struck this one before and if you could have mentioned this when I spoke to you that morning then I would know which room and try to identify any odors that need attention so we can deal with it immediately. We routinely wash all curtains and linen etc and keep the windows wiped dry as well as airing every room every day, so we would appreciate hearing of such problems at the time. Anyway I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews