We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (284)
Filter reviews
284 results
Traveller rating
39
89
93
47
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
39
89
93
47
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hotel is located hotel room no lift reception staff the main road an overnight stay room was clean and comfortable great shower bit dated free wifi close to town railway kms laundry
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 284 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2016 via mobile

Beautiful motel, very clean and modern. Room was big and heating and electric blankets were fantastic. Reception staff were incredible - very kind and helpful (same with the staff at the adjoining restaurant)

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank Natashareviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2016 via mobile

Upon arrival, our room was dirty with an unmade bed from previous occupant.
We were then moved into a smaller room.
Thin walls meant we could hear traffic constantly and could hear the neighbouring rooms' toilet and shower.
The bathroom was always damp with no ventilation, making it feel much colder. The shower was heat restricted and was unpleasant.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank jimmbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacob W, Guest Relations Manager at The Ashley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2016

Dear jimmbroad,

We regret that you did not enjoy your stay with us and take your comments on board in our strive to provide the best possible service to our guests. As explained to you by our general manager and the time of your check in we do sincerely apologize for the incorrect room being assigned being owed to a personal emergency for our housekeeping staff and miscommunication with our front of house. Our showers are not restricted. All of our bathrooms have extractor fans. We wish you all the best on your onward travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2016

My husband and I stayed here two nights. The room was clean, warm and quiet.
We never had time to check out the resturant, but the menu looked lovely. Not in the centre of town, but on a fine day you could walk it, approx 2km.
I would recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Shelley V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2016

My stay in this hotel for two nights was really excellent. For a business traveller it had all I wanted and more. The staff were absolutely delightful--friendly, helpful and genuine. There's a lovely bar and restaurant on site, which is such a boon for travellers. I'm sick of checking into motels, getting out of business clothes and showering and then having to go out in a strange place, often late at night, to try and find somewhere to eat. Not only was the restaurant on site, I had two of the best meals I've had for years--a home made field mushroom and chicken soup the first night and pan-friend scallops in red-current and avocado sauces the second. Breakfast was piping hot and beautifully cooked both mornings.
The rooms are all single storey little cabins around a central block with a covered pool, which I'm noting down for a summer visit! And wonder of wonders, there was a power-shower in the room. Gorgeous.
I highly recommend this motel for business or families (given the swimming pool!).

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LadyMol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2016

We have just stayed in one of the Family units.
1st impressions are the worn out dining chair coverings!
2nd impression the sticky ring marks from the last peoples drinks on both arms of couch and coffee table!! Never mind I cleaned up myself, it didn't take long.
I'm sorry, I've got to mention these things as I think its just not good enough.

The staff were friendly and all other aspects seemed/were just fine, we got what we paid for but at the end of the day there's no excuse for an unclean room!

Location is absolutely fine, just out of town towards the South (but that was good for us) parking is in abundance and meals are available in the main complex if required.

Had the room been clean and the shabby chairs replaced, we would have been quite happy campers. Sorry "Ashley", needs to be said.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the rear of property are quieter. Although remember, you're not next to the Auckland motorway, you're in Greymouth!
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacob W, Guest Relations Manager at The Ashley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2016

Dear 523dave,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback and your comments go a long way to improve on future guest experience. We will be talking with our housekeeping team to go over your comments to ensure our high standards our room cleanliness are well maintained. We do agree that this is not acceptable and we hope to prevent any future occurrences. Thank you for your positive comments relating to our friendly staff and will be sure to pass these on. Once again thank you for your review and we wish you all the best on your onward travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews