We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (388)
Filter reviews
388 results
Traveller rating
202
153
27
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
202
153
27
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the owner the main road lounge chairs one night stopover helpful owners would stay here again room was spotless comfortable beds local area road noise double bed pancake rolls ian supermarket motel unit town
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 388 reviews
Reviewed 17 December 2016

We stayed at the Gables Motor Lodge for one night on our driving trip through New Zealand. It is wonderful, small motor lodge, with ample off-street parking right by the rooms. It is also very reasonably priced.

The owner could not have been nicer, accommodating us on a large load of laundry that we had and providing a lot of information on what to do in the area.

The Gables is well-located, with a great restaurant (don't remember the name) a five minute walk one way and a nice grocery store the same distance the other way.

It was clean, roomy, and very well equipped. We would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spiegs2295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2016 via mobile

Due to a change in our travel plans we needed to stay in Greymouth for one night. After consulting trip advisor we decided on this place. We were greeted at the front desk by the owner/manager. What a lovely helpful man. He asked how our day had been and where we were headed next. He gave me information about roadworks at Arthur's pass. He booked a dinner reservation at the restaurant a few doors up from the hotel. Such great customer service. Highly recommend this place.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank Leona1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed here on our way to Picton

The beds were not the most comfortable, however, the worst part was that there were Bedbugs!
The morning after we left early so couldn't complain to the owner
Both me and my wife has red bug bite marks all over our body

Free wifi and location is all well and good, but the main purpose of a motel is a nice bed to sleep

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank manivineet2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gables84, Owner at Gables Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2016

What an irresponsible review. After we read it, we immediately went into the unit you stayed in and stripped and carefully examined every bed. There are NO bed bugs in the unit. You say that you left early so could not complain. Reception opens at 7.30 a.m. Our computer records show that you checked out at 7.46 a.m. One of your party was taking photos outside the unit before you came into Reception and handed in the key when you checked out. If there was a problem, why did you not mention it at the time? Why did you not demand a refund? Anyone else would have done so. Given that you have waited nearly two weeks before posting a review, and cannot even remember that you checked out in person, we think that you have confused us with another motel/hotel. We have not received any other complaints from other guests, either prior to or since your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2016 via mobile

A quick trip to the West Coast with some friends and we stayed here. What a gem of a place - clean, tidy, great value and everything we needed. Great host, who shared his local knowledge and gave us two fantastic recommendations - dinner at the pub next door and breakfast at Maggies (both were 5 star).

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank ThebigcheeseNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2016

Unit 4 All in VGC. We enjoyed every night staying here. Big lounge even plenty of room for the 2 lounge chairs. 3m x 3m bathroom and no big deal that there is a chair for disabled to use when you have this much space. Kitchen fully equipped hob, mwave, etc. good quiet heater kept us warm. Plenty of room in robe to hang clothes and shelf for folded. Big suitcase rack. 2 dining chairs if you prefer. Good lighting. Free on site car parking. Friendly helpful service and went the extra mile for us. Best quality sleep with choice of comfy pillows.

Room Tip: You wouldn't have any road noise in units 4 to 12. Unknown about other rooms.
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ozdrifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews