We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (434)
Filter reviews
434 results
Traveller rating
376
48
7
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
376
48
7
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstasman seaprivate beachnew zealandeggs benedictsouth islandone nightfellow guestsnine milesound of the wavesfantastic settingrock poolsonward journeybeachfront locationplaces to visitthe main houseb and bbed and breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 434 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2018

We loved our 3 night stay at Breakers. The features that set Breakers apart from other Westcoast accommodation are the spectacular beachfront location with view and Jan's genuine hosting. I plan my holidays quite thoroughly but Jan is an absolute wealth of information and can suggest additions/tweaks to your plans to help your day go from good to great!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank MarelleDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedsmom, Owner at Breakers Boutique Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

Thanks so much Donna for your great review. I'm really pleased to read how valuable you found my suggestions knowing how thorough you are on your travel planning. It was super lovely to meet you, Terry and Oliver and glad the pancakes worked out for you too! Wishing you all the best. Cheers Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2017

We only stayed one night at this accomandation, and absolutely could have stayed longer. The view on the ocean is perfect. The beach is easily accesible, with starfish to find on low tide. Breakfast was very good, and the owners very friendly and helpfull.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank O9730BXandres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedsmom, Owner at Breakers Boutique Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017

Thanks for your lovely review. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and the only regret is not staying longer. Timing worked perfectly for the low tide and getting out to see the starfish. Wishing you both all the best. Cheers Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2017 via mobile

We stayed at this B and B last month for the second time, having previously stayed there in 2014. Everything was perfect: location, the room, breakfast. The host is very helpful and knowledgeable and both years we followed her advice about the drives there and where to stop and sightsee (especially the pancake rocks at Punakaiki). While staying at Breakers we enjoyed walking on the beach at low tide and seeing some huge starfish in the pools. I thoroughly recommend it!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank deegee5064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedsmom, Owner at Breakers Boutique Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017

Thanks Dee for your lovely review. We love getting our return guests and it was so great to see you and Simon again - thanks for coming back! Glad you got to experience the low tide and get out to see the starfish - they are pretty special. Look forward to seeing you both again sometime..... warm regards Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2017

As we watched the sun set into the Tasman Sea from our perch above the tide pools at the Breakers--we exhaled.
Jan has created the perfect retreat on the West Coast of New Zealand's south island. The setting is idyllic with comparable accommodations.
Jan's concierge service helped us to plan a beautiful 3 day stay that balanced our interests with the many sights and activities that this beautiful region affords. Just Imagine--- but your expectations will probably be exceeded here at the Breakers.

Room Tip: View of the sunset
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giselle_H_Ratain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedsmom, Owner at Breakers Boutique Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2017

Giselle thanks so much for your lovely and very poetic review. We love our little slice of paradise and love sharing it with others so really appreciate that you really appreciate the perfect retreat we also think it is. It was lovely to meet you, Mark, Todd and Diane and we wish you all a very Merry Xmas and good health & happiness for 2018. Warmest regards Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2017

After nearly six weeks in New Zealand this was one of the most amazing places we stayed.
Views from the room were amazing - including the "loo with a view".
Hosts were wonderful, very knowledgeable about the local area and recommended places to go for vistas of the West Coast, including pancake rocks.
Private access to the beach was great.
Gardens well looked after.
Super breakfast.
The most amazing sunset.
Fantastic last accommodation to a wonderful trip

Room Tip: They're all fabulous!
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mer3404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedsmom, Owner at Breakers Boutique Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2017

Thanks so much for your awesome review of your stay with us. Happy to read we left a lasting impression for your final night's stay in NZ. Super lovely to meet you both and wishing you and your family a very Merry Xmas and good health & happiness for 2018. Warm regards Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews