We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (440)
Filter reviews
440 results
Traveller rating
382
48
7
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
382
48
7
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tasman sea host jan private beach new zealand homemade pizza south island one night fellow guests fantastic setting slice of paradise sound of the waves onward journey stayed longer beachfront location the main house deserted beach low tide
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 440 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2018

My wife and I stayed for two nights at Breakers after driving up from Fox Glacier. Before our trip, Jan had sent us a detailed email on short walks and vistas all along the West coast, between Haast and Greymouth. This helped us hit the highlights and break up the rather long drive. Jan greeted us warmly when we arrived and showed us to the Sunset Room, which is in a separate building from the main house. We mentioned that we were just going to have a "picnic" of wine & cheese, etc. in our room, rather than go into town for dinner, and she brought over plates, cutlery, and a large cutting board to make it much more elegant. Breakfast was very good and the coffee was excellent (the most important part of the day!). Jan had another list of recommendations for the day, starting with the best time to visit the Punakaiki blowholes and a nice walk down through the bush to a pebble beach. On our second and last morning, Jan gave us another list of walks and vistas for our drive over Arthur's Pass. She even had suggestions on what to do when we got to Dunedin, later in our trip. Bottom line, Jan made our 2.5 days on the west coast very enjoyable. We will stay at Breakers again on our next trip.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 608David2115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedsmom, Owner at Breakers Boutique Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2018

David and Jane thank you so much for your lovely review. Glad you found all my suggestions helpful, not just while you were here but your drives to us, onwards from us and in Dunedin. Happy to be able to offer some local knowledge even though you've been to NZ before. Look forward to seeing you both again on your return visit and sharing more of our location - and country with you. Warm regards Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2018

Both accomodation and hosts have been perfect. Jan and Stephen went out of their way to make us feel at home.

Our room on the upper floor was nicely arranged, with access to the garden and the beach below. The ocean view is stunning. And Jan's breakfast is just delicious.

It is the ideal place for relaxing, making it kind of hard to leave. If you prefer to discover the area, Jan and Stephen are very helpful, providing great suggestions for activities.

We felt well cared for at all times. Thanks again, Jan and Stephen, for the warm welcome and this lovely stay at your place!

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NadineF1185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedsmom, Owner at Breakers Boutique Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2018

Nadine and Artur it was an absolute pleasure to meet you both and so glad you enjoyed your time at Breakers. It was our pleasure to look after you and we look forward to seeing you when we visit Germany next year. Warmest regards Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2018

We absolutely loved our stay, short though it was, at Breakers. This was partly because of the gorgeous location and long stretch of beach that sits at the foot of the property, but much more to do with the very real sense of care and consideration that has gone into creating a welcoming, thoughtful and serene home from home. We were sad to move on, but thoroughly recommend a stay here, and you won't be disappointed by Jan's hospitality.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank gerron2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedsmom, Owner at Breakers Boutique Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2018

Thanks Gerron for your wonderful review. Lovely to hear how much you and Jane enjoyed your stay with us and everything about the our offerings at Breakers. We do take a lot of pride and when you live in a little slice of paradise it is nice to have the opportunity to share it with our guests so it is great to read your appreciation of that. Wishing you both all the very best. Warmest regards Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2018

We loved our 3 night stay at Breakers. The features that set Breakers apart from other Westcoast accommodation are the spectacular beachfront location with view and Jan's genuine hosting. I plan my holidays quite thoroughly but Jan is an absolute wealth of information and can suggest additions/tweaks to your plans to help your day go from good to great!

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank MarelleDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedsmom, Owner at Breakers Boutique Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

Thanks so much Donna for your great review. I'm really pleased to read how valuable you found my suggestions knowing how thorough you are on your travel planning. It was super lovely to meet you, Terry and Oliver and glad the pancakes worked out for you too! Wishing you all the best. Cheers Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2017

We only stayed one night at this accomandation, and absolutely could have stayed longer. The view on the ocean is perfect. The beach is easily accesible, with starfish to find on low tide. Breakfast was very good, and the owners very friendly and helpfull.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank O9730BXandres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedsmom, Owner at Breakers Boutique Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017

Thanks for your lovely review. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and the only regret is not staying longer. Timing worked perfectly for the low tide and getting out to see the starfish. Wishing you both all the best. Cheers Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews