We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (668)
Filter reviews
668 results
Traveller rating
211
248
123
64
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
211
248
123
64
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ocean view new wing the penthouse top floor underfloor heating hotel restaurant third floor tasman sea liquor store oceanview room in town sound of the waves spa bath king bed across the road the main street stayed for one night
Filter
Updating list...
208 - 213 of 668 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2016

An ocean view and a beautiful room with a spa bath. Staff were friendly staff who really cared about their visitors. The staff in the restaurant were great.and pleased of the way the room looked after a fab makeover. Will make it a place to travel to for special occasions.

Room tip: Choose an ocean view
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tyzz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2016

We were a group of 14 people on a tour of the West Coast.. We stopped at this hotel for the night and to have dinner. We were given a very nice ocean front room overlooking the ocean. However, after that we ran into all kinds of problems. First we were on the third floor and the elevator broke down. It was a Sunday so no help there until Monday. When we went for dinner at 5:30 before any customers came into the restuarant, we waited for service but none came. Finally after about 1 hour a waitress took our order. Other customers came into the restuarant and were given service right away. After waiting for another hour and half (and much complaining) we finally got our meal, but other customers came in were served and had left before we got our food. We talked to the manager to find out the problem and he said he would look into it but never returned. In addition, when we got our food it was cold and not very good. Again we talked to the manager and he seemed to not care at all. Although the location is wonderful, we would never return here again. We also could not get the air conditioning to work in our rooms. I guess it was not working either.....

Room tip: If there is no where else to stay then ask for a ocean front room
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ESTEVE A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oytun C, General Manager at Beachfront Hotel Hokitika, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2016

Dear Esteve,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking time to review the hotel in regards to your recent stay.
I am glad to hear that you found the Oceanview room nice and the location wonderful.

Please accept our sincere apologies that may have caused due to the lift being out of order during your stay. We endeavoured to rectify the situation promptly however difficulties on being on the coast delayed the service technician to resolve the issue until business day. Lift was back to normal operating on the Monday.
In regards to your dinner experience, I am sorry that I haven't' heard back from you after sending you 2 separate emails with my direct contact details to try to obtain further information. The purpose of my contact with you was that it was going to help me investigate the matter encountered a lot easier and faster.
We are having difficulty locating the mentioned number of guests for dining based on our records and CCTV footage with the information provided in your feedback. Staff normally starts at 5pm as the restaurant opens at 5:30. For a large group as such, there are normally at least 2 or more staff available.
I am sorry to hear that you found the quality of the food below your expectations.
On another note, in some cases where some guests are served before the guests who were seated in the restaurant earlier is that the food is usually pre-ordered by the companies for them well in advance on a set menu where the kitchen is fast get the food out which may make it look like that that groups had the priority over others.
Unfortunately, our rooms are not equipped with air conditions except the Penthouse which has two.
Once again, thank you for your feedback. We strive to achieve excellent guest service at all times and I am more than happy to assist you further with the inconveniences occurred should you decide to contact me in the future.


Kind Regards
Oytun Cevik
General Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2016

I'm glad that we stayed here.Nice clean and modern room and bathroom. Great ocean view as long as you don't book in the Driftwood section of the hotel. Easy walking to all shopping and restaurants. We had breakfast at the hotel restaurant and it was good and good value when purchased with the reservation.

Room tip: if you book a Driftwood room you wont have an ocean view.
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2016 via mobile

First time in Hokitika and at this hotel. Warm welcoming staff at check in, very freshing lobby, beautifully done restaurant with amazing view. Food was delicious and service was outstanding.
We stayed in the newly refurbed driftwood rooms. Such a soft, great colour pallet and design of the rooms. Like the bathrooms, chair and the amenities. We remember the previous rooms from our friends and we were so amazed how incredibly those are finished now. We will certainly be back.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Go672659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2016

We didn't expect a unit with a sea view as we hadn't booked one, but to be looking at a wall only a couple of meters from our window was not flash. Room was quite roomy and the bathroom had been done up. But that's the good stuff out of the way. There was no toaster or knives & forks. Only 3 plates and 3 teaspoons.But the biggest let down was the TV. No Sky? Only Freeview with 2 of those being religious ones. And Prime didn't work, even though it was listed as an available station. I thought Sky would be mandatory in NZ these days!

Room tip: Check out the hotel before you book.
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Simon56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews