We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Booking.com
US$103
View deal
Agoda.com
US$88
View deal
PricelineUS$103
Travelocity
Hotels.comUS$103
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (842)
Filter reviews
842 results
Traveller rating
278
299
156
77
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
278
299
156
77
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ocean view third floor underfloor heating top floor oceanview room liquor store hotel restaurant buffet breakfast sound of the waves in town spa bath across the road king bed situated right one night stay watch the sunset lovely room
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
129 - 134 of 842 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2019 via mobile

We had a one night stay at the beachfront hotel and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room was very clean and warm with good amenities. We had a beachfront view and we loved hearing the sea from our bedroom. Friendly reception checkin and staff were very accommodating. We dined in the restaurant for dinner and breakfast which we also enjoyed. Good location in the town near a supermarket. Would not hesitate to recommend this accommodation.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank hammandeggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 1 August 2019

Unless you have an oceanview room, the rooms here are quite old, a bit dirty and overall not great. We didn't even want to use the shower.

Our room was hard to locate. You have to walk through a narrow corridor devoid of windows in a seperate building to reception to get there. The room and everything in it were dated.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JasperRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 30 July 2019

We just stayed here for 1 night in July. Nice hotel.
We booked a Driftwood Room but were upgraded to an Oceanview Room. Spacious room overlooking the seafront, with good bathroom. Cosy on a winter's day. The room had a small fridge and coffee/tea making facilities. The fridge was very noisy.
Even with double glazing the noise of the sea on the beachfront was constant. This didn't bother us, but it may annoy people who are sensitive to noise. I assume the Driftwood Rooms might be quieter.
We were told on arrival that the restaurant was full for dinner, but we could get room service. We ate out and didn't eat breakfast in the hotel either.
Hokitika is very small so the centre of the town is right outside the door. There is a supermarket across the road from the hotel.
We visit Hokitika a couple of times a year and have previously used various motels in town. We preferred this accommodation and would use the Beachfront Hotel again.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank roaming_kiwi58
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 29 July 2019

A friend and I went to Hokitika for a mid-winter break. We stayed at the Beachfront Hotel and were very satisfied.

The staff couldn't be friendlier or more helpful; actually this was a characteristic of everyone we met in Hokitika - such a warm town :-)

Our room looked directly over to the ocean and the sunset. It is a very easy walk to the beach and currently there is development happening - looks like gardens and walkway along the waterfront. It will be so much better than it already is I imagine.

Our room was comfortable and warm in the middle of winter. We had all the facilities we needed; note there are no cooking facilities, but there is tea, coffee and milk, a jug, cups, mugs, wine glasses, glasses, and a small fridge.

We ate in town on the first day and the second day, being very wet, we had breakfast, lunch and dinner at the hotel. The food was great! The selection was good, not huge, but they were open to options, and what we ate was the best we had in Hokitika - delicious!

The hotel is right by the beach and right in town - it is no problem to walk anywhere.

All in all it was a very nice stay; I would love to be able to go back - I feel totally relaxed.

Room tip: If you like the look and sound of the ocean, ask for a beachfront room. It costs a bit more, but added to the ambiance for us.
Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank maniania2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 6 July 2019 via mobile

Amazing room! Spacious and warm. We have a top floor room with a breathtaking view of the ocean. The spa bath was a favourite.
We ate in the restaurant and the food was beautiful!
Service was fantastic also. We will be back.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Nat1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews