We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Panorama Motel
Nearby Hotels
US$133
US$100
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
US$130
US$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$71
US$66
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$137
US$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
US$99
US$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
US$53
US$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Lobster Inn Motor Lodge(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchor Inn Motel(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (189)
Filter reviews
189 results
Traveller rating
55
82
39
5
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
55
82
39
5
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslockwood stylean upper level roomgreat view from roomdownstairs unitpier hotelthe kitchennice ownershot plateno air conditioningsnowy mountainsacross the roadminute walkdouble bedsmall balconyvery pleasant staykaikoura rangesstayed here for two nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
103 - 108 of 189 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We stayed here on a quick trip through Kaikoura. Rooms need a little updating, especially the kitchens and bathrooms. Could use some tinting on the large front windows because you feel a bit like a money in a zoo with all the people constantly walking past and they can clearly see into your room (this will only happen if you are on the ground floor - which we were). Super friendly hosts. AMAZING view!!!! The view of the beautiful ocean and mountains is worth the price of staying here. Thought the cost was a bit high for what it is but it is peak time of year and I guess that is to be expected. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marie24974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

Great spot to overnight while on work trip. Had an upstairs 2 bedder. Geat balcony to have predinner beers and chips from before heading off to the Pier Hotel for dinner - good tucker.
Aim to sty there next time I get a chance.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mic C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

As part of a month long trip to New Zealand, we stopped in Kaikoura without reservations for lodging. Checking with the information center they recommended the Panorama Motel. We are so happy they did so. The Panorama's name also describes its location on the Esplanade facing the beach, bay and in our case the glorious snow-capped Kaikoura mountains that were close enough to touch. Check-in was fast and efficient with and included an offer of additional internet access. The owner was genuinely happy to provide us information and recommendations regarding activities and dining. (Green Dolphin was very good) Based on her recommendation we took a long beach/rock hike beyond the seal colony and really enjoyed it.

Our room was a downstairs studio but was roomy, clean and well arranged. An outdoor patio with table and chairs enabled us to more fully take in the indescribably beautiful view and when the wind became colder, we just stepped inside and sat on the couch facing the floor to ceiling sliding glass door with the same view. Visit their website and look at the photos. They honestly portray the accommodation's amenities and the view. This is a motel and other reviewers have called it "dated". Our feeling is that it was spotlessly clean, warm and welcoming with all the comforts of rooms costing much more. Add ample off-street parking, laundry facilities and great advice and the satisfying stay was complete. See my added photos for clarity.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dwsarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
panokaik, Owner at Panorama Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2012

So pleased that you loved your stay, it was great to be able to share our town with you and provide you with the local knowledge that makes your experience of Kaikoura so much more enjoyable, we trust you are both well and living life to the full.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Great value, view and room.
All contained unit with bay view and snow covered mountain peaks
all seen from the comfort of the room.
Ocean noise will lull you to sleep.
Very little trafic noise.Great flat screen TV
Very clean.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
panokaik, Owner at Panorama Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2012

Thanks Richard, we are thrilled that you loved your stay with us and trust that you had a pleasant relaxing time in NZ and especally in Kaikoura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

The Motel is on the Espanade (a beach front promenade). The views of the beach and Mountains are amazing. The check in was very welcoming and informative. We were advised to visit the seal colony and a waterfall at Ohau Point. Also a very good restaurant, the Green Dolphin. The room is spotless, with a kitchen with hobb, microwave, toaster, utensils. You can sit on the sofa and view the Mountains. This is a welcoming place to stay, with home comforts.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NaomiRuth1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
panokaik, Owner at Panorama Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2012

Thank you so much for your review, Kaikoura is a spectacular place and we are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and in our town, there is just so much to see and do if you are into the outdoors and nature

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews