We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The White Morph Heritage Collection(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
US$97
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
US$92
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpine-Pacific Holiday Park(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
US$46
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Blue Seas Motel(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$58
US$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$67
US$63
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Fairways(Kaikoura)
US$98
US$66
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$161
US$135
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hapuku Lodge(Kaikoura)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (403)
Filter reviews
403 results
Traveller rating
277
104
18
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
277
104
18
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the roadsea viewspacious roompier hotelwhale watchingseal colonyearthquake damagelovely viewnew zealandquiet at nightsouth islandfriendly ownersa great place to stayfantastic locationshort drivestayed one nightgreat room
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 403 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2018

The room is comfortable and spacious. The kitchenette is well equipped. Good view of the ocean and playground across the road. The furniture and bathroom is out dated and very tired looking. Needs to be updated. We moved the couch to watch TV and it had not been vacuumed underneath for a while - a build up of dust etc. Is not "Luxury" as advertised and is very expensive for what it is. Sorry but we will not be back to stay because it is over priced for an average room.

Room Tip: Rooms out front have the sea views but are right on the road side
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
Thank mstch2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018 via mobile

A great spot across the road from the ocean, with a recent refurb ticks all the boxes.

Clean rooms with comfy beds and a decent kitchenette, a sparkling clean bathroom and wide opening doors for the sea breeze when the weather suits.

It didn’t for us, but the heat pumps made it very comfortable.

A nice walk to town, or to The Pier in the opposite direction makes this place a great spot away from the highway noise for a quick stop or a little longer.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Sander D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anchorinnkaikoura, Owner at Anchor Inn Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2018

Thank you for your lovely review thanks Lyn.xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018 via mobile

Beautifully clean and everything we could want for our 1 night stay. Great location and helpful staff. This motel has everything you could want and very comfortable beds generous sized units with a handy location.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Alipa50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anchorinnkaikoura, Owner at Anchor Inn Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Thanks so much for your great review.
Hope to see you our way again some day thanks Lyn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2018

The location of this hotel is perfect. Across the road from the sea and overlooking snow capped mountains, heaven on earth. The owners Lyn and Paul are not only extremely friendly but very helpful. They provided us with history of the area, booked a fabulous restaurant for us for dinner together with securing their favourite table for us.
Our room with its cathedral ceilings was beautifully decorated and our bed simply Devine. The only regret we have is only being able to stay one night. We will definitely Return to NZ to spend longer in this little bit of paradise.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jennygreg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anchorinnkaikoura, Owner at Anchor Inn Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2018

Hi guys
Thanks so much for your great review.
We are so happy you had a lovely time with us.
Hope to see you both over our way again some day in our little yellow castle by the sea thanks Lyn. xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2018

We visited Kaikoura in April 18. Our booking into the Anchor was cancelled just before we left England and we were given an alternative motel ( not so good but comfortable.) The drive itself from Blenheim to Kaikoura on SH1 was a stop go affair what with all the road works, and it was only after we left Kaikoura two days later that they opened up SH1 to night traffic. Please don't let the road works put you off travelling this road as it runs down the East Coast is breathtaking and please do 'wave to the road workers'. It's the thing to do and when you really see the work they have done, it's amazing.
Kaikoura is a sad place to be at the moment but the people are fighting to get it up to scratch and they need the tourists to do it.Our previous trips to Kaikoura (twice) had us falling in love with the place, it really is a cracker of a place to be. But this time, probably our last, we were very sad, and to be honest we couldn't wait to press on to Christchurch. But do go, I'm sure it will pick up soon. And go to the Cray pot museum and see the feature they are running on the Earthquake. The effect it had on buildings in Wellington is frightening alone. What it did to Kaikoura!!
While we were there we walked from our motel not 3/400yards to look at the Anchor, closed for repairs to damage from the Quake. Sad that we didn't stay, stacks of bricks outside. But still bright yellow in the autumn sun. Go stay in the future, go stay in Kaikoura.

Room Tip: Rooms that face onto the Pacific
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidRW_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anchorinnkaikoura, Owner at Anchor Inn Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2018

Hi David

So sorry we couldn't have you stay here.
Our building wasn't ready from the earthquake.
Only opened on the 11th of January 2018 but closed again 4th of April till the 7th of May for more repairs.
We are now open but all of our repairs are still not finished.
Which is sad 2 an half years later and we are still trying to get it finished.
Thanks for walk up to look at our little yellow castle by the sea maybe next time we can meet thanks Lyn.xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews