We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent soundproofing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Auckland Airport
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Mangere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This is the only hotel next to the terminal so, as is often the case, they have a captive market. Luckily, it’s also pretty good.

We had a standard twin room at the bottom of the tower (Floor 3) which was pleasantly furnished in a slightly old-fashioned ‘boardroom’ style. The shower was over a bath that, for the less agile, wasn’t too easy to get into, but management was clearly aware of this potential issue and had thoughtfully provided a heavy duty single-step ladder to assist, which was a nice touch. I also looked the fact that there was a built in night-light in the hallway to assist with any nocturnal visits to the bathroom...

The [largely European] breakfast offer was good and we particularly liked the fresh orange machine which pulped just the required number of fruit before your very eyes. The staff we saw were all very friendly and helpful.

The best feature of all however was the double-glazing. The architect clearly realised that aircraft noise at an international airport might just be an issue, so cleverly designed a two foot gap between the inner and outer panels which, suffice to say, worked a treat. Soundproofing to the corridor was also good, so full marks for that.

Bottom line is that you wouldn't want to stay here for a holiday (we stopped two nights), but for an airport hotel it's hard to fault.

Room Tip: Probably all much of a muchness - I certainly wouldn't pay more for a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris_and_Jean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel A, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Auckland Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Kia Ora Chris and Jean,

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience. We're really pleased that you enjoyed a comfortable stay with us, appreciating the quiet space the excellent glazing design offers in your room. We're delighted to offer a flat-floored shower arrangement also - just sing out if that would suit you better.

I'm so thrilled that every interaction you had with the team was warm and welcoming.

It would be wonderful to see you again should your travels bring you back our way.

Ngā mihi nui | Warm regards

Jonathan Tremain
Guest Relations Manager
Novotel Auckland Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,593)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

67 - 71 of 4,593 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2018

Stayed for one night. Pretty decent hotel and extremely convenient for folks arriving late into Auckland on an international flight since the property is literally just on the other side of the street once you exit the terminal.

Note that the international and domestic terminals at AKL are pretty widely separated, so this hotel is NOT convenient when arriving on a flight originating within New Zealand.

In terms of the room, it was pretty good and about what you'd expect for an upper mid-range airport hotel. It was clean, spacious, with comfy bed and decent water pressure for the shower. Biggest gripe was lack of free wifi (I think the charge was $9 NZD for 24hrs of use, if I'm remembering correctly).

Didn't try any of the dining options.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MD2Be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel A, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Auckland Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Kia Ora,

Thanks for choosing to stop over with us. Wonderful that our location suited your international arrival so well and we're delighted to recommend the airport's free inter-terminal shuttle service from those arriving domestically (the airport will this year begin to build an incorporated domestic and international terminal right here on our doorstep).

We're pleased that you enjoyed your room and encourage you next stay to sign up to our free-to-join loyalty membership to receive complimentary WiFi access.

Hope to see you again soon.

Ngā mihi nui | Warm regards

Jonathan Tremain
Guest Relations Manager
Novotel Auckland Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2018 via mobile

We missed a flight due to airlines delays. After dealing with people who did not care about the situation one bit, it was a breath of fresh air to walk in and be greeted with a smile. Some rooms were switched around to cater for my family of 2 adults 3 kids but we were made to feel welcome and nothing was too much trouble. Including coming outside to help us through the large revolving door with 2 heavily laden baggage trolleys. The staff went above and beyond to deliver exceptional service and we could not fault them.

Rooms were modern and clean, with excellent facilities such as a massive shower head, beautiful bath for the kids to play in. The linen was crisp and felt great to lie in even if it was only a few hours.

This is a great place to stay.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank Bart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel A, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Auckland Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Kia Ora Bart,

We're so pleased to have welcomed you to Our Place, even if it hadn't been a part of your original travel plans. What delights me is to read of the way in which the team looked after you so well, particularly given the circumstances. It's wonderful that you enjoyed your rooms and found comfortable, albeit brief, rest.

We'd love to see you in a slightly more anticipated capacity next time!

Ngā mihi nui | Warm regards

Jonathan Tremain
Guest Relations Manager
Novotel Auckland Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2018 via mobile

Stayed there on a Friday night at end of my 3 week trip-convenient to airport terminal, literally a minute walk and nice, comfy rooms. Enjoyed restaurant and very helpful and friendly front desk. I was happy!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank joannm919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel A, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Auckland Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Kia Ora Joann,

Thanks for ending your time in New Zealand at Our Place. Lovely to read of the comfort and convenience being so appreciated and to know that you received such friendly service from the team!

We'd love to welcome you again some day.

Ngā mihi nui | Warm regards

Jonathan Tremain
Guest Relations Manager
Novotel Auckland Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2018 via mobile

Stayed here as we had a flight the next morning. Great value. Good room. Comfortable and clean. Great breakfast with plenty of choice. Very fresh. The coffee was really good and made to order. The staff were all excellent. From the front desk to the restaurant. I would recommend this to others.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Chiligirl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel A, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Auckland Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Kia Ora,

So lovely to have welcomed you and I'm thrilled to read that you really did feel welcome through the friendly interactions with the team. I'm pleased that you enjoyed your room and that you loved the breakfast spread and coffee to accompany as you set out on the new day!

Come and see us again soon.

Ngā mihi nui | Warm regards

Jonathan Tremain
Guest Relations Manager
Novotel Auckland Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mangere hotels
2.8 km away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
2.1 km away
Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel
0.8 km away
Ibis budget Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport
3.7 km away
Naumi Auckland Airport
Naumi Auckland Airport
#8 of 23 in Mangere
74 reviews
3.4 km away
Holiday Inn Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Auckland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Auckland Airport

Address: Ray Emery Drive | Auckland International Airport, Mangere, Auckland 2022, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Mangere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Mangere
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mangere
#1 Business Hotel in Mangere
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mangere
Price Range: $244 - $432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Auckland Airport 4.5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located beside Auckland International Terminal and 30 minutes to the city centre, Novotel Auckland Airport provides the perfect accommodation solution for guests travelling in and out of New Zealand. Combining the beauty of natural landscapes with cutting edge architectural design, this hotel features 263 elegant rooms and suites, theatre-style conference centre, 10 meeting rooms, a restaurant and bar plus a fully equipped gym. Parking available at airport, fee applies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Accorhotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Auckland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Auckland Airport Hotel Mangere
Novotel Auckland Airport Mangere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing